We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great, aging and needs upgrade.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Astera Sathorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astera Sathorn
Ranked #294 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not great, aging and needs upgrade.”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The breakfast was the only highlight of our stay here.
The rooms as such are quite unremarkable.
The air conditioning was ancient, really lousy and hardly seemed to work. It was uncomfortably warm even with the AC set to 18 degrees :|
The shower trickled water at a very very slow pace and occasionally decided to leak some luke warm water, with no hot water to talk of.
We checked in around midnight here, and when we informed the staff that there was no hot water, we got some callous answers and the technician who was sent up seemed to mutter that this was how hot it usually got and stalked off.
Would not recommend this place.

I am sure in this city overflowing with hotels, better hotels should be easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aceanindita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    415
    167
    37
    11
See reviews for
67
129
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd time staying here, the last time was 3 yrs ago. We chose to stay again mainly because of location, price, and our knowing the neighborhood. We are a bit disappointed this time. We are in a 2 bedroom suite because we have 2 kids and needed space. The carpet is filthy and gross, the hot water is hit or miss, the kitchen has NOTHING in it but a kettle for hot water. The bathroom walls have some mold and it just isn't clean. The beds are comfortable and the staff is friendly and the breakfast decent. Next time in Bangkok, unless they renovate we will stay elsewhere.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank annehinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed as a couple for 1 night on 05 Oct 2012 in standard double room. The hotel is aging and could do with renovation. The bed was comfortable, there are some free munchies in your room, flat screen LCD, balcony (needs a good scrubbing) tub in the bathroom, bathroom slippers were quite welcoming, however the a/c was not cooling well in the night and I had to call someone at 1 am who tried his best, but not much luck. I asked for another room, but found the cooling to be no better there too, so decided to let the night pass. In return the hotel did not agree to throw in breakfast or anything else for the inconvienance caused. The Saphan Taksi BTS is within walking distance, however for the money spent (breakfast not included), the pool does not open before 9 am, which was not at all conveniant when I could have had a dip at 7 am or so, there are better options to seek.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The Astera hotel is located 1 block away from the canal boat and the Sathorn Train Station so it makes an excellent base for exploring Bangkok.

The rooms are basic but are clean, modern and have A/C, TV, fridge, safe, kettle and complimentary bottled water, tea, coffee and snacks. The staff are friendly and very accomodating toward guest needs. Beds are a bit hard, but tolerable.

We paid $5.00 extra for the breakfast (booked through Agoda) and thought it was an good deal. Choice of eggs done any way, fresh fruit, cereal, hot foods such as french toast, pancake, bacon/sausage, etc. and breads. Nice assortment to suite any taste.

Room Tip: The Hotel does not have signage if walking from the train station, therefore you could walk past it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

As most the reviews say the hotel is a little tired but it is clean, the pool is nice and the staff are so helpful. Great customer service makes all the difference in this hotel and they will go out of their way to help. They played with our 8 month old daughter endlessly and when another hotel reservation let us down one member of staff let me use her mobile for free to call other hotels. Great value for money and the location is great for the metro and skytrain and the ferries to a lot of the top tourist spots. If you are looking for something comfortable without spending too much this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed at the Astera in January 2013, and enjoyed my stay. Although the hotel is aging, my room was clean and of a good size. The staff were excellent. Since I am an older woman travelling alone and had never been to Bangkok, I decided to request an airport pickup and am glad that I did. I felt that I was in good and safe hands to get from the airport to the hotel, and was pleased not to have to worry about finding the hotel by myself very late at night. The location is excellent - just about two blocks from the river and the skytrain station. I didn't eat at the hotel because I wanted to experience real Bangkok food as opposed to hotel food, but the restaurant appeared pleasant and clean. I also didn't use the hotel facilities such as swimming pool and work-out room, so cannot comment on them. The only downside to my stay was that there was not a steady supply of hot water, and on two of the three days my shower was cool as opposed to hot. Given the heat and humidity in Bangkok, I really didn't mind taking a cool shower, but if you want to be guaranteed of hot water I suggest not staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallie_S_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

I stay here many times and it never disappoints. The location is great and the staff are always really friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and the location is perfect for Bangkok Skytrain and Riverboat services. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and when I return to Bangkok next year I will stay here once again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank nsaul123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Grand Sathorn
The Grand Sathorn
#212 of 852 in Bangkok
272 reviews
Silom
Bossotel Bangkok
Bossotel Bangkok
#258 of 852 in Bangkok
734 reviews
Silom
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
#519 of 852 in Bangkok
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#302 of 852 in Bangkok
169 reviews
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#307 of 852 in Bangkok
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astera Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astera Sathorn

Property: Astera Sathorn
Address: 143 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astera Sathorn 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astera Sathorn is less than 5 minutes walk from BTS Skytrain Saphan Taksin Station. We provide all necessary, amenities and facilities. We also provide our guest an outdoor swimming pool, separate sauna and steam room, fitness center, free wireless internet, satellite TV, laundry service , limousine service and tour arrangement to ensure your total comfort, pleasure and relaxation during your stay. Private parking is free onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astera Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astera Sathorn Bangkok
Astera Sathorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing