We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality all over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London & KL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality all over”
Reviewed 20 August 2010

What a historic place. Am quite a fan now....after Mandarin in KL, this was one step better. Hospitality with real class. Will be back when we return to Asia! Service, rooms, breakfast and pool all super wonderful. Treat yourself and stay at least once in your life!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelberry70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,632
    455
    106
    34
    24
See reviews for
782
1,835
323
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
zaragoza
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Hotel Oriental in Bangkok is not just an hotel but an experience of pure beauty. Not to be missed !!

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Donre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davos, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I am a frequent traveller to Asia and my happiness is coming to this very good hotel. It is like living in the past and in the very current day, ageless I can say. Even if all around new buildings grow up like mushrooms, this place never changes. It is worth a stay if you can afford it. Some of my friends had to work in BAngkok for longer than 3 months and they decisded tos stay at apartments Lotus and Orchid at TheRiversidebangkok.com and they enjoyed that place too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

what a wonderful hotel during my thousand trips to Thailand! I used to choose those modern and comtemporary hotels. My wife said she was highly recommended to stay once in this hotel, and, it performs beyond our expectations! The lady at front door was so warm and welcoming, truly a thailand hospitality. We asked questions concerning sleeping buddha. The lady explained in a very detail way, seemed she really wished to drive us to there! (I hope so, but my wife would kill me.)
Another must try was the spa and massage. Sitting by the river, enjoying the professional massage, was one of the most remarkable experience during this Bangkok trip.
There are millions of hotels for choices in Bangkok. Mandarin is truly pride of bangkok. I must return next year!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2078wvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Wow! Nice hotel with personal touch. Me and my friend arrived by cab and doorman opened the door as usual. Check in was fast and butler was called and standby at the lift to escort us to our room.

Butler introduced the room facilities and served welcome drink & cold towel. What amazed me was I plucked a flower from the road side and left it on the writting table. Next day when I came back from shopping, the maid has placed a nice bouquet of flowers in the room.

Room is ideal for two...pretty compact. No nice view at all as ours was facing the river and residence area. But, overall set up was great and clean. Daily fruits been replenished with a little card explaining the type of fruit served.

We have not dine at the hotel as there are plenty of great foods in Bangkok! Concierge given good tips on where to visit and etc.

I would suggest take train instead of cab as the city been always busy should you plan to go out for sight seeing. SILOM is a great place for shopping! Little advice is not to bargain with the traders if you do not wish to buy the item...they will scream at you if you ask for the price and then decided not to buy it.

If given a choice, I wont be going back to Bangkok eventhough things are cheap. However, Mandarin Oriental Bangkok will be my preferred choice of hotel for being attentive and pleasant experience stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Have you always wanted to step back in time, yet not want to give up modern comforts? Are you looking for an experience at a hotel that exudes history and nostalgia, yet isn't dowdy or musty? If so, look no further than the (Mandarin) Oriental Bangkok.

"The Oriental" will be 130 years old next year but has not only kept up with but kept ahead of the times.

Our recent weekend stay, fourth time at the hotel, was to attend a friend's wedding in Bangkok. Despite being seasoned world-wide travelers, we were awed by unexpected upgrade to one of the Author's suites, the Graham Greene Suite [12th Floor] in the "newer" [1980's] River Wing. Perhaps reflecting the muted occupancy levels in the weeks after the recent civil disturbances, the hotel was rewarding returning visitors. That said, the "Author's Wing" was shuttered for renovation though the restaurants there such as Lord Jim's remained open. None the less, the hotel was busy with plenty of guests and tourists in the F&B outlets as well as weddings and functions happening. There is NO BETTER TIME to come to Bangkok as hotels and businesses are eager for guests and the indomitable Thai spirit of hospitality remains.

The Graham Greene Suite offers an expansive living room, powder room, work area and delightful balcony with cafe table and lounger all strategically positioned above the Chao Phraya River with its' unceasingly captivating views of vessels of all shapes, sizes and speeds darting up and down and across the choppy brown water narrowly missing each other. One could sit all day on the balcony, sipping tea and watching life and commerce pass by on the river. The work desk offers window views on three sides and also makes an excellent in-room dining spot. Needless to say, Wi-Fi and flat screen TVs are standard, as are every other amenity imaginable.

The bedroom is cool and subdued with an extra large king bed fitted with a pillow-top. The bathroom, with double vanity a separate shower, is well appointed and the dressing area/ closet is also huge.

The design theme is colonial with a nod to the named author with the heavy reliance on shades of green. (Not to mention a library of many of Greene's works which almost demand browsing in this evocative space.) With the residential feel, one is inclined to linger in the rooms. However, the Oriental Spa also beckons with its' world-class treatments and facilities. The spa is across the river and reached by the hotel's private ferries that continually make the two to three minute crossing. This offers a splendid mode to arrive at the Spa and almost guarantees a relaxed state of mind which the treatments will ensure.

The Spa is in historical buildings with some new elements including a renovated "penthouse" dedicated to Indian Aryuverdic treatments. There are a number of themed, couples suites that over baths, steam and relaxing areas. We experienced the Deluxe Oriental Suite just behind the main Spa reception. The treatments and therapists are some of, if not THE best in the world. Having had dozens of "Traditional Thai" massages over the years, none compare to the quality of the Oriental Spa. However, whereas the Spa was once a relatively good value, it is now extremely expensive, even by international standards. A 90 minute treatment, especially if in a private suite with additional relaxation time, may cost one or two TIMES your entire room rate. The standard treatments are more reasonable and one my consider Spa packages or room rates that include some treatment. My opinion is that these rates have gotten out of line.

While on constructive comments, and believe me these are extremely few, the F&B quality in the restaurants is adequate, but not on par with expectation at such a property. In particular, the breakfast buffet at the Riverside/Verendah - while included in the room rate, offered only standard fare and compares poorly to the Four Seasons Bangkok or even Intercontinental. Service there was average as well and not comparable to the rest of the property. Further, the Verendah lunch was good, but not exactly spectacular. Service for lunch and at the Author's Tea Lounge were heartfelt and exceptional. Again, all the F&B outlets were relatively pricey. Room service dinner, was, however, excellent all around and the view from the suite equally pleasing.

The greatest "star" of the Oriental is the staff. From the bellmen, to the front desk, to the elevator staff and management, everyone appreciates that they are working in a legend and strive to meet guests expectations. In particular, the floor butlers, while claimed as a standard by other hotels (think St. Regis, Raffles) GENUINELY fulfill the expectations of such a position. Need a different newspaper? Only a minute. An umbrella ? Viola? Traffic update? At the ready. Not to mention that one's shoes will be shined while you are out.

If you are heading to Bangkok for either business or pleasure and want to experience genuine hospitality only aspired to by others and want a taste of a bygone era of travel, you could do no better than the (Mandarin) Oriental.

[See photos for more details.]

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tozai1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Unbelievable hotel. This is a 6 star hotel. All of the Mandarin hotels are excellent but this hotel is very unique and charming. You never want to leave because it’s so good.

Overall the hotel has a very old world charm. It’s beautiful to look at and it’s very clean.

Because this is so good they charge a very high price. Everything here is expensive. Definitely the most expensive hotel I’ve ever stayed at but it’s worth every penny. If you can afford to stay here then come and bring someone special to enjoy it with.

Everyone who stays here must visit the Authors Lounge. It’s a beautiful and original tea room. I’ve never seen anything like this in a hotel. The tea is excellent and the snacks were good. But it’s the charm of the lounge that makes you want to stay and just enjoy the atmosphere.

The hotel has an excellent location next to the River of Kings, the Chao Phraya River. The hotel is actually located on both sides of the river. The main hotel is on one side and a very nice restaurant (Sala Rim Naam) and some other facilities are located across the river. They provide their own water taxi across the river and to some other destinations at no charge. Very traditional and fun boats to cross the river.

The hotel grounds are very nice and clean with a high end feel. There are a couple of outdoor restaurants with a river view and excellent food.

The rooms are not large but are very comfortable, clean and elegant. Room service is excellent. The interior of the hotel is beautiful and reminds me of the old high end hotels you see in movies with marble floors.

There is a very classy shopping arcade and several nice stores that sell an assortment of goods including the delicious Mariage Freres tea.

The Sala Rim Naam restaurant is also a must. The food was great but the show was even better. It’s a traditional Thai show and was very enjoyable.

The staff is excellent and very helpful. They arranged Palace tours for me, and transportation for my meetings. The hotel has several large new BMW's and the price was fair. They also arranged for me to get VIP tickets for Thai kickboxing. The fighters are very skilled, but it was violent and loud. Not for kids.

One of the best hotels in the world. I encourage everyone to visit. If’s its too expensive, save your money and come when you can. Thailand is worth the money and this hotel is too unique to pass up.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sookie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 866 in Bangkok
8,284 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 866 in Bangkok
4,396 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 866 in Bangkok
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing