We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok
Ranked #97 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Booked here entirely on the recommendation of TripAdvisor and were thoroughly delighted with the choice. Our 3 bed apartment was fabulous. So much space we could hardly believe it - even the kitchen was big (not a tiny kitchenette like you get in so many places). Unfortunately we were too late to use the restaurant (and I had been excited because it was 'hawker night' by the pool...) but they have room service up until midnight so we got that rather than venture out. I'm so glad we did. The dining table in our apartment was big enough for 6 and we needed it once the food arrived because the portions were generous and everything was delicious. It was a particularly good start. I ought to say, too, that the rooms were very clean and the heavy cotton bedlinen was much appreciated. The decor was lovely throughout the hotel with nice objets d'art scattered about.

All slept very well (our bed was hard but the other beds weren't - my daughter said hers was the comfiest she'd slept in for some time) and ready for a late breakfast. Loads of choice, even for the picky among us, and the hot things were properly hot (not what we experienced in our Vietnam hotel, it must be said). Service was swift and effective but very discreet and we never had a problem getting a table for the 5 of us.

Reception staff were helpful. They got a bit embarrassed at having to write the name of the restaurant 'Cabbages and Condoms' in Thai for the taxi driver (!) but they were good to do it. They also provided us with a useful map. The bellhops were (all of them) always smiling and very quick to open doors and assist with bags. I was very impressed by all the staff we encountered, to be honest.

No problem with taxis picking us up or dropping us off. But why bother when there's a Mass Transit Bus five minutes walk away that connects with the Skytrain and you have some great local eateries? Walked to and from the station a couple of times at night but felt very safe. One night we ate at the Fuzion bar which is two minutes away from the hotel and does a massive menu of Thai and European food (and has excellent beer). There were other eateries down the road too (as well as the ubiquitous Starbucks!). One TripAdvisor review I had read beforehand said 'nowhere to eat nearby' - clearly they didn't leave the hotel and turn right?!!

We did use the pool and it was great. Lots of sunbeds and only had a problem on the final morning (we did find one in the end). Yes it was cold but not once you got used to it. We also had cocktails and ice creams in the bar by the pool, which were spectacular. Again, excellent service. Ditto the shop, which had everything we wanted (in our case, water and crisps mainly!)

I can't see any reason to stay elsewhere on our next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ariane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumManager, General Manager at Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear ariane123,

Thank you for your very detailed review and for sharing your great experience on tripadvisor! Especially I’m very proud that the staff made a difference in your stay and was helpful in any way they could. I’m also glad that you visit Cabbage & Condoms, a great place giving back to the community and with great ambience and Thai food. As you know, except from our “albricias” restaurant, there are many nice small dining places around here so it is a very convenient and safe area to stay in especially for families.

Thank you again, and I do hope that you and your family will visit us again next time you are in Thailand and Bangkok.

Best regards,

Magne Hansen,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    540
    106
    31
    20
See reviews for
603
280
87
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I booked Chatrium on line and they did not put a real picture of the residence so I was afraid to be disappointed. In fact when we got there it looked much better than I expected. Its new very clean and the appartments are large and well equiped. I was with my family of 5 annd had reserved a 2 room appartment which looked a bit small as we were 5 with only one king size bed and 2 small ones so I asked for an upgrade which they accepted to give me for free! So I got a 3 bedroom appartment and it was very clean and confortable.
I recommend this hotel to anyone but specially to families. It has a beautifull pool and the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumManager, General Manager at Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear jack k,

I am very pleased knowing that you and your family had a great stay with us in August. Thank you also for your recommendation, and do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you all back to our hotel next time you are visiting Bangkok.

Best regards,

Magne Hansen,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I would rate this hotel 7 out of 10. Do not confuse it with the Chatrium Riverside (a far better hotel). The hotel is located in a small side street and 99% of taxi drivers in Bangkok do not know it. There is nothing worth of mentioning around the hotel. A taxi trip to the Royal Palace in Bangkok would cost you around 120 Bath and will take approximately 45 min (if traffic is not bad). However reaching Silom Road would only take 10mins. The breakfast is excellent (make sure is included in the room price). We had a 3 bedroom suite which was very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisites81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumManager, General Manager at Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Chrisites81,

Thank you for posting your experience staying with us on trip advisor and I do hope that your stay with us was an overall good one even if you did not favor our location and had some problem with the local taxi service.

The palace is not located in the center of Bangkok so it is always good to plan some extra time when visiting this great attraction. Traffic is always an issue in Bangkok, but we have the BRT station in walking distance to the hotel, bringing you to the Sky Train link, together with our free shuttle bus to the Sky Train station, Asiatique, Sukhumvit Road and other nearby shopping destination.

Again, thank you for your comments and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our properties in Bangkok and Yangon.

Best regards,

Magne Hansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel both at our arrival from overseas as well as a couple of nights prior to returning home.

The rooms have a nice home feeling and the beds are comfortable.
The first apartment didnt have a washing machine, while the last one did, so we could manage to wash all our dirty clothes before going home (there is a small grocery shop on level 4 selling single portion laundry powder for USD 0.35/bag).

The breakfast is really good, with lots of variety, so generally we ended up eating too much and spending too much time at breakfast.

The gym is well equipped and the pool is good too. The facilities level (level 4), with restaurant, gym, pool, childrens club, grocery shop and coin laundry works well. The grocey shop is very reasonably priced. Possibly a bit cheaper than 7/11, and more convenient as its inside the hotel.

The wifi is supposed to be able to connect up to 4 devices, but we never managed to connect more than 1 at a time. Each time we connected a new device, the previous would be kick off the connection.

The area where the hotel is located isnt very special. You need a taxi to go anywhere, which is a bit of a nuisance. It would have been perfect if it was located more central.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumManager, General Manager at Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear CPR 1972,

Thank you for taking time reviewing us on trip advisor. It always makes me happy when I get constructive feedback for our guests and I’m pleased to know that you had a good time staying with us.

Our Wi-Fi is to connect 4 devices per room with one username and password without being kicked off the system. I’m not sure what happen with your room, and I do apologies for the inconvenience this caused you during your stay. My IT team has checked the system configuration without finding anything wrong.

Again, thank you for your comments and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our properties in Bangkok and Yangon.

Best regards,

Magne Hansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We decided to move to Chatrium Residence Hotel, based on an online search for something which offered better value for money than our initial hotel booking which was disappointing. With an air of mistrust, particularly for online bookings, we can only say that the hotel was an exceptionally good find. The service was attentive, without being intrusive, the room was a 48sqm corner suite with kitchen and separate bathroom, and the wifi fast and efficient.

The hotel location was in a quieter, more residential area of Bangkok, only a 60 baht taxi ride to the nearest BTS station, so getting around was easy - no traffic jam hassles! The hotel pool area is huge, surrounded by tropical gardens, and a huge attraction to families. Food and service at the restaurant was good and we had a few good Thai meals at the very ambient poolside restaurant.

Our stay was comfortable, friendly and very convenient to transport, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumManager, General Manager at Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Julie,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I was very pleased learning that your stay was a very successful one and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. I do hope that you had a good trip back home and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in not too long time.

Best regards from Bangkok,

Magne Hansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A nice welcome Pandan Flavour drink upon arrival! Good customer service! A fastanstic Assistant Sales Manager (Wiphaporn) personally guide us on the hotel available facilities and explain well in details. What's more, She had introduced us the best Authentic Local Thai Food that just around the Hotel corner.

This hotel is good for a family travel with kids and eldery, with spacious rooms and living area. The only disadvantage is the BTS station is about 2.5 km away from the hotel, however, there is a hotel compliment shuttle bus departs every hourly from the hotel to the nearest BTS station and some others tourist attraction. If you have your private transport arrangment, then there is no doubt to stay in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumManager, General Manager at Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Elmix,

Thank you for taking time reviewing us at Trip-advisor. I am very glad knowing that your stay was a very good one and that you and your family felt comfortable in our rooms and with our facilities. I also appreciate that you mentioned Wiphaporn for taking so good care when checking in. I will certainly make sure that she is acknowledged.

Thank you again, and please come and stay with us once more during your next visit to Bangkok.

Best regards from Bangkok,

Magne Hansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Chatrium Residences is a very comfortable hotel, but has a few problems. The in-room wifi required a degree to connect (even the staff failed despite several very friendly attempts). We clearly weren't alone as many other travellers could be found in the lobby trying to connect with the annoyingly-brief 15 minutes of wifi available there. This part of our holiday involved some business, which was hampered significantly by the wifi issue. I ended up using wifi at Starbucks across the road. The studio rooms are spacious, clean, well-maintained. Be aware that any conversation you have in your room can be heard in the corridor (thin doors). Breakfast was good, but the egg station was slow and the request for poached eggs was met with surprise and a phone call to someone who could come in five minutes to make it. The hotel is 10-20 minutes from Chong Nongsi BTS station, depending on the time of day (not convenient). There are some excellent hawker stalls close by for late night meals with the locals. The pool was good for a dip but as a shallow lagoon is more suited for families than exercise. The in-house store is cheaper than the nearby Seven Eleven.

Room Tip: Studio room with city view was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumManager, General Manager at Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Greg,

Thank you for taking time writing a review at Trip advisor and pointing out to me a couple of issue that needs some attention. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was hampered mainly by the internet connecting issue. I will definitely look into this and see what we eventually need to change so we can make the whole process and experience easier. For the speed of preparation of the poached egg at the breakfast egg station I have already discuss with my Executive Chef. We do have all varieties available daily and we will make sure that all staff has the necessary skills to perform such an easy task for breakfast.

Thank you again for your comments. I do always appreciate this kind of feedback from my guests so we can improve the overall guest experience. Thank you again and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our properties in Bangkok or Myanmar on your next visit to the region.

Wishing you a great week ahead!

Best regards from Bangkok,

Magne Hansen
General Manager
Chatrium Residence Sathon, Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,193 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#85 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok
Address: 291 Soi Naradhiwas Rajanagarindra 24, New Sathorn Road | Chong Nonsi, Yannawa, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#54 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#87 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#125 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary City OasisChatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok offers a sanctuary away from the bustle of Bangkok whilst still minutes from the central business district and trendy shopping neighbourhoods. For short or long stays, our comfort crafted studios and suites provide all the amenities of a hotel. You’ll find everything you need from three restaurants and bars, a minimart, self-serve launderette and a resort-style lagoon swimming pool. Green Leaf Spa offers sensorial escapes, whilst a driving range and snooker table allow relaxing recreation. Hold meetings in our naturally sunlit The Seasons Meetings & Events space, or let us organise an event by the pool with exciting entertainment! Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable, wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Residence Sathon Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing