We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“amazing hotel”
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Mandarin Hotel is always my first choice, this is prolly the best Madarin hotel in asia pacific. I would go back here again, so romantic, had dinner at lord jim's pretty good, then we had a boat ride, we're lucky bec. no one was there just us alone in the boat, so amazing. We stayed overnight too short, I was rushing the next day and the floor butler pack my clothes. I had a great time at The Oriental.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank fashionbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,631
    455
    106
    34
    24
See reviews for
782
1,834
323
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

A true legend, the Oriental has everything down pat. It may not be the newest, shiniest hotel, but it has character, charm and impeccable service, and that to me, is worth much more. Loved our duplex premier room with thai silk adornments, just the right amount of local flavour without being gaudy. Our butler took great care of us, always there but never obtrusive. We had lovely views over the pool and river, and enjoyed lunch on the terrace. Everything works without a hitch at the Oriental. I adore the history of the hotel; family members took one of the authors suites and it was, needless to say, stunning.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

there are no comparisons with the best hotels in Asia in any part of the World.
Its the small touches that make it so. The orchids on the pillow but what never ceased to amaze me were the fact the Doormen seemed to know where you would be going and coming from. Quiet remarkable. The views well they are just magical.

Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertsonTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Stayed 4 nights. It was my first visit to this hotel and I was a bit hesitant after reading the mixed reviews. I needn’t have worried. This is a really lovely hotel that combines heritage and character with modern luxury. The location, amenities, comfort levels, and the fabulous service, made staying here feel like an indulgence. Terribly expensive, but it does deliver an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mladww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

After a 1 hour car journey from the airport (Bangkok traffic is horrific) we were in need of an oasis of calm in the 36C heat of Bangkok.
Over 3 days, The Oriental never once disapointed.
The staff were 100% friendly, helpful & attentive. A member of staff in Thai costume ushered us into the lift with a dramatic flourish everytime.
Anything you needed, the concierge sorted it out. I have no idea how other reviewers have faulted the service. Just ask & they do it! With a smile.
The food, from the huge buffet breakfast to dinner on the river terrace was superb. The table service was faultless at all times.
We were even offered a complimentary lunch across the river from one of the biggest & best buffets I've yet to encounter.
The real highlight of our stay was The Bamboo Bar. Drinking cocktails to some of the very finest live jazz I've ever heard was the icing on the cake for my wife & I.
None of this comes cheaply of course, but compaired to other 5* hotels, the Oriental wins every time. The one fault? Internet access really should be free.
Would we come back? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve-the-diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

I used to live in Bangkok 20 years ago, often went to hotel Oriental to have dinner on the terrace by the river or a drink in the Bamboo bar. Returning to Bangkok for the first time in 20 years, I absolutely wanted to stay in Hotel Oriental but was a bit afraid of becoming disappointed, would all the renovations have taken away the magic atmosphere of the hotel? In fact no! Both me and my husband was so pleased with everything, the friendliness of the staff, the fantastic service and the wonderful buffet breakfast on the terrace and the buffet lunch across the river. We will be back again!

Agneta and Pablo
Brussels, Belgium

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgnetaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We used to come to this hotel for decades and it used to be the best hotel in town. This does not seem to be the case anymore - we stayed for one night for a family function. The check in staff were very unfriendly and gave us the impression that we should be happy to being 'allowed' to stay in the hotel. They confused our reservation and gave guests the wrong rooms.

Also the pool side staff were not very friendly.

The superior rooms were very nice, the bed was lovely and comfy.

I don't think i will be returning to this hotel in a while, because you expect an excellent service for that money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smurfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 867 in Bangkok
8,290 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 867 in Bangkok
4,397 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 867 in Bangkok
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Travelbag, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing