We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner on the river”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

For a treat we went to the restaurant across the river from the hotel. Wonderful Thai food and some Thai dancing. Get a table on the riverside for the best views. Not cheap but worth it. Recommended for a special occasion..

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Dick P

Thank you for this positive review of Sala Rim Naam. It’s great to hear that you had a wonderful time and that you especially enjoyed the authentic Thai culinary delights. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ for another fantastic dining experience.

With best wishes,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,516
    444
    105
    34
    24
See reviews for
739
1,796
314
529
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Starting a two week long business trip in Asia I decided to start a tripadvisor account. Stayed at the MO in Bangkok. Was pleased by check in. I mean they are super professional from the start, advised me they upgrade me thanks to my AMEX and before knowing I was settled in my room. Great bed and the room a old world charm to it. Not as modern as the MO in Prague or London but all high quality. Breakfast was served as I wanted it; fresh fruit, great omlette and awesome service. Very pleased in general by the property. That's how a five star property should be.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkCavNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear MarkCavNY

Thank you for this fantastic review of ‘La Grande Dame’. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the magical atmosphere and legendary Oriental service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Happiness is breakfast by the river and a day at the pool. The staff make the hotel, remembering us every time we come, even if it's been a year. I feel lucky to be there every time and hope to get to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Matt S

Wow, we love your “Happiness is breakfast by the river and a day at the pool” quote! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the legendary Oriental service and heritage atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ again very soon!

Warmest personal regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were at the Mandarin Oriental BKK for 2 nights. Arrived quite early at 7.30 am and to our surprise were given our room immediately. This put us in a perfect. Our room - The Mandarin Room was perfect. Had a small balcony and a lovely view of the river. Service overall is exceptional. We had breakfast in the river side coffee shop the spread was fantastic. The limo service (BMW 7 series) at 40 USD / hr is quite convenient and at your beck and call. Overall our stay was relaxed and luxurious. Just the way we like it !!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harsh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Harsh H

Thank you very much for reviewing Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok on TripAdvisor. I’m delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic time. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another wonderful experience at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Best Regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

In my opinion, this is the property by which all other hotels should be judged. Service goes beyond all expectations. It's no wonder why so many people view the MO Bangkok as their second home. Due to the negative affect the Coup has had on tourism (not warranted), some of the hotel restaurants were closed or only had limited hours. Nonetheless, the two weeks we spent were wonderful. We are already planning our return next year.

Room Tip: A view of the River should be requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Laurence B

Thank you for posting an excellent review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you consider us a living legend. Thank you for recommending our iconic hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ in the near future!

Best wishes
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We enjoyed three fabulous nights at the MO Bangkok back in April.The city was blisteringly hot and there really is no finer place to retreat to after a busy day of sight-seeing. The hotel was beautifully quiet and the service as exceptional as my last visit five or six years ago.

Little details (complimentary coconut ice-cream) and the usual efforts of the magnificent staff make this place a cut above anywhere else I have stayed.

The cocktail party was an additional bonus and a delight to meet the French manager (or assistant manager?) whilst enjoying cocktails and fabulous canapes.

When next back in Bangkok I really couldn't possibly look to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe room which was beautiful and had fantastic views down the river (as I think mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear James M

Thank you for sharing your experience at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, in particular the culinary delights, legendary Oriental service and the General Manager’s Cocktail Party. We look forward to welcoming you back for more indulgent stays in the future!

Sincerely yours
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petts Wood
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family and I have just returned from our holiday in Thailand. We stayed in the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok for 4 days. The hotel is a wonderful oasis in the middle of the city.Everything about the hotel is fantastic, our highlights were the Bamboo bar with live jazz every evening and the service which is outstanding. We have been to Bangkok several times and on our next visit this is where we will stay without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear francesmcc

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Tripadvisor and for considering Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok a “wonderful oasis in the middle of the city”. It is indeed a pleasure reading your comments of appreciation with regards to the iconic Bamboo Bar, which I shared with our team. We really look forward to welcoming you back again to ‘La Grande Dame’, in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,260 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing