We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loy Krathong by the River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #71 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loy Krathong by the River”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I was fortunate enough to have organized an event for over 70 persons at Royal Orchid Sheraton during the Loy Krathong Festival. The festival could be translated "Floating Crown" or "Floating Decoration", and comes from the tradition of making buoyant decorations which are then floated on a river. It is a day to let go of unpleasant pasts and bad luck and "send" them away down the stream.

The location of the hotel is by the Chao Phraya River which I regard as the soul of the city, is just perfect for the festival. Although there were big groups of patrons visiting on the night, the hotel staff kept things well under control.

We had amazing Thai dinner at the Thara Thong Restaurant at the hotel, it is worth the experience - festivity wise and gastronomically. The famous Wat Arun Temple is only 10 minute boat ride away from the hotel. Best time to go is late afternoon followed by a Tom Yum Martini at sala rattanakosin bar opposite the temple and enjoy the breath taking sunset view of the river and temple.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odetorei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Odetorei,

My sincere thanks for your kind words. I couldn’t agree with you more, being located by the Chao Phraya River gives you sense of experiencing the true soul of the city and there is no better location to celebrate special occasions such as the Loy Krathong Festival. I am delighted you had a great time during these festivities and that the experience at our traditional Thai Restaurant was amazing. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and wish you the best for the Seasonal Holidays.

Warm regards,
Claire D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,368
    1,443
    324
    80
    40
See reviews for
823
1,925
271
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis/saint paul
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was impressed by the staff a couple of times. Once I was doing some work in the lobby early in the morning and someone brought me a bottle of water. Very thoughtful.

The rooms are very nice, I loved the view of the river from my bed. The breakfast was nice and the tropical pool was a nice place to swim and read. I would like it to be easier to get to the water taxi pier, but after a few days I figured it out.

Being located on the river is nice when your dealing with a crazy city and would like to relax but for business travelers it may not be so convenient.

I got a pedicure, it was fine but nothing impressive. They have a rooftop area where you can get a massage, and I'll bet that's nice.

If you walk outside to Rivercity, you'll walk by a bunch of street food vendors and places to get a soda or a coconut. I'm a sucker for a fresh coconut so I found a lady who I bought from each day. Also you can walk away from the river and find a bunch of places to get a massage. Also something you must do while in Thailand. My Mom loved her foot massage, and I loved every massage I found there. If it's too much, the Thai word for pain is "Jep", use that and they'll back off.

During the same trip I also stayed at the Peninsula, and it's hard to compare the two but I enjoyed both.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear harado,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. I was delighted to read your feedback and to learn you had a great stay with us. I must agree with you, the views from the room and even from the bed are spectacular! Many thanks for your kind words and best wishes for a wonderful Holiday and a Happy New Year!

Claire D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

From the moment you enter till the moment you leave it is like you are the only guests. The up grade for breakfast and the tower is worth it not that is a lot of Dollars. One of the top 3 accomadations have stayed at

Room Tip: go the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Reg G,

Thank you for your kind words and praises. I am very happy to learn that you had a great stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed the Club Lounge and the services and value it provides to guest. I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon and wish you the best in the meantime.

Claire D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel, lovely staff and great location (2 min walk from the public ferry) the room its self was lovely with a great big window and fantastic views of the Chao phraya river. We ate in the Thara Thong restaurant and at first we were the only ones in the restaurant which was unfortunate but a few more couples came in by the time we were leaving, the food made up for the lack of atmosphere. The pool area was lovely and the service around the pool was very good, we also had a drink at the Sambal bar and grill and this was very relaxing with great views. The only downside was that it seemed more of a business hotel than leisure, despite this I would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear lizzie j,

I enjoyed reading your feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It’s great to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and especially enjoyed the fantastic views and facilities. Best wishes for the holidays. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back next year.

Best regards,
Claire D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Royal Orchid & can honestly say it is a lovely place to stay whilst in Bangkok.
The rooms are well appointed and ours had a wonderful view of the river, from which you can see all the traffic day & night. Two very good pools, with one allowing you to sit & view the river traffic as well.

Breakfast excellent, with choices to suit all tastes. Staff very nice & friendly.

Great entertainment in bar during the evening with live groups most of the evenings.

Bangkok is a city of contradictions, poverty & opulence side by side. Limousines & Tuk Tuk's next to each other in traffic...................Glamorous & expensive restaurants and their counterparts, the open air dining stalls on the streets. China town is particularly good if you want good food at good prices.

Tip for taxi's..............................Always get them to put the meter on, otherwise the will just invent a figure. A short ride of 2 miles should cost no more than 70-75 baht, which around £1.40.................................

Getting around is not a problem, with river taxis coming along every 5-10 minutes or so, just get on and pay when requested to.

Room Tip: Always ask for a river facing room & as high as you can get..................................
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timjoe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

From the AP pick-up to the reception to the room I payed and Upgrade for the business rooms, all perfect. A lounge access with plenty of breakfast and more than snacks and drinks in the afternoon ppl used for dinner and drinking, all was perfect with competent, kind and attentive staff without exeption any. Special thanks to Lin the manager of Thsra Thong resto she sponsored a birthday cake and a song on my wife's birthday

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masmiguelDusseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear masmiguelDusseldorf,

Many thanks for your great comments. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience at our Club Lounge and found the service attentive and kind. I have passed on your kind words to the team here and your special thanks to Lin. We all hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Claire D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Echoing many other reviews really, the hotel is ideally situated for a break in Bangkok. We had a lovely room with views upstream on the river. There's always something happening to catch your attention whilst relaxing in the room. Breakfast was excellent, hotel facilities superb. I was almost tempted to knock a mark off for the lack of free wifi in the room, the superb facility of the hotel river bus cancelled that out though! Wouldn't hesitate to stay again and probably will do next trip out there. We also found a lovely French bakery underneath the hotel opposite the shopping mall, marvellous cakes! You can also buy a bag of bread and feed the catfish in the river, fun way to spend 5 minutes.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 5269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#120 of 852 in Bangkok
5,071 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
7,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 852 in Bangkok
4,193 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 852 in Bangkok
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Property: Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Address: 2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#46 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#63 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions.Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our six restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms.All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations, featuring subtle Thai style and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelbag, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing