We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one !”
Review of Astera Sathorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astera Sathorn
Ranked #297 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Ok..don't go to Astera Sathorn with sky.high expectations. ..they may not be realised. But what u do get is pretty decent given what u shell out. That includes clean rooms, fresh towels, bedsheets n toileteries (yes, they were changed every day), great location specially if u r d exploring type, a cool pool side, polite staff and good food. However, inject more professional services plus a wider choice in d breakfast buffet, proactive and prompt services specially re.filling while breakfast is on and u might end up attracting more visitors. All d best !

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asterasathorn, ผู้อำนวยการฝ่ายขาย at Astera Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your review !

For your advise, we will try our best to improve it.

Hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Astera Sathorn Hotel is a good choice in Sathorn Bangkok area.
The rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfast is quite acceptable.
The hotel location is a must: only five minutes walk from the BTS and a couple more minutes to the Chao Phraya river. From there you have a lot of boat transportation options for Chinatown, the Grand Palace, the Wat Pho or even Kaosan Road...
One last note goes to the pool and the surrounding area, which undoubtedly is a very nice space.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asterasathorn, ผู้อำนวยการฝ่ายขาย at Astera Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your nice review.

We try our best to provide comfort for our guest so we glad to hear them say a good thing about our hotel ^^

Hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our stay was was for 14 days in January 2014. The rooms were clean & serviced everyday. The rooms could have a table for case use & case storage. The staff are very friendly & helpful.
The breakfast has a wide choice of food, except coffee is not good. The staff provided an extra bed table & lamp when requested.

Location is quite central to Sky Train Station, river ferry & Robinsons multi storey Department Store which has a variety of eating places. Cost of Taxi from Hotel to Airport for 2 with luggage was 500Bht .
Booking online with Hotel direct was easy.

Room Tip: 4th Floor overlooking pool but wthout connecting door to adjacent Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asterasathorn, Manager at Astera Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you very much for your comment.

It's good to hear you explain many good things about our hotel.

Hope next time you will come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Staff was very helpful and homecoming upon arrival. As they were very friendly for entire stay. I stay at this hotel every time I come in Bangkok because of friendly service, proximity to skytrain and ratio quality/price. The new ownership has made a difference. Nice,revamped and comfortable rooms with large tv screens. My only critic is that buffet breakfast do not appeal to me. No croissants or fresh bread buns available, no fresh juices ect... The buffet is definitely oriented for the oriental taste. The pool was fine as was the exercise room with new equipment.
Also good location near the River.

Room Tip: I chose a double room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank quebecgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asterasathorn, ผู้อำนวยการฝ่ายขาย at Astera Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for your comment.

We will do our best to improve our hotel that our guests will be more satisfy for staying at Astera Sathorn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at Astera Sathorn Hotel in February 2013 for 14 nights. I wrote a review in Trip Advisor for this hotel dated 10/03/13 following our stay last year in which the main favourable point was its location. I gave it a score of 4 out of 5, said likely we would return, and so we did!
This time I booked through the same on line website, for a stay of 11 nights. Last year, on booking in, we were upgraded to Room 601 – a most comfortable room. But when I emailed in August 2013 and asked to be booked into Room 601, I was advised that 601 was a Deluxe room and I would require paying extra. I elected not to pay extra and let the booking stand.
Bad things came in the course of our recent stay on level 6 in Room 606 – the room we were given on our arrival.
Firstly there was the mini bar fridge. The ice tray compartment had no ice tray and no ice. Nothing unusual and par for the course at other hotels we have stayed at in S.E. Asia. On our first night, at about 7 PM, my wife went to reception and asked for some ice (she enjoys a rum and coke before bedtime).She was told ice was available at a cost of 35 BHT. So she asked for an ice tray so she could set ice in an ice tray from then on. The doorman on duty said no ice tray was available. Now this is ridiculous. Always elsewhere ice is delivered to our room without any charge on request. Not to be beaten, we bought an ice tray the next day.
Having settled in with unpacking done, we noticed 606 was 2 rooms away from the 2 lifts, from where the lift chime would sound. The chime could be heard in our bedroom, even worse in the bathroom. Those chimes rang persistently, no matter the hour, but worse when coach passengers arrived late at night and departed early of a morning.
Now management surely must know this is a problem, particularly when the stay is for 11 nights. We decided not to complain.
So much for our room location but Room 605 must be worse since it was next to the lifts.
I move now to mention the Free Wi-Fi. Yes, it was available but most times not, especially on Sundays. I resorted to trying for connectivity for my laptop in the early morning hours, but no luck.
Adjacent is a high rise under construction. No noise from there, but stagnant rain water, allowed to pond at an adjacent cleared building site allows for mosquitoes to breed (and there were mosquitoes).
Next is the breakfast. It was a good breakfast, but it catered mainly for Asians. Thank goodness for the egg station – omelettes, fried eggs, French toast. No complaints there, but some of the dishes required to be kept heated. So every so often one of the staff would check, only to find the flame had extinguished and needed refuelling. To me this seems to be antiquated. Surely a more modern/more efficient method of keeping food trays hot can be found.
We found the staff to be all so wonderful. The doormen on duty, the coffee lady, the reception staff, and the staff at the breakfast room are so friendly and so helpful. We just can’t speak highly enough of them.
Concluding, best of all is the location, with its proximity to Saphan Taksin BTS Station and Sathorn Pier.
Hopefully we will be back in Bang Rak area, Bangkok next year; however we won’t be staying at Astera Sathorn.

P.S. I did Email a draft of this review “to the owner/manager of this hotel” advising of my intention to list it in the hotel’s review section, inviting a response, but no reply after a week went by..

Room Tip: When you book, request a room well away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The staff are very helpful. They are hardworking and keep things clean. I have no complaints. The hotel is a 5 min walk to BTS and river taxis. Any directions you need and the staff will help. Just be aware that the area is run down but its safe. Vendors are the same 5 min walk away and 7-11 is about 6 mins. The tour desk guys were very helpful and gave me good advise. I took in the Calypso Cabaret and they told me how to skip the lines to get to Asiatique. Good advice! The rooms are clean and neat. Housekeeping does a good job, but the hallways need some attention. Also the water pressure is not good, so be aware that filling a bath is a long process and so is showering.

The bed was comfortable. You can't sit outside on the balcony, but you open the door. There was construction next door, but I left before they started and came back after they left, so no biggie.

There is a safe to hold your belongings, and free wifi that was more than adequate. Inhouse laundry takes 2 days to get back, but you can go to the lady down 2 alleys and she can do it for 220 baht, which seems steep (what price clean clothes), but what can you do?

You can get an inroom massage for very little baht, but I never tried it. I prefered to walk until my feet hurt and then stop for a foot massage. You can get your room with breakfast, and I thinks its 100baht extra which isnt much $3 CAD, but 270baht if you want it alone. The breakfast was buffet, with all the usual western stuff, but with Thai twists, like cocktail weenies with fried rice, cabbage and onion with salad dressing, eggs cooked in curry sauce. The omelet was good. The coffee is small and really really strong. Thais like things small and strong.

The streets are very crowded with street vendors and traffic, but the hotel is nice and quiet. I always felt safe. And security is excellent at this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have pool views, but 101 seems to be a pool room, the door leads out to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The area does appear to be a bit run down but we felt perfectly safe out. great to be near the pier for the river taxis. The hotel was clean, pleasant as were the staff. The rooms were of a good size, and after being out at night four of us would have a game of cards and a nightcap without feeling cramped. there was no noise issues and the bed was really comfortable. We were so intent in trying to see as much as we could of bangkok that we did not get to use the facilities like the pool or gym and we did not have breakfast included in our deal. we did use the hotel to book some excursions and taxis as we found their prices competative. Would stay again

Room Tip: we were on a higher floor . I liked the fact that you have to swipe your card to get acess to the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bykerhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asterasathorn, ผู้อำนวยการฝ่ายขาย at Astera Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we glad that you like Astera Sathorn Hotel.

Please come back again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Grand Sathorn
The Grand Sathorn
#205 of 894 in Bangkok
372 reviews
Silom
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
#452 of 894 in Bangkok
41 reviews
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#394 of 894 in Bangkok
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Forum Park Hotel
Forum Park Hotel
#391 of 894 in Bangkok
142 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Silom
Bossotel Bangkok
Bossotel Bangkok
#324 of 894 in Bangkok
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astera Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astera Sathorn

Address: 143 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#56 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#209 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £24 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astera Sathorn 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astera Sathorn is less than 5 minutes walk from BTS Skytrain Saphan Taksin Station. We provide all necessary, amenities and facilities. We also provide our guest an outdoor swimming pool, separate sauna and steam room, fitness center, free wireless internet, satellite TV, laundry service , limousine service and tour arrangement to ensure your total comfort, pleasure and relaxation during your stay. Private parking is free onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Astera Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astera Sathorn Bangkok
Astera Sathorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing