We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bangkok hotel so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #77 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Bangkok hotel so far”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed at Royal Orchid Sheraton for 3 nights on our 4th visit to Bangkok. 4 different hotels and we will likely return to this one. Great views over the river and easy to get to any part of Bangkok. River taxis available right outside the hotel, free shuttle to Saphan Taksin to catch Skytrain or cheap and plentiful taxis.
Check-in took minutes, as did check-out and luggage delivered within 3 minutes Rooms are nice although we didn't spend much time in it, bed was one of best hotel beds I've slept in with comfortable pillows, although I know this is a personal taste. Didn't eat at hotel, preferring to use more 'local' type eateries or MBK food-court.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,455
    1,500
    336
    85
    42
See reviews for
870
1,986
280
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shoeburyness
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Our first time in Thailand, or indeed the Far East at all, and we were so pleased to arrive at what is a true five star hotel. Fantastic location; two nice pools; lovely, relaxing bar and an oasis of calm. All the little details just as they should be.

The view from the room was just amazing, there is constant activity to watch on the river. Being on the river means that is relatively easy to get around. Not only does the hotel shuttle boat go to the Skytrain station, but the orange flag scheduled boats stop right next to the hotel every few minutes going upriver to he royal palace and beyond.

There is a small shopping centre next to the hotel with some nice bars along a very pleasant waterfront. Sitting there at about 7 in the evening, Singa or cocktails in hand, watching the many large dinner cruise boats set off up the river was heaven.

We ate twice in the hotel - once in the excellent Thai restaurant, complete with dancers - and once in the ground floor restaurant, where they have an amazing buffet, that they hardly advertise. For something cheaper there is a nice place called Gallery Cafe in Soi 30 - the side street to the right as you go out of the hotel. We ate there for about twenty quid for both.

We did a day trip out to the bridge over the river kwai, which was well worth it.

The only issue we had in Bangkok was the con merchants on the street trying to find excuses to get you into tuk tuks bound for gem shops. We encountered one dressed up as a policeman, one as a palace official and one pretending to be from the hotel next door - its quite funny once you get used to it.

Truth is that four nights was not long enough and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and after arriving at 3:30pm, was told my room was not available, it took until 5pm to be allocated a room, and then took half an hour for our luggage to arrive (which we had to call for).

Location was superb, on the river with stunning views. Taxi's really cheap. We did a river cruise, which I would fully recommend.

Bangkok was amazing, and I could have easily spent a week there to see everything I wanted.

Rooms are a little tired and dated, but OK. Drinks expensive, £7.20 for a coke and an orange. Breakfast choice excellent. Bed quite uncomfortable.

Shopping - shoppers paradise, we visited BCM, China town, walking street and night market. All fantastic, and ended up with 20kg extra luggage.

Room Tip: river view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_well_travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We returned to this hotel having stayed on our honeymoon ten years ago this time with two children aged 9 & 6. We were upgraded to a suite on floor 22. The room was fantastic with a lovely lounge/ study are, A superking bed room & separate toilet & bathroom with alk in shower.
We were not disapponited 10years ago & certainley not this time. The breakfast selection was outstanding changing daily. The views from the room was lovely day & night watching the boats go up & down the Chao Pyara River. We charted a long tail boat and took an hour & a half tour along the river & canals. Getting a Tuk Tuk is easy as all parked outside. We asked to be taken to Patpong & were driven to a side street to a restaurant ,when we said no market he said no problem & took us. On leaving the hustle & bustle of Patpong we asked another tuk tuk driver to take us to a great restaurant & lo & behold he took us back to the same place the previous driver had taken us to he even waited for us. What can I say we have never tasted such wonderful Thai food like it before or since having since been to Phuket. This food was fresh with amazing flavours I just wish I could remember the name & where abouts it was!! For two drivers to take us to the same place it is a hidden gem!!
Loved Bangkok & this hotel 10 years ago & hope to go back in 2 years.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennyfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We found this hotel very comfortable and have returned a few times. We enjoy most its location. the rooms are most comfortable. We don't eat that much there as it is what you expect from good hotel food..the buffets are so good but too much food for us. Location and the comfort of the rooms are the best. Two swimming pools..my favourite is the peacock one..a family of peacocks that like to eat a little bread. Beautiful trees and garden in the centre of Bangkok is a real treat.Staff good too.
Location I keep coming back too as the life of Bangkok is right out side the hotel, wonderful street food, massages, hairdressers, tailors absolutely everything nice about Bangkok..and then can jump into one of the many boats and go anywhere. Taxis good too, and of course the great River city shopping centre that has my favourite Bangkok restaurant on the second floor..

Room Tip: High up floors are very nice..and if you can get it with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My family and I have always stayed at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel whenever we would visit Thailand for our family vacations.

We like the Sheraton because each and every member of the staff is helpful, friendly, and courteous. The hotel runs efficiently, the staff is pleasant.

Our accommodations have always been superb! The hotel's attention to detail is above anything I've encountered elsewhere in the world of my travels.

My parent also had high expectations of this hotel and they were still exceeded! The room was very nice with auto shades/drapes which is a great feature. The little extras were fantastic--free bottles of water, wireless internet, turndown service etc. I'm sure that's all built into the cost but it's nice to not have to think about it. The beds are huge, the sheets are super soft. We have usually been put in the room with a great view of the Chao Praya river.

The gym is okay, it's better than a few hotels I’ve been to. I've used it once or twice but who works out when they're on vacation? :D If you do want to run, it'd be more fun to run outside, instead of running on a treadmill in doors.

At night, there is a cool dinner/show thing the hotel offers to guests for a fee. It was nice seeing the Thai dancers while eating near the river.

The location is also very convenient; there are tons of cool things to down outside of the hotel. At night, there's tons of local Thai food sold in the little carts. You can make a whole dinner out of that. My favorite is the cart that sells the roti (a Thai dessert).

Also, this hotel is pretty close to the ferry station which will take you across the chao praya river. You can take that for more good eats at the nearby market.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel is the best I’ve ever had. I look forward to visiting Thailand because of the already peeled pomelos that they offer. Not only that, but they offer American, Thai, Chinese, all kinds of breakfast. It's more like an international breakfast buffet. The quality of the food is great!

Orchid Sheraton hotel is a great choice for hotels in Bangkok. It's one of the better ones there. The hotel and the rooms are very stylish and new with a more modern design. I will definitely stay here again!

Oh! And a *Special Thank you to Mr Pongpisanu Sriwantana who was super helpful and always made sure we were having a great time at the hotel!*

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor facing the Chao Praya river, it looks amazing at night as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Berryfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

After staying at several really well priced beautiful resorts in Thailand during our stay we expected a lot from the Sheraton, our last stop before going home.
The service up until the Sheraton was brilliant, so personalized and The staff went above and beyond. Unfortunately the Sheraton was more like a business hotel, not what we were expecting. No friendly welcome or greeting at the entrance, or special little extras, just a standard nice hotel.
Can't complain about the buffet breakfast though, fresh and lots of options.
Location was nice but I would have preferred something closer to the buzz&shopping centers, especially as it was our last few days.
Nice for a short stay, But nothing special For the price we paid

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#124 of 862 in Bangkok
5,295 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 862 in Bangkok
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Property: Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Address: 2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#48 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#69 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions.Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our six restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms.All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations, featuring subtle Thai style and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Starwood APAC, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing