We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai dance and food on Sundays and...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Thai dance and food on Sundays and...”
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We went out for dinner and enjoyed excellent Thai dances and food on a Sunday evening. The weather was lovely and we truly enjoyed the fabulous Thai dishes, colourful dresses and brilliant service by the remarkable team. They even knew our names after a minute. It felt so personal.

Thank you so much for making our night out so fantastic.

We even returned for breakfast a few days later... The restaurant was very deserted and we could have a table by the river without reservation. Great.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenamhaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,631
    455
    106
    34
    24
See reviews for
782
1,834
323
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

what a gem! you feel like royalty. the staff is astounding. we never told the man on the lobby level what floor we were on - yet when we entered the elevator he jumped in to press our floor. i asked how he knew our floor and his reponse was " i watched you come down madame". come on! every day when i would go to use the hair dryer the wire was wrapped around it as if it came right out of the box - EVERY day! this place is unreal. we were there christmas time. the way they dressed up the place was like a fairy land of flowers. every where we have ever been pales in comparison. truly one of a kind.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lazydaysNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

It is a true fabulous Hotel! Everything is high quality: service, food, drinks, pool, location, spa….
I specially want to mark an incredible SPA! You have to take a boat across the river to get there which is always nice. No matter what kind of treatment you choose – everything is perfect!
I would recommend go to Thai restaurant at night to see a show. This restaurant is across the river also.
Another great place for dinner is a sea food restaurant on the 2d floor in Hotel.
I spent only 6 days in this hotel and can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porsche0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I spend at least a week at the MO Bangkok every year before Christmas & am never disappointed. The staff remembers me from year to year & responds quickly to every need. The River Terrace & pool area are so relaxing & comfortable that it is hard to even leave for the wonderful sights of Bangkok. I believe that my blood pressure drops the moment I sit down for breakfast & look at the River of Kings.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javajane724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I been to Bangkok several times in the past through my work.
This was my very first holidays to Thailand and after hearing so many positive feedback on this hotel, my husband and I decided to stay there for the only 2 nights we had in Bangkok.
The staff were incredibly friendly, rooms were beautiful and the location was superb!!!Stunning view of the river.
I can highly recommend this hotel and have no doubt i will b staying there again!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BButterfly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarlac, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I have stayed in the Mandarin Oriental numerous times over the years but my last stay was in Sept 2009 (the date of stay selector won't allow me to go back that far).

You might be inclined to shy away from this exquisite, historic hotel from sticker shock, but let me tell you why you shouldn't. At the Mandarin Oriental, you aren't getting a hotel room, you're getting a one-of-a-kind experience. It's a lot of modern comfort wrapped in the cozy cloak of old-world luxury. The rooms are simply some of the best in the world, the bed alone is to die for...you'll never want to leave. But if you manage to pry yourself from the comfort of your bed, stroll through the plush lobby where a string quartet may be playing, and experience the extraordinary range of fine dining this hotel has to offer you then you'll get more than a fantastic meal.

You will get real service. Not the kind of service they teach about in training books (I should know, I'm a customer service trainer), but the kind of service where you can sense the entire staff moving in a symbiotic fashion, as individuals wholly concerned with your comfort and the enjoyment of your experience, working seamlessly together to achieve it.

The best way I can sum up the exceptional nature of the staff is to share this story: One of the friends I was traveling with has a rather severe dairy allergy, and as such cannot have any foods with any sort of dairy product, not even foods prepared with butter. The day we checked in, we sat inside one of the restaurants enjoying a late breakfast and she relayed this information to our server, who passed it along to the kitchen staff. The next morning, as we sat down for breakfast in a completely different restaurant on a different part of the property, the new server greeted my friend politely by her last name (pronouncing her rather difficult name correctly at that!), and said, "My colleague has informed me about your dairy allergy. I will be sure to instruct the chef to prepare your meal accordingly."

Now THAT.....is service.

Even if you can only afford to stay there one night, I promise you a stay at the Mandarin Oriental is one you won't forget.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmarchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

This was the end of a long and enjoyable trip in the Far East that had to end celebrating New Year at our favourite City and our favourite Hotel, so it could only be Bangkok and the Best hotel, The Oriental ooops Mandarin Oriental now.
From the member of staff meeting you at the airport to escort you to your car, to the smiling faces greeting you at the door of the hotel and the lift to take you to your room, to the cashier that you see at the end of your stay when you checkout and all the people that make your stay an unforgettable experience, it is all done with a seamless politeness ,elegance and pure joy which is infectious. I will not write anything about the beautiful state room we had with the corner balcony looking up river as words would fail me and I am sure others have said what needs to be said about the beauty of a room in this hotel. I just want to say that in a packed hotel, all that recognised us, had the time to greet us chat with us, never had to wait for a table whether it was for coffee or a meal, and make you feel that you are at your own home surrounded by people that care and want to look after you. And always with a smile and a nice word. What though impressed us the most was the way an army of people transformed the terrace area and the lobby to a complete stage and disco, between 2am and 6am, for the New Year’s celebrations without disturbing guests and then after the Gala back to normal again in super fast time. It takes military precision to get it so right and great staff to do it. The gala evening was fantastic by the river. Food was everything you could ever want and more and the fireworks display unbelievable as was the staff as always!! We are booking again next year as it was probably the best New Years Eve we ever had. Finally the lobby area of the hotel has recently been renovated and although I must say I did like the original splendour of the reception area, I have to say that the refurbishing has been done with great style and some old familiar things are still there and I am sure we will all get used to the new look given time.
Again a great thank you to the Oriental and all the staff for constantly giving us unforgettable experiences!! Can’t wait to go back again to the most Perfect Hotel in the World!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 867 in Bangkok
8,290 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 867 in Bangkok
4,397 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 867 in Bangkok
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing