We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metropolitan renaissance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Ranked #25 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Like any long term relationship, there have been highs and lows with The Metropolitan Bangkok but as in all good relationships, you turn a corner after some time and you are excited and wow'd like the first time you met.
I am a long time fan of this hotel and I am thrilled to write that it is going through a renaissance. I strongly urge you to stay and experience everything I have loved about this property since the beginning.
The great things remain - spacious, understated though well-appointed rooms, helpful and friendly staff, a fantastically delicious breakfast, amazing food by chef Chris Miller, complimentary yoga, a great pool and of course Nahm restaurant serving impeccable Thai food (Nahm in London has a Michelin star).


The breath of newness however is due to a new, very visible and very affable General Manager who has brought in new vigor, life and energy to the property. What was mediocre before has been refined and reworked and my stay this time was faultless. It was a fantastic way to start the year!
The Metropolitan is not your conventional 5 star hotel. If you are looking for a glitzy lobby bar, a pimped up hotel room or a bustling, overcrowded pool area then I suggest you stay elsewhere. This is a great value, understated design hotel that deserves a strong, loyal base of devotees.


Try it - truly fantastic..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chairmansozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Chairmansozz, warm regards from your home in Bangkok.
Nothing better at the Metropolitan that the many, great friends, regular guests that we are very privileged to welcome every single day. it is you and our very nice team that make a difference and create a very unique and special atmosphere at the hotel.
We are very grateful for your friendship and loyalty and we are very happy to be engage in a long term relationship.
As you've mentioned, not your conventional 5 star hotel, but a great quality, value relax and uncomplicated experience:
Looking forward to have you back very soon, warm regards, Jorge Monje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

Hotel with modern design, extremely helpful and friendly staff (who speak understanble English!!), very spacious and clean rooms. Restaurants had excellent food options (be careful with spicy dishes!!). It´s located in a business area, so there´s not much to do within walking distance. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeboraNogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear DeboraNogueira, greetings from us all at Metropolitan Bangkok. It really good to see that you are keeping good memories of your trip to Bangkok and your stay at Metropolitan.
I think our location is just perfect, very central and with in easy reach of all major areas and attractions.
On top of that like in most Asian cities, a surprise and something curios and interesting is just around the corner, the famous or infamous Patpong area, with its night market is less than 10 minutes walk away, Lumpini Stadium hosting the most interesting Muay Thai boxing fights again less than 10 minutes walk, the very traditional Sunaplu, Sala Deng and Silom areas...
Plenty more things to see and explore, looking forward to share them with you in a next visit.
Warm regards, Jorge Monje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed for 3 days over New Years Eve. As it was our first time to Bangkok we didn't have much to index this hotel locally.

The rooms are very spacious and the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. They even put on an event for in the front of the hotel to ring in the new year (with fireworks). The party kicked on until the early hours of the morning in Met bar which we got involved with when we returned to the hotel.

The only small issue with this 5 star hotel is the location. It is in a side street off the main road and therfore some cabs, tuk tuk's and cyclos had trouble finding it. Always take your room card with the address in Thai.

Room Tip: The room with an outdoor shower is very good. The shower is private and a nice touch to a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydAstroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear SydAstroboy, we are really happy we had the chance to get this 2013 started together and that you have had a nice stay.
Looking forward to a very happy year for us all and hopefully having you back for a second city to this city that has so much to offer and experience.
Glad you liked your terrace room, the outdoor shower and sitting deck make for an very interesting room in a city hotel.
Please anything you may need ,let us know. Warm regards and thanks a lot for your visit. Jorge Monje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

If you like good modern design, a wonderful breakfast featuring organic food, a good gym, offering free yoga, pilates and other lessons, then the Metropolitan Bangkok is the place to go.

The hotel is located 10 minutes away from the sky train and when you come back from shopping or sightseeing you will find a clean, big pool in the garden of the hotel.

But also the friendliness and the professionalism of the staff is something we appreciate very much. For us the Metropolitan is the best hotel in Bangkok - and we tried many others before we found this one.

Last but not least we would like to mention the excellent price value relation. And one last thing: we recommend going for the Metropolitan room. You pay a bit more but you get a really spacy room.

Martin & Ann

Room Tip: Go for the Metropolitan rooms. They are really spacy and not much more expensive than a standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin_und_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear martinamann, warm regards from your home in Bangkok. We would like to thank you for your very nice and detailed comment, we are really grateful for your visit and are happy to know you have had a very nice stay.
I completely agree with you, our Metropolitan Rooms are probably the largest and nicest in Bangkok within their category and price range, at 54 sqm are really spacious and comfortable.
I think there are many little things that make Metropolitan special, you've mention many of them, including our staff, I would like to add one more the very nice guests/friends we are lucky to welcome in the hotel which make for a fantastic atmosphere.
We have really enjoyed having you with us and are looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

It was my first time at the Metropolitan hotel this December. In the past I have stayed at neighboring hotels like SukhoThai but wanted a change this time. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the accommodations and the service. First of all, the hotel is beautifully designed and very elegant. The rooms are fantastics with huge walk-in showers and a tub. I had a fantastic dinner at the hotel and a relaxing spa treatment. I am definitely going back again at my next trip in January. Highly recommended for those who wish to relax and sleep in style..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noesurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear Noesurf, greetings from Metropolitan Bangkok, we are looking forward to have the chance to welcome you back early in 2013.
Thanks a lot for your visit and your very kind comments, we are happy to know you had a relaxing stay with us, Metropolitan is a peaceful oasis on the doorsteps of this bustling and very interesting Bangkok, and indeed a great value for money, beautiful large rooms, great food and our COMO Shambhala, all make for a great quality stay.
Please anything you may need on advance let us know, we will be happy to help.
Warm regards, Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

love the como hotels as i have stayed at several. my personal favorite at all the como hotels is glow restaurant. love the each dish and the service is friendly and fast! this time we also enjoyed nahm restaurant for new year's eve dinner. exceptional cuisine, prompt and knowledgeable service, beautiful ambience... a must try even if you don't manage a stay at this hotel. the rooms spacious; the spa facilities great. we left the hotel only once during our 3 days stay. location might not be quite so accommodating however taxis are easily to be found and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNW2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Dear CNW2312 warm regards from your home in Bangkok and a very happy 2013 to you and your family.
It has been a real pleasure to share New Year's Eve with all of you and really happy to know you have had a nice stay and enjoy your food at Glow and our Nahm restaurant.
As you know Cuisine it is a very important part of the experience offered at all COMO Hotels, a lot of effort, care and love goes into everything we do, from our breakfast, to room service and of course our exceptional restaurants, the healthy focused Glow and the unique traditional Thai cuisine at Nahm.
We are looking forward to have the chance to welcome you back in this 2013, meanwhile receive our best wishes for a very happy year ahead. Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This was my first stay here and it was not a great experience. The hotel is dated and they overbooked the hotel leaving me and my partner to stay in two beds on out anniversary. There are better hotels for this price range. Keep looking.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jingram79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, Director of Sales at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Jimgram79, warm regards from Metropolitan Bangkok.
We are extremely sorry you didn't have a good experience, please accept our sincere apology.
Metropolitan Bangkok is a beautiful hotel and definitely a great value for money, our Metropolitan rooms king or twin are the largest of their category in town and very difficult to match at our rate.
We are extremely sorry we were not able to provide a king bed room during your stay, the hotel has been fully booked these days.We always advise the room type available upon reservation and do our best to try to accommodate all guests request, once again we are very sorry we didn't manage in this occasion.
We would be delighted to have you back and hopefully show you our best hospitality. Could we be of any help, please let us know. Kind regards, Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 889 in Bangkok
6,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 889 in Bangkok
3,657 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan Bangkok

Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £99 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst 'glow' focuses on an nutritious COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Metropolitan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing