We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMO just does it for me!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Lion City
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“COMO just does it for me!”
Reviewed 6 April 2010

From the moment you step into the cool designer enclave, with the spare but lush flower displays, to the Yohji designer uniforms and the spacious interior, The Metropolitan Hotel is a testimony to taste, quiet luxury and elegance. Uber modern, yet not lacking in the thoughtfulness that makes Thailand so unique and charming, everything about the Metropolitan is so well thought through and the staff are ever willing to help and attend to your needs.

Despite the red short protests all over the city, I was totally unaware of this, and enjoyed every single minute either munching on organic yummy salads at GLOW, doing my morning sun salutation at the personal fitness sessions at COMO Shambala or just lazing by the giant poolside. This place is bliss, as is the similar property at Uma Ubud in Bali - COMO just knows how to do hotels tastefully and with spa-like ambience, it's as close to Nirvana as you can get.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxe4less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,375
    471
    96
    20
    14
See reviews for
175
955
227
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

After traveling many times to Bangkok over the last few years, I decided to try the Metropolitan this trip, for my 7 day stay. I've stayed at its namesake in London, and have stayed many times at a hotel next door in Bangkok. The Metropolitan has an appealing design, and a secluded frontage, which seemed inviting.

At this hotel, "inviting" ends at the curb. In 7 days here, I doubt any of the staff at the front door or desk smiled or said hello more than twice. It became a game with us to see if we could force them to smile. Remember, this is Thailand, where smiles are freely given everywhere (except at the Met). The hotel car (which we used for 4 booked private trips) was worn and dirty looking-- it seems never to have been washed during that week and there was no rain to make it excusable. There are two hotel restaurants-- one that is "organic" and one that is more standard fare. The menu for the second floor organic restaurant is somewhat bizarre, but interesting. The food, however, was not interesting-- we tried 5 different items on the menu, and they were flavorless and unimaginative, which might have been forgivable if the service had been more pleasant. The standard restaurant, C'yan, had a nice breakfast buffet (no service required!) but we did not sample anything else. We used the Concierge (billed as "Bangkok's most connected Concierge") to book a tour, and specifically said we did not want something overly "touristy." You can guess where we wound up-- at a cheesy tourist buffet that followed a cheesy tourist trainride-- exactly what we were hoping NOT to do that day.

At one point in our stay, a somewhat deranged hotel guest started yelling and swinging a pole around the lobby, which scared the heck out of everyone (including the staff). But they seemed totally ill-equipped for the situation and it persisted for an uncomfortably long time while we watched from our hiding place. If his antics had not been so frightening, the staff's response would have been hilarious.

In 7 days, considering all the interactions that occurred, I can think of only one staff member who went out of her way to help us with a small travel detail at the front desk. Something is wrong at this place-- either there is no staff training, or the staff is angry, or there is no vision for what they are trying to deliver, or there is no management leadership watching to see if they are achieving it, or they're just lost in the past. Most successful "hip" hotels learned awhile ago that "hip" isn't good enough-- trendsetters come and go, but return paying clients want good, friendly service from competent and well-meaning staff. Maybe The Metropolitan hasn't gotten that message yet.

What a disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met_BKK, Executive Assistant Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at the Metropolitan Bangkok with us. I am deeply concerned with the issues that you have brought up.

I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings and took the liberty to reply to all your comments by email sent to your personal email address.

Once again, I do thank you for your patronage and accept my deepest apology for the inconvenience you have been subjected to.

Sincerely,

Laurent Sola
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

For a city centre hotel, this really hit the mark and exceeded expectations. Staff spoke excellent english and were able to help with our enquiries - how best to get to the weekend market, did they have a plug adaptor, where best to get a quick late lunch, was it walkable to the metro station (it is).

Rooms were large and impressions of the reception areas were good - usual smart boutique hotel fare, plus friendly staff. Right next door to the Banyan Tree rooftop bar (fab, NB dress code). I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyHawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

When it opened, the MET was the jewel of BKK. It was exclusive, hip, glamorous and all the "A list" people where arriving to the MET BAR to spent a great evening.
Nowadays, the hotel has lost its glory. The lobby is empty, the met bar is sad and abandoned and the once so beautiful rooms look tired, old and to me a bit depressing.

Today, the only thing going for the Met is its excellent value for money. In my eyes this is sad, to see a style icon turn into a "practical choice", but if that's what you are looking for - it's a damn good practical choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Overall, great hotel, with excellent staff.
Chic, contemporary look.
Very efficient check-in, with tea delivered to room on arrival a nice touch.
Room well-equipped but a bit small (seemed to be the smallest on the floor - room 811). Having said that, bargain rate of US$99 per night meant I could hardly complain.
Very good breakfast.
Excellent gym.
Food in Glow organic restaurant very good.
Decent spa, with pretty good masseurs/masseuses. OK prices for a 5 star city centre hotel.
Description of spa treatments in bedroom didn't match the actual treatment in the spa, which was frustrating (ended up having effectively the same treatment 2 days running, which was not the intention). However, once explained to the Duty Manager, received decent apology, got 50% off the second treatment, and as I happened to be in the restaurant when they explained how they had resolved the issue, they also gave me 15% off that meal, which was an exceptional (and unexpected) gesture.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

This was the perfect choice for us, we found a very good deal online. It was absolutely value for money. The hotel is a bit hidden from the main street which is great and has a lovely pool, sun is rare but we managed to time it to come back after exploring the city to catch some sun and chill before dipping back into the nightlife.

Very good location for Lumpini night market and Silom. Would go back again.

Check out the Banyan tree roof top bar next door.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouternaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

What a wonderful hotel, great staff and we loved the location.
We stayed in the Metropolitan Room and the bed was comfortable and plenty of room.
The staff could not have been more helpful.
We loved the location, it was an easy walk to the Skytrain.
We stay at the Metropolitan next time in Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garlyn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#14 of 866 in Bangkok
3,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 866 in Bangkok
6,284 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 866 in Bangkok
8,277 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#16 of 866 in Bangkok
4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan Bangkok

Property: COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst 'glow' focuses on an nutritious COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your COMO Metropolitan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing