We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$242
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,608)
Filter reviews
4,608 results
Traveller rating
3,939
483
117
38
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,939
483
117
38
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo baracross the riverfloor butlerauthor's loungechina housesala rim naamlord jimbest hotels in the worldgrand dameriverside terracegarden wingthai restaurantbutler serviceview of the riverchao phraya riverhotel boatpool staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,789 - 2,794 of 4,608 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2009

There is not a lot you can add to the reports on the Oriental.
The service is world class
The only way to arrive is by their Limo service,the driver quietly phones ahead 5 minutes before arrival so you are greeted by name and you get the VIP room check in treatment.
This was a return visit and we were allocated a delightful 16th floor room with wonderful views of the river. Wonderful furnishings,a balcony and great bathroom.
You have to experience the service to believe it - from the lift boy remembering your floor to the way they answer the phones even asking how to pronounce your name.
Buffet on the Terrace is always a highlight of one of nights in Bangkok and the recent changes with only the dessert station as an island work well more room to get at the food!
One of the things we always look forward too is to giggle at the poseurs in their pool side cabanas - if they only realised that they were not seen as style icons but sad "look at me's"
Lunching on the terrace adjacent to burnt fat blubber is something I could do without.
If I could change one thing I would move the pools over the river to the Spa area and create great cool gardens,and a relaxing bar in their place.
Their is nothing to touch The Oriental for style and service but it is now becoming quite expensive bearing in mind that the Shangri La is 60% of the price and with a large pool away from the dining areas. Doubt however if it has the special service touch that is The Oriental and that is what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silverswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Stayed for 3 nights at Oriental at beginning of January 09. Liked the feel of the place and I would certainly go back if we returned to Bangkok. We stayed in a river view room which was fine. Fabulously comfortable bed and great bedding; nice marble/double sink bathroom/separate shower and bath.

As we were staying in hotel, we decided to try out 3 of their restaurants for dinner. First night was on the terrace which was great. Lovely balmy evening watching the boats and illuminated ferries on the river. Choice at this restaurant (rendezvous I think its called ) was very good. Great first night intro to Bangkok.

Second night we tried a la carte Thai restaurant across the river. We wanted to sit outside. (We had wandered along to Peninsula hotel but their outdoor thai restaurant was buffet not a la carte so we headed back to Oriental) This restaurant experience at the Oriental is the only one where we felt service was not up to scratch. We may just have been unlucky but we found lady who greeted us off the ferry was sullen and unfriendly, service was slow although it wasn't very busy. we had asked if we could have the empty table for 2 at the waters edge but were told it was booked. when we left 2 hours later at 10pm, noone had yet come for the table.

On the third night we took the river dinner cruise, which we really enjoyed.

It is difficult to sit around the pool if you arrive back mid afternoon as most of the sunbeds are taken but the pool guys do keep an eye on beds left unattended and are good at clearing towels on beds to make way for new arrivees. Service and menu around pool were good.

had a facial at spa which was nice. Spa and gym are across the river so you have to take ferry to use them.

The urban myth that everyone knows your name and the butler knows when you leave your room - was not true in our experience. Not that that was an issue but I did expect it to be like Raffles in Singapore where we were addressed by name every time we went into/out of our room and our room was checked each time we went out to see if there was anything we needed or had requested. Maybe if you are in a suite at the Oriental you are more memorable to staff.

But a great hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. I can fully understand why it has such a fan base and why it is so loved by so many.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Have visited The Oriental over the last 10 years and their service has never slipped.
Stayed this time for two nights in the River View wing - luxury bedrooms with all facilities and a bathroom to die for and that wonderful river view.
Staff as friendly and professional as ever and they are keeping their visitor standards up - we were challenged as we re-entered the hotel in casual dress after a shopping trip.
Quite Miffed.
Pricing however is now a problem and with the downturn in the world economy The Oriental had better start looking carefully as there are very good quality hotels on the river that do not charge top dollar for food and drink.
How The Oriental can charge £13 a glass for house wine and a whopping £45 for a bottle of Beaujolais Villages is unbelievable - the identical label is only £6 in Tesco ..
I love The Oriental but may have to try the Pen or ShangriLa next time.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank val-leasowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Was advised to stay here y friends. Absolutley wonderful service and hotel. Excellent word class dining and wine.

Really personal service and great having a boat trip down the river to the Skytrain! A great and easy way to get around Bangkok.

Felt really safe and secure and everything was taken care of by the staff. great spa too. A tad expensive but really the best.

Great room with efficient airconditioning. The pool was a little noisy with river traffic but enjoyable. Will certainly be visiting again

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank petercraiguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

I've been fortunate enough to stay several times a year at this hotel for the past 5 years and have come to regard it as a sanctuary in Thailand.Returning guests and first timers are accorded service unique in Bangkok from a hotel proffering a forensic attention to detail.Not much is overlooked and newly refurbished River Wing rooms are equipped with the latest technology whilst retaining the traditional comforts and luxuries the hotel is famous for.I've tried most of the alternatives(Peninsula,Four Seasons,Sukhothai)and they don't approach the standard of The MO.
Is it perfect?Of course not.The location is a long way from the main shopping areas,the hotel often overplays its literary heritage and communication with some junior staff can be problematic but negative comments are welcomed and acted upon.The new manager,who's worked with the British royal household,brings a fresh momentum.The General Manager and Guest Relations Consultant have together been in post for 101 years so consistancy and staff satisfaction are cornerstones of the hotel's success.
Expensive?Yes.Good value?Certainly.Try it and be spoilt!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JonTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews