We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MO Bangkok is a classic....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Macau
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“MO Bangkok is a classic....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

MO Bangkok is a classic…
My husband and I got married in their Author’s building, which is a century-old colonial style building. We had such a nice party!
The service is superb. And one of the biggest plus about this hotel is that they have a very nice Jazz bad – the Bamboo Bar – I can say it’s one of the best Jazz bars in Asia.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BossanovaMacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,424
    428
    102
    34
    22
See reviews for
716
1,752
303
511
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

We arrived in Bangkok after spending 4 incredible days in Chiang Rai. I had not been to the MO before and I was expecting a lot. My wife and I arrived around noon and were planning 2 relaxing days there before heading home.

Our plan included lunch, but they did not tell us that it was a buffet lunch on the other side of the river. My wife and I do not care of buffet's so we opted to pay for lunch at the Veranda patio restaurant. The restaurant was pretty and you sit on the river's edge. The temp was about 90 degrees, but we did not mind that except that waiter were all in suits and ties and looked ridiculous. The were subservient to the extent that we felt uncomfortable. The food was terrible, in fact the ceasar salad was drenched in so much dressing that both my wife and I were both feeling ill the rest of the day. We felt so bad that we decided not to go out, but sit by the pool.

The pool water was about 100 degrees. The pool service was mediocre at best, not on par with even mid-class hotels.

The room was Ok, not great, but not near the top of what we have seen at this price of hotels. Also, i was awaken in the middle of the night by the next rooms phone call at 3:00 am. The walls were so thin that i could hear every single word of the business conversation and the guy was not talking too loud.

I ended up spending the rest of the night, re-arranging my trip with my travel agent via e-mails so i could get out first thing the next morning.

Nothing about this hotel was a 5 star experience. Even the famous Cigar Divan was run by a young girl, who did not know a cigar from a cigarette.

That about sums it up.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank casa360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

I say that if you have not been to the Oriental you do not know what hotel service means!!!!!rooms are very nice and of a good size! the location is the best!!!! the food is an experience!!! this is a very expensive hotel but worth every penny!

Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SotiriosB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
froth007
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

I have seen many reviews of this hotel but I wanted to add my recent New Year experience.

It was my third time at the Oriental Hotel and I must say there was a frisson of anticpation for both my husband and I.

We have stayed at the Oriental Hotel before but this time I was also taking my parents with me. It was a special trip for us and we were not disapointed. What is always amazing at the Oriental is the service. It is everything there (from the front desk to the floor staff, the floor butler , the restaurant staff etc there is no fault) and it makes this hotel what it is. I have been to many five stars international luxury hotels in the world but no hotel is like this for me.

As they knew it was a special trip for us, they placed a bottle of champagne in the room with a bouquet of beautiful flowers. Throughout our trip we got fresh flowers in our rooms and when we had a little problem with the wifi they apologized by giving us beautiful orchid.

We were there over New Year and the celebration over the river were amazing. Great food (buffet - amazing Thai restaurant and a really good looking Thai maitre d'), great band, fireworks and a real party atmostphere! A few days later the hotel organised a wonderful cocktail (buffet with savoury and sweet French, Italian, Japanese, chinese and thai food) we listened to a jazz band and a classical ensemble (taking it in turn) and of course it ended with beautiful firework over the river.

We tried all the resturants save for the French and Seafood restaurants. All the one we went to (Italian, Thai, main restaurant and cafe) were great.

The only thing that has changed and that I missed since last time I've been is the smell...There used to be an amazing fragrance of flowers (I am guessing jasmin and some lemongrass maybe) everywhere you went and in particular in the lobby. Throughout the years I started associating this fragrance with the Oriental and my wonderful holiday there. I even started looking for a similar Jasmin fragrance to put in my home back in the UK. Now for some reason it does not smell anything in the Oriental lobby and the magical fragrance is gone.

Overall I must say our trip felt magical. After the hustle and bustle of Bangkok streets, we could always go back to the comfort and luxury of the Oriental hotel knowing that they would take care of us in the most amazing manner. I am planning to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank froth007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

Excellent Service, would say as good as anywhere in the world except... stopped by for a long weekend with reserved spa day scheduled in advance for a Monday. On early Monday morning the hotel called us to cancel our spa appointments, was not happy as that is why we chose the hotel. Had sharp albeit polite discussion with manager who relented and restored just two of our five scheduled treatments. At the spa, the masseurs told us that we had been cancelled because they had no other appointments that day, so they tried to save money by closing the spa. We had to go to an external spa that day at great inconvenience.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the tea service in the writers' lounge in the old wing is incomparable in quality and service.

Prior to this, used to stay regularly at Mandarin hotels in Asia and the U.S., however have not returned to one since this service travesty.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ExpectGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

Well, it is not the first time someone writes about how great this hotel is and how impeccable the services are. I don't think I need to repeat the praises that everyone have been writing here. I am simply going to share a recent experience with you all.

Today is 10th April and I have decided to take the family out to Siam Paragon for a bit of shopping as well as visiting the aquarium. Knowing the Red Shirts (UDD) are still protesting around the area, we checked with the Hotel Concierge about the situation.

We were warned that while the situation is quite calm in the morning, anything can happen and we are to be careful and mindful of the situation.

At around 2:25pm, while shopping in Siam Paragon, we were told that the shopping mall will be closed in 5 minutes due to the army's crack down on the protesters nearby. We immediately left the mall but realised that the roads surrounding the area were closed off and the BTS Sky train station was also closed. Not knowing what to do, I called the hotel immediately, it was then I realised I already have 2 unknown missed calls on my mobile phone. Apparently, the Concierge team was aware that I have taken my family to Siam Paragon and was trying to get in contact with me when the news broke. When I wasn't picking up, they have deployed a Hotel Van to the area on standby. When I finally got in contact with the hotel, I was then given clear direction to walk to a nearby hotel, where the staff of that hotel was also notified and was expecting us. Upon arrival, we were escorted to the Mandarin Van and was driven back to the hotel.

I am now writing this review in the calm environment of my hotel room while watching the news on what is going on out there. I am so glad that I have decided to stay at this hotel.

I am speechless.

This has got to be one of the best concierge team in the world.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Quadpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

Mandarin Hotel is always my first choice, this is prolly the best Madarin hotel in asia pacific. I would go back here again, so romantic, had dinner at lord jim's pretty good, then we had a boat ride, we're lucky bec. no one was there just us alone in the boat, so amazing. We stayed overnight too short, I was rushing the next day and the floor butler pack my clothes. I had a great time at The Oriental.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank fashionbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,127 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing