We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most incredible Hotel I have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2010

there are no comparisons with the best hotels in Asia in any part of the World.
Its the small touches that make it so. The orchids on the pillow but what never ceased to amaze me were the fact the Doormen seemed to know where you would be going and coming from. Quiet remarkable. The views well they are just magical.

Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RobertsonTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,496 - 2,502 of 4,320 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2010

Stayed 4 nights. It was my first visit to this hotel and I was a bit hesitant after reading the mixed reviews. I needn’t have worried. This is a really lovely hotel that combines heritage and character with modern luxury. The location, amenities, comfort levels, and the fabulous service, made staying here feel like an indulgence. Terribly expensive, but it does deliver an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mladww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

After a 1 hour car journey from the airport (Bangkok traffic is horrific) we were in need of an oasis of calm in the 36C heat of Bangkok.
Over 3 days, The Oriental never once disapointed.
The staff were 100% friendly, helpful & attentive. A member of staff in Thai costume ushered us into the lift with a dramatic flourish everytime.
Anything you needed, the concierge sorted it out. I have no idea how other reviewers have faulted the service. Just ask & they do it! With a smile.
The food, from the huge buffet breakfast to dinner on the river terrace was superb. The table service was faultless at all times.
We were even offered a complimentary lunch across the river from one of the biggest & best buffets I've yet to encounter.
The real highlight of our stay was The Bamboo Bar. Drinking cocktails to some of the very finest live jazz I've ever heard was the icing on the cake for my wife & I.
None of this comes cheaply of course, but compaired to other 5* hotels, the Oriental wins every time. The one fault? Internet access really should be free.
Would we come back? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve-the-diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

I used to live in Bangkok 20 years ago, often went to hotel Oriental to have dinner on the terrace by the river or a drink in the Bamboo bar. Returning to Bangkok for the first time in 20 years, I absolutely wanted to stay in Hotel Oriental but was a bit afraid of becoming disappointed, would all the renovations have taken away the magic atmosphere of the hotel? In fact no! Both me and my husband was so pleased with everything, the friendliness of the staff, the fantastic service and the wonderful buffet breakfast on the terrace and the buffet lunch across the river. We will be back again!

Agneta and Pablo
Brussels, Belgium

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgnetaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We used to come to this hotel for decades and it used to be the best hotel in town. This does not seem to be the case anymore - we stayed for one night for a family function. The check in staff were very unfriendly and gave us the impression that we should be happy to being 'allowed' to stay in the hotel. They confused our reservation and gave guests the wrong rooms.

Also the pool side staff were not very friendly.

The superior rooms were very nice, the bed was lovely and comfy.

I don't think i will be returning to this hotel in a while, because you expect an excellent service for that money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smurfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

the mandarin has always been my favourite hotel in bangkok , but i felt it had moved away from its "roots" and become less than its heritage. i have tried many others in bangkok as my work requires me to be there quite often. It has returned to its orgins, the service on the Terrace has improved dramatically as has the service in Lord Jim's. It now has again the 'polish" that it had before.
I have tried all the rest.... this is the best.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerjohn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

A repeat visit for me after previous superb experiences especially regarding the level of service. Had the limo transfers to and from the airport and also spa treatment and both excellent. Overall we had an enjoyable stay but the service at the "Verandah" bar/restaurant was frankly poor - very slow and disorganised service. Although there were plenty of staff there seemed to be no-one in charge and as the hotel was fairly full, people were being turned away as there were no free tables (they could have had mine sooner had I not had to wait 20 minutes for the bill to be delivered.) This happened more than once and stood out as the service otherwise elsewhere was very good and the Oriental in the past was distinguished by the best service anywhere in the world at all levels.
Some excellent points remain - e.g. not asked for credit card on arrrival (possible they had details from a previous visit) and the lift attendant knew which floor we were on (not sure how!) Room comfortable and very well equipped.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 883 in Bangkok
8,448 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 883 in Bangkok
4,466 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 883 in Bangkok
637 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £308 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing