We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“try me”
Review of Astera Sathorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astera Sathorn
Ranked #299 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“try me”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

If you want a 3 star hotel near sky train Saphan Taksin and close to river this may be for you.Prices aare around 1200-1300 baht including buffet breakfast.The hotel has nice clean rooms, nice pool , good gym and free internet which always works. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is easy walking distance from sky train and the yellow building can be seen on left on arriving to the sky train station.
The area is good because has many good restaurants and easy access to river tours or general river services.
Avoid the trouts offering you tours near the sky train and tut tut operators.Many stores selling gems and semi precious stones in this area but I have no idea if the prices are good..
Downside with the hotel was after a few weeks the breakfast was boring with the same selections each day.
Probably another downside is that the hotel has no restaurant but there are many restaurants in the near neighbourhood

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on same level to pool if you want to use the pool sauna on a regular basis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asterasathorn, ผู้อำนวยการฝ่ายขาย at Astera Sathorn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your great review !

We pleased that you can give many good reasons so that, why you choose our hotel.

Anytime you visit BKK. Please visit Astera Sathorn !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    415
    169
    39
    11
See reviews for
68
132
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Macau
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I had a really excellent time at this hotel. I found the hotel staff extremely friendly, attentive, and easy to talk to. There is construction on one side of the hotel but I did not hear it at all on my end. I slept very well every night and found the hotel very quiet. The pool, gym, and sauna/steam room are very nice. Every day, the hotel stocked my fridge with a beer, soda, water, and some bag of chips. What could be better! I have to say this location is ideal. It literally is a 5 minute walk to the Sky Train as well as the Central Pier where you can take the ferry wherever you need to go in Bangkok which sure beats sitting in a tuk tuk or taxi. I felt so lucky at the end of the day to arrive at the pier from the ferry and watch most tourists getting on the sky train to get to their hotels and I was just a 5 minute walk home. Also, this area is a great mix of tourist accessible and a real local feel. Definitely check out a good little night market in the back of the Shangri-La.

Room Tip: My room was 602 which I think was the side where there was no construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My family of 5 were treated so well by the Astera staff, they accommodated our upgrade request without hesitation, the Royal suite was perfect, b/fast nice, room cleaned really well and front of house staff so polite. After staying in Singapore the week before and paying 300% more than the Astera, we really appreciated what the Astera offered. To the previous post, we saw the incident you refer to at b/fast, I think a communication mis-understanding played a major part in your frustration also a lesson learned to bring your own sweetener in future. I don't think the staff were being disrespectful at all, I think they were surprised by your aggression.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asterasathorn, ผู้อำนวยการฝ่ายขาย at Astera Sathorn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for review and your great support Astera Sathorn Hotel !

We're very appreciated that you like our Royal Suite room that suitable for your family ( 5 paxs )

Please come back again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was moved to this hotel after there sister hotel Silom city hotel had extremely loud building work, I was greeted with extreme rudeness from the staff (the worse I have ever received from a hotel) I was made to wait another 2 hours before they gave me my room. The room was ok but the staff continued to abuse me throughout my stay, they never put any tea or coffee in my room ad when asked they just kept laughing at me, they stole 500 baht from me and refused to give it back. In the morning the breakfast staff where extremely rude and kept standing around us and talking in Thai and laughing In my face, I had to record the whole incident on my phone and intend to take this further, I asked several times to speak to the manager and the staff just laughed, there English is very bad and it's pointless asking for anything, overall I would say this is the worst experience of any hotel I have ever stayed in, I would strongly recommend anyone to not stay in this hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was very doubtful about this hotel after reading a couple of reviews . But I must confess that the stay was really good ! My room was at the topmost floor and although the room faced the busy Bangkok road , it was not at all noisy. There was absolutely no noise seeping !!

My first impression of the hotel was frankly not too great - I would attribute it to the small lobby and the layout of the hotel. But once you step in , it not at all small . Its in fact very spacious and extremely clean. The Rooms were not huge , not not small either. The bathrooms were spacious and clean.

Coming to the Hotel - I did read a couple of reviews that said they were rude etc etc etc. Absolutely NOT ! They were helpful and extremely accommodating. They were not fluent in English , but you cannot hold it against them. The little English that they spoke was more than enough for me to communicate with them.

Overall a nice stay !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anishatrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asterasathorn, ผู้อำนวยการฝ่ายขาย at Astera Sathorn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review.

We glad that you like our service and hope to see you again next time.

If you have any question please feel free to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

The room was fine but bedsheets and bath not that clean. A/C loud and full of bacteria.
Location is ok, staff is ok.
Wifi is very annoying, you have to call the reception every 30-60 mins for a new username and password. Extremely bothersome and primitive.
Worst, we got charged 300 bath (10$) for a lost key card!
10$ for a piece of plastic that is worth 1$ at most!!
This is a gangster bully way to make exthort money from customers.
Good tv channels. Nit the manager is nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. Upon arrival, we got a free upgrade to a Junior Suite! The room was fantastic and our stay was excellent. Pros - 2 min walk from BTS station, good breakfast, very helpful staff. Cons - food menu priced a little on the higher side, pool under construction.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jra1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Grand Sathorn
The Grand Sathorn
#195 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Silom
Bossotel Bangkok
Bossotel Bangkok
#264 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Silom
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
#491 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#316 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#309 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astera Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astera Sathorn

Property: Astera Sathorn
Address: 143 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astera Sathorn 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astera Sathorn is less than 5 minutes walk from BTS Skytrain Saphan Taksin Station. We provide all necessary, amenities and facilities. We also provide our guest an outdoor swimming pool, separate sauna and steam room, fitness center, free wireless internet, satellite TV, laundry service , limousine service and tour arrangement to ensure your total comfort, pleasure and relaxation during your stay. Private parking is free onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astera Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astera Sathorn Bangkok
Astera Sathorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing