We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for Couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #71 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not for Couples”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here during our honeymoon, but it really wasn't right for the occasion. This is definitely a business hotel.

Property: The property itself is nice. The rooms are nothing special, but they're clean, updated and well kept. The lobby is lovely, and the bar mixes up some nice cocktails.

Service: Housekeeping did their job, but the hotel sent up a cake for our honeymoon, which housekeeping promptly threw out once they got in there. It was a bummer.

Neighborhood: Not a great tourist neighborhood, at least for newbies. There wasn't a lot going on in the evening, and not many things seem to be walking distance away. A few restaurants nearby were hidden away, but they weren’t open late, and the only bar - which everyone kept trying to send us to - was the one featured in the movie "The Hangover 2." It was nice for a drink, but wasn't our cup of tea night after night.

Boat transportation: The Royal Orchid may have the nicest shuttle boat on the river! But it runs very infrequently. Only on our last night did we realize there was a public dock next door that has boats stopping all over the river (and where you can hire someone to ride you through some of the smaller canals).

Concierge: Extremely helpful. Answered all of our many questions with a smile. Everyone working at the concierge desk, and the staff hailing cabs, were great.

My main beef was that they kicked us out of the pool, telling us it was closed, then proceeded to let a lap swimmer - who seemed to know the staff - go swimming. C'mon? Really? It shouldn’t have been a big deal, but it certainly didn’t make us feel good.

So my recommendation - if you're in town for business, or you're going to be doing something specifically in that area of town, consider it. But it's not right for couples or folks looking to do the common tourist-y stuff.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the river, so there's not a bad view in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harmony758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear harmony758,

We would like to thank you for choosing Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel and Towers for your honeymoon here in Bangkok and for taking the time to provide us with an update on your experience. We are delighted to learn that our associates at the concierge desk were able to meet your every need and that you enjoyed the cocktails at our Lounge Bar. However, we are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the hotel location and even more concerned to learn about the experience you encountered at the swimming pool. We have shared this feedback with our team and taken corrective action and thank you for highlighting this to us.
Please do accept our apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment you encountered during your stay. We do hope to have the chance to make it up to you on your return visit.

Best wishes,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,368
    1,443
    324
    80
    40
See reviews for
823
1,925
271
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on the first three nights of our honeymoon on a stopover at Bangkok. It was stunning! Would definitely recommend it. I loved the two pool area options u could laze by the 1st terrace pool with views of the city and river or the second pool was a world away from the city.... The garden pool was lovely and peaceful with lots of palm tree and plants!! On check in the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had been upgraded free of charge which was a lovely surprise! Our river view room was very large and spacious with a massive window with beautiful views of the city and river especially at night. We ate in the Thara Thong Restaurant twice, the food was delicious and sitting outside the views of the city lights and boats down the Chao Phraya River were spectacular. We loved this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandCtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This hotel remains one of the best in Bangkok in terms of location and excellent staff but despite having an "image remake" in the shape of ditching the traditional logos and adopting characterless blobby patterns on everything there is one serious defect- no hotel wide free wifi!

Free wifi exists in the rooms of the cheapest guest houses in Bangkok , in McDonald's and even on the remotest islands - so why can't the Sheraton manage to provide it for free?? Unless you have a company to pay for your wifi you have to leave your room and go downstairs to the lobby or restaurants and log on every time. I can't be the only one that finds this inconvenient - and it will be a deciding factor for future bookings for me.

This is a great hotel but really needs to address this gaping hole in their facilities on offer for guests.

Room Tip: As high a floor as possible - but all rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbaguk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton for the first leg of our honeymoon, on arrival we were immediately upgraded. The hotel did take 4000 bht from my credit card, for Anything we may buy at the hotel, but upon checking out we paid our bill in cash and we told it could take up to 7 days for a refund of the 4000, though we were not given anything to confirm this, it was however adjusted on my credit card a few days later ( but something to note for those who may have limited funds) so room was on the 18th floor and we had great views over the river with a floor to ceiling window, which transformed from day to night. The room was good size and had the most comfortable bed I have slept in for a while. The hotel had a free shuttle boat, which was a beautiful old converted rice barge, which ran every 30 mins, and took us to the main port where you could also catch the sky train. We made use of this every day. We ate at the hotel on our first evening and the food was good, my only negative is the hotel prices for food and drinks which are hiked up in these types of hotels, with compulsory 10% service charge and 7% tax, also the hotel was a little on the quiet side for us, during the evening, there may have only been 4 or 5 other parties having a meal or drink, unlike some of the other hotels further up the river. Overall we had a lovely stay and we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveladdict1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

A terrific choice if you’re staying by the river in Bangkok. The hotel is not flashy, but it’s clean and the views of the river are superb. They offer free shuttle boat service to the nearest Skytrain station.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PeanutButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We've stayed at this large hotel 4 times for conferences. The lobby is not that impressive for the size of the hotel especially when compared to the Shangri-La just down the river. The rooms are nice in that ALL are river view which is cool as you see how busy the city is from the luxury of your room. Rooms have all the normal amentties for a hotel of this kind. Excellent buffet breakfast and lunch. The hotel's shuttle boat to the localSky train station is lovely and such a nice respite from the heat and humidty when they give you a cool face cloth and cold water. The local area just outside the hotel is limited, but having the River City shopping mall beside offers a few distractions. Just beyond that is a local outdoor food alley which is a great find if you want some super cheap and yummy street food. There are also some local foot reflexology places that offer a fabulous end to your busy day. The outdoor pools are riverside, one with a view of the river and the other with a swimup bar and is surrounded by garden that gives a more private lush feel and very relaxing feeling removed from the chaos of the city. The service is excellent which is why our conference keeps going back to this hotel. They handle the volume of 700 delegates all needing lunch at the same time exceptionally well. The front office checkin is efficient and concierge is most helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panita B, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Lisa M,
Thank you for your stay with us and your review on Tripadvisor. I’m delighted you had a wonderful hospitality experience during your stay. Thank you again for your compliments about our efficient service during the busy lunch hour. We take the training for all employees seriously to ensure all our guest leaves the hotel with a smile. We look forward to have you back with us soon!

Regards,
Panita B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
231 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed with the family for three nights over the New Year. In summary we greatly enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and the attentiveness of the staff. We were informed that it was the first truly 5-star hotel in Bangkok - not sure if that's true but the decor would generally lead you to that conclusion. Like a number of other hotels here it has a great location beside the river and a boat stop right in front of the hotel - useful for getting uptown. River City Mall is next door but, although it has a few interesting shops (tailors, antiques and bric-a-brac) and some cafes/restaurants, it isn't the mall to visit to do all that shopping you may have planned on. Love the hotel reception area - lots of space and some lovely model Thai boats built into the wall to give some special atmosphere and a nice relaxing feel. Rooms on the SPG floor were good without being outstanding - good views over the river, everything was there and all was clean. Maybe the design is just showing it's age a little? We went to the Thai restaurant in the hotel and absolutely loved it! Three desktops in the first floor open area - usually at least one was free for internet usage. We didn't go to the pools - partly because we wanted to do the tourist bit in and around Bangkok - but thought them both to be a bit visually uninspiring - maybe again because of the age of the hotel. But they seemed to be well-patronised so they were probably fine. New Year's Eve dinner and fireworks alongside the river were spectacular. The food was unbeatable - I recall I had about 3 or 4 starter plates because what was on offer was so good! So, overall a very good hotel in a great location. Not much short of a 5 rating - just not quite.

Room Tip: Not even sure if it has rooms that don't overlook the river but, if so, always make sure you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panita B, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear OliverPerth WA,

Thank you for your great review and your stay with us. I’m very happy to hear we aced our services in many ways and your family had a wonderful time here at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers. I will pass your kind words to the F&B team. We look forward to see you again soon!

Regards,
Panita B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#120 of 852 in Bangkok
5,068 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
7,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 852 in Bangkok
4,191 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 852 in Bangkok
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Property: Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Address: 2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#46 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#63 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions.Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our six restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms.All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations, featuring subtle Thai style and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing