We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“As good as ever...”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Once again an excellent stay of three days here. Although it is beginning to show its age a little, this hotel is managed and looked after so well that you hardly notice. Staff very helpful as ever and still best breakfast in Bangkok!

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DemandingAlbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,346
    460
    94
    20
    14
See reviews for
171
936
220
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We only stayed at the Metropolitan for 3 nights on our first visit to Thailand, so to be fair we did not spend too much time in the hotel as we were exploring the sights and delights of Bangkok.

The hotel is situated quite close to downtown and is only a few minutes walk from the Sky Train or underground. It is quite far from the river, but that meant we got to use the public transport, everything from taxis, tuk-tuks to boats!

Check-in and check-out were smooth and you could not possibly fault the staff, who were always eager to help and gave us plenty of recommendations on places to eat when we didn't want to dine in the hotel. We didn't eat in the main restaurant but the breakfast we had had plenty on offer to fill us up for a day's sightseeing.

The room was large and clean and a good temperature. There had been a leak in the days before we'd arrived so some of the carpets in the hallways were still drying out, so the hotel probably wasn't up to it's best, but everything else was still well maintained. Often you can stay in a hotel where the lobby is great but the rooms are a let down, but that was not the case here. The bed was HUGE and extremely comfortable, you had no idea that you were in the middle of Bangkok. The seating area was also comfortable and it was a nice touch to have complimentary fresh fruit in our room every day.

The pool is ok, but most of the time that area is in shade so not ideal for sunbathing, if that's what you're after.

We did enjoy our stay but Metropolitans are much the same the world over: it's a good place to crash if you're there for a short while but there is definitely a feel of it being a place where travelling business men stay rather than say, a romantic getaway. Of all the places we stayed whilst we were in Thailand it made the least impression, not in a negative way but there was not anything remarkable; it's certainly a stylish and chic hotel, with extremely helpful staff, but it's just a place to stay and that's it.

We would certainly recommend it for a few day's stay, and it's a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckySuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We booked a terrace room , we rally enjoyed the outside shower in the center of Bangkok .
But the room was really dark, with no view at all, except for the walled terrace and almost no daylight as a result.
Dinner at Nahm was excellent and the breakfast as well, but in a very cold an badly lighted breakfast room, if you g to the pool you have to pass through this room again.
No turndown service on both nights , unhelpful pool attendants.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domperignon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met_BKK, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Metropolitan Bangkok.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the outdoor shower of our Terrace Room as well as the food served at both restaurants, Nahm and Glow.

With regards to the brightness (daylight) of the Terrace room, this was designed to create a soothing indoor courtyard which may have compromised on the lighting of the room. And the provision of the outdoor shower recompenses an outdoor experience with privacy.

For the décor at Glow, we have just completed the refurbishment of the restaurant. The design has been changed to make the restaurant look more vibrant.

Lastly, I wish to apologize for the unpleasant attitude of the pool staff and our failure to provide the turndown service. I have personally discussed this with my team for service improvement.

Thank you very much for your comment and we look forward to another opportunity to being of your service.

Yours Sincerely,

James Low
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I was a little underwhelmed when I walked into the Metropolitan. It was slated as the "sleekest boutique hotel in Bangkok." It felt empty...and then it hit me that it was Christmas eve.

The staff went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. They called me cars and taxis, helped me with maps, left a little Christmas gift on my pillow, delivered extra bath products when requested. The service was excellent.

The breakfast was amazing. The buffet was fantastic and the fresh watermelon water to die for.

It's not the newest hotel, but once you spend a day walking all over Bangkok it is the perfect place to come home to. The rooms are over-sized and the beds are comfy. It's a bit removed from all of the best shopping, but that allows you to take Bangkok's public transport or hop on in a tuk tuk...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gidge77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Hands down, the Metropolitan has some of the best hotel food in Bangkok. Breakfast at Glow is easily the healthiest and tastiest in the city, and Nahm with it's Michelin starred chef and eclectic menu never ceases to impress the taste buds. If you are a gourmet tourist then the Metropolitan is truly a paradise and should feature highly on your itinerary.
However if you are looking for great service and a good nights' sleep then you're better off next door at the Banyan Tree or 2 doors down at the Sukhothai. Something has happened to the Metropolitan over the past couple of years, the award winning staff they used to be known for were perhaps poached by some of the newer properties or perhaps CoMo just got lazy but FO staff that are not proficient in English, Mandarin, Cantonese, Korean or Japanese and lack even a basic understanding of 'service' make this property stick out for the wrong reasons. In its hey-day this property was the talk of the town (and I remember it fondly), but with an air-conditioning system that clunks all night and gadgetry such as the boxy TV that was considered an antique even in 2008 with speakers that blew years ago, sadly translate to a property that is definitely due for an overhaul. Until a refurbishment is announced (and completed) stick with eating the fantastic food at Glow and Nahm ... and sleep elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxeTravelerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met_BKK, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to write about your recent experience at the Metropolitan Bangkok.

I am glad that you have enjoyed the food at our restaurants, Glow and Nahm, but I am concerned to know of our shortcomings during your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear of your unfavourable experience with our staff. We have recently completed the training programme for the new staff, and if the service delivery was below your expectations, please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings. A thorough and continuous annual training programme is undertaken in keeping a high standard of service, but obviously we have fallen short. We take our guests’ comments seriously, and have been reviewing these closely to determine the progress and opportunities for improvement.

It might be of interest for you to note that a soft renovation of the rooms is planned for this year, including an upgrade of the room facilities and the replacement of a new TV set.

Thank you very much for your patronage and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,

James Low
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Stayed over Xmas / NY and then again for another weekend in January 2011.
The hotel has a good arrival feel and the lobby is very pretty. But if you venture further it is terrible and totally overpriced.
The rooms are relatively small, the pool is shady after 1pm and the gym and spa is badly maintained. The service is totally cold, they dont remember your names, no senior management is ever visible and if you ask for FOM, they try to avoid you.
Had NY eve dinner with friends at their restaurant. TOTALLY overpriced menu, so so food and really nothing special.
They are really trying very hard to sell a very much aging product with bad service as luxury destination.
The ONLY plus about the hotel is the location if you go out in Silom.
Would not stay there again

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met_BKK, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments on your recent stay at the Metropolitan.

I have read your concerns and have taken note of these for future improvements.

The City room which you have stayed in is 28 sqm and indeed relatively small for a couple. I hope we can welcome you back with an opportunity to offer a more spacious and comfortable room, the Metropolitan room category with 54 sqm in size.

In regard to the gym and spa, I wish to inform you that we regularly check and maintain the quality of the hotel facilities as well as its cleanliness. And after seven years of operation, we are now looking into making improvements on the facilities in some areas of the hotel.

On the service side, I sincerely apologize for the lackadaisical attitude of the staff which conveyed a cold treatment. I totally agree that our guests deserve a warm and personalized service under our care. I wish to reassure you that we take service quality as a priority and give sufficient staff training utmost importance. I have discussed your recent experience with our Front Office Manager to ensure that the staff performance is up to our standard.

As for the New Year’s Eve dinner at Nahm, we have received an enormous positive comments from our guests since the restaurant opened in September 2010, and I regret to hear that the food on New Year’s Eve did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that we are constantly on the watch of guests’ comments for continuous improvement.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings. I hope that you can reconsider returning to the Metropolitan on your next visit and look forward to taking this as an opportunity to serve you better.

Yours Sincerely,

James Low
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

The hotel's nice, and the rooms are pleasant. However, it's not located near much of anything of interest to tourists (it's about 10 min walk to the Skytrain, which is good, but that's about it). It's near a lot of consulates and office buildings, which is fine, very safe etc, but not very exciting. This was our first time in Bangkok, and next time we'll definitely stay on the river somewhere, or more to the northwest of the city, where the action is. Would be a great business hotel though. Free wifi in lobby only -- in the room, super expensive to get wifi!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goverflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,079 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan Bangkok

Property: COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst 'glow' focuses on an nutritious COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Metropolitan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing