We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just sensational” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
england amersham
Level Contributor
194 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“just sensational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

Stayed for 3 nights and wish it had been more. From the superb welcome , through the beautiful lobby to the stunning river side location this hotel has to be one of the best . The service in particular is second to none , the staff just make you feel that you are the only guest in the hotel . I would recommend the chinese restaurant not only for its superb food but also the intimate atmosphere.
The riverside restaurant is a superb place for breakfast or dinner and the jazz bar is lively and pleasant too..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnbowen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,435
    434
    102
    34
    23
See reviews for
719
1,761
305
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

Everything has been said in the other reviews ... exellent Hotel .
But the swimming pool is far too smal when the Hotel is fully booked with Non-Business-Guests .
Concerning the food ..... not always as perfect as i expected it to be .

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sipenholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

Spent two days at the Mandarin Oriental. High quality of service throughout, from the BMW 7-series limo from airport with cold towels to the in-room check-in to the dining experience.
Breakfast by the river was a scenic setting. Staff often addressed guests by name.

Room was well furnished, comfortable bed, luxurious bathroom. Stayed in a river view room with a pleasant view of the boats going by.

Only downside is that some facilities are across the river eg the gym and spa. There is a quick river shuttle to take you across so not a major issue.

Overall, I left feeling refreshed. Would be the hotel that I seek out in Bangkok in future.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagano Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
224 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

This is the arguably one of the world's classic city hotels. It doesn't need to shout about "bringing service to a new level" or "redefining luxury" or all the yadda yadda the latest 6* Hong Kong or Dubai wannabe shouts about. This hotel has defined luxury hotels for as long as I can remember (I first stayed here over 20 years' ago), and does so in a low-key and very civilized fashion.

There's little point citing all the good stuff. Read the other reviews, they'll tell you. On this trip I was particularly pleased to find not only a wired-in CD player in my room, but also a selection of CDs to play; I was flattered to be greeted by name mid-breakfast by the duty manager (who I'd not met before); I was impressed by the breakfast buffet that was nowhere near as extensive as other hotels in this category, but just seemed to have the right selection of wonderful food. And I loved being able to swim in the early morning without competing with some pool boy's cleaning activities.

Minor negatives.... took a while to log in to the to internet as the night clerk misread the code (by the way the work desk in the room is one of the best in any hotel I've stayed in, anywhere). And always be aware that the hotel's location on the river is wonderful, but is slightly off the beaten track for a lot of modern Bangkok. Finding a taxi may take a few minutes, too.

Finally - this hotel is a bargain. I paid less than US$200 in total, less than many airport hotels would charge. That's stunning value. Yes, you could pay less than a third of that for a perfectly good quality hotel in Bangkok in a more accessible location. But for the experience of one of the world's best hotels? Off the scale good value. Every traveller should stay here at least once in their life - we all need a benchmark!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

I made our hotel reservation through Hotels.com. I emailed the hotel to organize an airport transfer, and I received confirmation back from the hotel. After flying 16 hours from NYC to Bangkok there was no one at the airport. We made our way to the hotel only to be told we did not have a reservation! It took about thirty minutes to clear up the mess. The only explanation was that they had a new software system and this must have been the problem.
Once we were checked in the hotel was wonderful. The breakfast buffet is incredible and the spa is one of the best I have ever been to.
It is a great hotel, but they did not seem to care that they left us at the airport and that the check in experience was a mess.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front desk check in
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennishulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

One of the best hotels in BKK, maybe the finest. Quality & service are appropriate for the high room rates and expensive restaurants menus. You are in the heart of the city, one block from the river, where all the main activites are, but far away from the crowds noice. I love the main hotel restaurant, located across the river from the main building and reachable by the hotel motorboat or through the big mall facing the Oriental.The terrace is a must to see the beautiful sunset.
The Oriental is a very good (expensive) treat which is totally worth it. I spent there three nights just after my birthday and then I went south, touring the Gulf of Siam. Nothing comparable to Bangkok or the Oriental down there, but still very fascinating.

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank robocuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

This was just like returning home. Kuhn Kurt was till in charge but was about to leave, It is interesting to read the reviews of the new management style.
While we were there everything was as usual. The Cocktail party, the awesome service, etc, The new Manager has his work cut out for him adn it will be interesting on our next visit to compare.
On this trip, my paartner was taken ill, not the hotel's fault, and not too serious. The Dr. was excellent. The management immediately sent an enor,mous bouquet of flowers wishing him an speedy recovery.
Everything about this Hotel was as we remembered from previous trips and we cant wait for our next visit.
We have just returned home from a long trip around the world and are already planning our next.The Oriental is defintely part of our plans.
I doo hope its standards stay the same

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvermanalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,135 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, HotelsClick, Destinology and Holiday Gems so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing