We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as GOOD as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Despite the floods, the Metropolitan worked like clockwork. Work continues on the refurb but after nearly eight years, this is still a hotel that is hard to fault. Only (small) quibble is the internet access, which is a) variable quality & b) keeps dropping registration, so you have to go through it all over again for each device.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
Thank DemandingAlbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,282 - 1,288 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

From the moment we arrived, until the morning we left we were very impressed by the service and surrounds of Metropolitan Bangkok. It's offset from the main road which makes it quieter. Very sophisticated lobby and room. The bathroom was huge. Views from our room only so so. But the little touches and the service was memorable. We loved the breakfast and the pool. We had cocktails in the bar, followed by an outstanding dinner at David Thompson's Nahm Restaurant. We highly recommend Metropolitan Bangkok. We travelled with our 4 year old, and were made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

For those who have never been to Bangkok, forget what you have heard, and get on the next plane. For those who have visited, consider this property as a step away from the large and maddening crowd. This hotel is small by standards of the big chains. There are 12 stories, and we stayed in a penthouse suite on the top floor. We were not prepared for the incredible experience. Our butler helped manage our stay making sure that our time while in the hotel was flawless, and our times outside of the property were efficient. But about the hotel. Very clean and zen-like. Lots of clean empty spaces. Our room (see photos we took) was flawless. The lower level had a living room, dining room, and floor to ceiling (20 foot high) windows looking onto the city. Up the staircase to another bathroom, well-equipped office, large bedroom with huge bathroom. Polished wood floors, large TV's, a free large iMac, great wireless, huge breakfast included, what more could you ask? The hotel has one great restaurant (we ate there, need reservations, was busy), and a smaller cafe. We dined in-room from either menu. Pool is outdoors and we were the only one who ever used it. The spa and fitness are compact but perfect. We have stayed in larger properties, but recommend this for the overall experience. Worth your investigation.

Room Tip: If you can afford a penthouse suite, it is a once in a lifetime experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Second stay at The Metropolitan and both have been excellent. The rooms are fairly minimalist and some might find them a little bit bland, but I liked them - nothing super exciting but spacious and comfortable. Go for the Metropolitan Room above the City Room.

The bar by reception is excellent and they do some great cocktails.

Also ate at Nahm this time which was really great. Highly recommend it.

Breakfast at Glow is probably my favourite in Bangkok. Very healthy orientated and the restaurant is a great place to start the day - with an egg white omelette and a healthy shake! Very relaxing setting.

The location of the hotel is pretty good - you can just pop over to the Banyan Tree and go to Vertigo, the rooftop bar for amazing city views. The BTS is 10 minutes walk away.

The Metropolitan is really great value and for anyone looking for a sophisticated, sleek, modern hotel with great service - Metropolitan is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasmineHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met_BKK, Hotel Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Metropolitan.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. At our hotel, we focus on offering a stylish yet comfortable room for our guests together with savvy service.

We also take pride in offering the best food and beverage in all our outlets. I am glad that you liked your cocktail at the Met Bar and the food at Nahm and Glow.

Once again, thank you for your patronage. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropolitan Bangkok.

Warmest,

Laurent Sola

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The stay in the Metropolitan Hotel in Bangkok was an absolute pleasure. The spa is stunning and very relaxing. The pool is clean and large. The rooms are clean and huge, The bathroom is large enough to accommodate several people if necessary!! The size of the bed is also humongous. Food was well prepared and good. Only one negative point: The bread at the breakfast buffet was moldy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenixber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met_BKK, Hotel Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Metropolitan on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to know that you had a great time with us and enjoyed our facilities. I wish to inform that our bread is freshly made on a daily basis. However, I have discussed the issue with our chef for further improvements.

Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Warmest,

Laurent Sola

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Metropolitan Bangkok is off a main road, adjacent to the Banyan Hotel. The hotel is kept very clean, including the rooms. The room sizes are quite large, with plenty of natural light. I found the restaurant options top-notch, providing excellent, fresh food. Glow offers organic food options in a relaxed, yet simple setting. I give the facilities and restaurants five starts. My experience with the service was not consistent. I found some of the staff very gracious and friendly, whereas other staff members seemed to not care about customers - almost even a bit cool.

Room Tip: Try the Metropolitan rooms - excellent value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met_BKK, Hotel Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note on your comment on the service by some of our staff and will discuss with operation team to ensure service improvement as we take pride in delivering the best to guests.

I am sorry for the shortcoming that you have experienced. My team and I look forward to another opportunity to be of service.

Yours Sincerely,

Laurent Sola
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is my 4th stay! Simply love the impeccable service provided by those staff from the Front Desk; and Housekeeping! Love the different types of martinis available at the bar too! And most importantly, love the breakfast at GLOW and the staff there - superb! I have been recommending the hotel to my friends; and they simply LOVE it (for those who had stayed here) though they said it is not really located at a convenient location! But, it is a mere 10 minutes taxi ride to Siam Square at a very affordable fare of 60bht. - Johnny Lin from Singapore

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a window in your huge bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BB2015LWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met_BKK, Hotel Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Mr Lin,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Metropolitan Bangkok.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your our room, our food & beverage as well as our service. Your kind comment will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.

Once again, thank you for your patronage. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to our hotel.

Warmest,

Laurent Sola
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 887 in Bangkok
3,629 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#16 of 887 in Bangkok
4,367 reviews
Pathumwan
The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#41 of 887 in Bangkok
6,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan Bangkok

Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £106 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst 'glow' focuses on an nutritious COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Metropolitan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing