We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good rooms, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, good rooms, great stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

This is a good place. And you get very good value rates from Expedia (approximately £65 per night). Great location. Staff excellent. Good breakfast (eat a-la-carte by the way - the buffet is a rip off). The only downsides were the dead-as-a-doornail atmosphere-less bar ("Met") and the snooty, charmless door staff at Nahm (guys, just because you're expensive doesn't give you licence to be rude, dismissive - you lost a customer). Overall, a great place. AND next door to Vertigo!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevChesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear kevchesters, greetings from all of us at Metropolitan Bangkok, I'm very grateful for your very kind review and extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused.
I'm sorry to read you didn't have a proper experience at Nahm, we share all tripadvisor and guests' comments with our team and will make sure yours is read and acknowledge by all of us and our Nahm team.
Nahm is a very special Thai restaurant and we are very privileged and honored to be considered one of the best on the world, but more important than that it is and should be, our service and the friendliness of our team, again really sorry things went wrong in that regard.
I hope we may welcome you back soon and have the chance to show you our best hospitality. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,365
    467
    96
    20
    14
See reviews for
174
947
225
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I've been going to Bangkok since the days of the Vietnam war so thats a lot of trips to Bkk. Over the past few years I discovered the Metropolitan Hotel tuck away down a small soi off of Sathorn. Owned by the COMO group this small but modern boutique hotel exactly fits my lifestyle.
No massive que's to check in no massive lobby area but just a simple elegant living room style check in. The staff are so friendly I can't help but give out tips constantly! The rooms need to be updated somewhat but all in all every time I come back from shopping its so pleasant to come back to home I mean the Metropolitan Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you upgrade to the next level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear John I, can't wait to have you back home, we have enjoyed having you with us again and are very grateful for your patronage.
It means a lot to us that you and so many good friends, guests feel at home at the Metropolitan, that's our most important goal for all of us at COMO H&R and personally gives sense to my work every day.
Anything you may need at anytime just let me know, meanwhile receive our warmest regards and a big thank you on behalf of your team at Metropolitan. Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Metropolitan must be one of the most stylish hotels in Bangkok. We had stayed at 2 other five star hotels on previous trips to Bangkok and the Metropolitan is definitely our favourite in terms of style and design. Other things we really enjoyed:
-very well equipped gym
-fantastic Como Shambhala products in the bathroom (even bought the larger bottles for home)
-free and working wifi everywhere
-breakfast with a lot of healthy options (finally! more hotels should offer this)
-dinner at the Nahm restaurant
-overall friendly and very helpful staff, especially in the Spa/Gym area
-large and well maintained room (we stayed in a Metropolitan room)

Three minor sidenotes:
-Our room had an interconnecting door to the next room. We could hear the phone ringing in the other room and people talking. Overall we could hear doors closing all the time in the corridor. Fortunately it did not keep us awake but we did notice it several times
-No turn down service was provided. Not sure whether they don't provide it altogether or whether they just forgot our room. Anyway we were away all evening and nothing had been done.
-We were only provided with 2 small bottles of complimentary water in the room. Which is not a lot if you also want to make coffee or tea. In other hotels they provided between 4 to 6 bottles. Of course we could have called for more but just in general 2 seems a little bit spare.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel and if we can make sure not to stay in a connecting room, we would most certainly return! Also, this hotel just provides the most value for money compared to probably any luxury hotel in the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elyke1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear elyke1234, greetings from bustling Bangkok and all of us at the Metropolitan by COMO.
On behalf of our team thanks a lot for your visit and for the very kind and detailed comments, we really appreciate it.
We are really happy you had enjoyed your stay and the hotel's facilities and service and please accept our sincere apology for all the minor glitches.
We will share your comments with our team and will make our best to avoid similar incidents in the future, especially sorry the turn down service was not provided, as it is, of course an standard.
We would be really happy to welcome you back soon, please let me know if we can be of any assistance on advance. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Fantastic and beautiful hotel. Staff are extremely friendly and efficient. Rooms are lovely and spacious. Before I needed to request some more towels (we were a family of four staying) housekeeping were at the door fixing everything we needed for our stay. They were always that one step ahead. The only difference this visit is that our family is bigger and slightly older ( 2 and 5 years) and probably not the best family hotel for children this age. Definitely the ideal hotel for couples. Will return with my husband on our own for a 3rd visit I am sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda313Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear linda313Glasgow, regards from your home in Bangkok, it was really nice to have you back and good to see the family growing.
Thanks a lot for your very kind comments, you are very generous and we are extremely grateful with your visit, please we hope to have you back, hopefully with the children and anything you may need on advance, just let us know.
Warm regards and a big thank you from all our team, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Fourth visit to Bangkok having stayed at three other 5 star hotels on the previous occasions. Metropolitan definitely my favourite. We tried out Nahm, The Met Bar, the gym, the spa, the haridressers, the yoga lesson, the pool, Glow, the shop, tranfser from the airport, all in three days even though the visit was to actually to spend time with friends who live in Bangkok! Everything was first class. Staff all excellent throughout the hotel. Very understated and calm. Great to see a wide range of other guests staying: from singles (including business people), to couples, to groups of friends as we were, to families and lots of nationalities. Will definitely stay again and hightly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Louise H, it has been a real pleasure to have you with us and makes us happy to read your very kind comments and review.
On behalf of all our team a heartfelt thank you. We will share your compliments with them and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back.
As you have mentioned we are very lucky to welcome many beautiful guests that contribute to the very nice atmosphere in the hotel, together with our peaceful and very good location.
Let us know if we can be of any assistance at any time, warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as there was this "Stay 3 nights for the rate of 2" and the hotel was very nice and the room luxurious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The Met in Bangkok is fantastic. The location is good. The hotel itself is beautiful and painfully stylish. It’s timeless too so never looks dated in any way. Check-in is always a pleasure – the staff are great. Check out was also pleasurable

The studio room is already very big to us. The bed is very comfortable (I checked with them. Sealy =P ). You never hear noise from anywhere else. The coffee and tea facilities in the room are great. The bathroom is massive and well designed. The gym is fantastic – large and well-equipped. The spa attached to it looks good too. The pool area is great. I really do love this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose at least the studio room to feel the luxury of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaatchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear kaatchi, we do love you! Thanks a lot for your very generous review, nothing more important to all of us at the Metropolitan than making each one of you feel at home. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and your trip to Bangkok.
Hopefully we will meet soon again and meanwhile please let us know if we could be of any assistance, we are very grateful and really appreciate your visit and comments. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golborne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the very start of our honeymoon and the hotel was very nice and the room luxurious. We had fabulous views over the city. We were a little disappointed that the extras offered as were were a honeymoon couple on booking were not in the room and that we had to ask for the sparkling wine and chocolates. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but be prepared to tuk tuk or taxi to town. We thought we would walk to the river to get the water taxi's but it was a good hr walk. This is impossible to manage and do all the things you want to see in 3 days. The taxis on a metre we found to be best and at times cheaper than tuk tuks. For us we felt a bit too far out of town as the only other local bars are in the hotel next door - the Banyan Tree. The moon bar at the top of the Banyan Tree is a must but it is expensive. There is also a restaurant there but we didn't eat there so I can't comment. The met bar at the hotel is nice enough but lacks any real atmosphere. We tried to book Nahm about a month before we left the UK and the Internet said it was full yet a couple of times we saw tables empty. A lovely hotel and would probably stay again but would probably prefer to be nearer the river.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Nicola M, really glad and grateful to read your comments and happy to know you have had a nice stay. Thanks a lot for your visit.
I'm only sorry we may not have been able to share with you better about the hotel location and how to move around, both the BTS and MRT are within a 10 minutes walk, connecting with the river on shopping areas easily and the very busy Silom and Patpong area just across the street, plenty of shopping, dining and night life within the neighborhood, in fact one of the liveliest and most comfortable in Bangkok.
We hope we may have the chance to welcome you back and hopefully been able to show you around much better.
Once again thanks a lot for your very kind comments, warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 862 in Bangkok
6,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 862 in Bangkok
3,465 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,186 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 862 in Bangkok
4,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan Bangkok

Property: COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst 'glow' focuses on an nutritious COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your COMO Metropolitan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing