We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great place - great staff"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #70 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Overall I enjoyed my short stay (3 nights) at the Sheraton Royal Orchid in Bangkok, just over a month ago (I was there for a conference) My room on the 17th floor had a breathtaking view of the Chao Praya river; the room itself was fine,quiet and with a very comfortable bed; missing toiletry items were swiftly provided when requested , and the buffet breakfast was excellent! The hotel is very well situated, within walking distance of Silom Road and close to the very frequent public river boat services which left one at an overground rail transit stop within a few minutes – or went upstream to China Town, the pagodas and the Royal Palace. The riverside bar is a wonderful place to relax after a busy day, gazing at the busy life on the water and the night skyline…
Slight shortcomings: breakfast room is rather cramped and noisy (low ceilings) and I personally do not like fitted carpeting in rooms: parket floors would be welcome (as well as being more hygienic) – a point to bear in mind when a refurbishing programme is scheduled.But I am aware this is a personal preference, maybe not shared by others...
But in any hotel what really makes a difference to the guest experience at the end of the day is not so much the fixtures and facilities as the attitude of the staff – and there you get full marks from me – everyone was delightful, efficient and helpful, from reception to bar and restaurant staff to porters and people cleaning my room, I wish I remembered all their names! My stay coincided with considerable unrest in Bangkok, and the hotel management provided an information desk on developments unfolding in the city (a very smart idea!) which was manned by a young member of your staff – Mildly I believe her name is – who I must commend: she not only provided timely information and practical advice on where it was safe to go, but was very friendly and went out of her way to give me useful tourist tips and on being asked also gave me a very articulate and neutral view of developments in the country. All in fluent English …and even managed some Spanish, a nice surprise for someone living in Spain. A big thank you to her!
My bottom line therefore would be: gratitude to you for making my stay a pleasant one, and advice to management: look after your staff! They are your most valuable resource…they do a splendid and yet difficult job with great professionalism
I would certainly recommend the hotel and wouldn’t hesitate to return there if my travels ever take me back to Bangkok…
Felix O

Room Tip: Top floors overlooking the river ( I was on 17th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Felix O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,746 - 1,752 of 4,713 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Royal Orchid Sheraton Towers is in the BEST position in Bangkok. All rooms have a view of the river. The hotel itself is 5 star. Rooms are well appointed, maintained and cleaned. The staff are all exceptionally efficient and friendly. The hotel has its own beautiful little ferry which makes the 10 minute trip to the central pier, past the Mandarin Oriental and the Shangri La Hotels which are neighbours. Chinatown is around the corner and the train line is easy to access from Central Pier. The Towers Lounge is exceptional. The view, the food and staff are amongst the best I have experienced anywhere. The foyer/lobby lounge had some very good evening entertainment. Check in/check out is quick. I will definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear LVJS.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this kind review on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear such positive feedback and to know that we were able to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to having you back as our guest and wish you all the best in the meantime.

Kind regards,
Claire D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great service, great rooms overlooking the river. Meals to die for with incredible views. The staff where incredible and very accommodating. Definite must if you are in Bangkok. The breakfast has to be one of the best ever that I have seen and tasted.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the river side the views are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We used this hotel for its location and had two nights on our arrival in Thailand and one night at the end of our stay.Unfortuately our booking could not be found for either stay and we had prepaid through Trailfinders and booked the hotel 8 months earlier.It was sorted out nicely and we cannot fault the reception staff.Trailfinders in the meantime are checking all the paperwork to establish the cause The rooms have great views and the hotel is next to the ferry to cross the river and also a river boat station which we made use of as the river is quicker sometimes than the roads.to get to some of the sights eg the royal palace.We thought like previous commentators that the baths should be replaced by walk in showers but thats just a preference .The room was fine and we had great viewsThe beds were excellent and we slept well.We had problems with breakfast service both mornings( the food was fine and a great selection) and we received an email whilst on our travels to comment on the hotel and we pointed out our findings.On our return the food and beverage director called us and personally apologised and our breakfast on our last morning was absolutely fine- this is what I call professional management..I thoroughly recommend the hotel and will return again this year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Bangkok is dirty, smoggy and clogged with traffic. My advice is to stay in the best accommodations you can afford, so you have somewhere to retreat.

This hotel is right on the river with its own ferry and next to other ferry stops. This is important because you want to avoid traveling on the roads as much as possible. The food is excellent, complimentary breakfast is substantial. Wifi is free in the lobby. The hotel is kept in spotless condition and the staff is wonderful, except for one of the concierges who was always snarky. The only drawback is that it is large enough to host professional meetings which gives the place a bland sort of atmosphere.

I would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Macrosantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here on many occasions. Have never had a complaint about the place. Ate at the Italian restaurant which I couldn't fault. Pool areas are excellent. Never too crowded unlike Shangri-La which seems to always be quite packed. Have been to Sheraton for business and pleasure. The pool area is a great way to unwind after a days work or to relax on a leisure break. There are only 2 things I am not so impressed about. Price of beer (but this the same in any big hotel chain in BKK. The other is the bath towels. Very thin/small and old looking. A hotel of this standard should address the towel situation.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deegenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Deegenski,

On behalf of the entire team at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, we would like to thank you for your support and loyalty. We have taken note of your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

All the best,
Claire D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

High quality hotel in wonderful setting by river. Generally high quality facilities but the bathroom had a shower over the bath and a very high step to get into it .... walk-in showers should be standard in high quality hotels. Bath towels were very small and quite thin .... they need replacing. Most staff were good but the bar staff on several occasions refilled the glass of one person and then walked away with the bottle to have a chat with another waiter !! Food in all restaurants tried was good.

Room Tip: Don't expect tomato juice at breakfast unless you want to pay extra for it. The pool is great a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elisabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Gordon P,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers during your recent travels to Thailand. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your constructive feedback which I have shared with the rest of the team. Do let us know if you decide to return to Bangkok as we would be delighted to have you back as our guest.

Best regards,
Claire D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#126 of 889 in Bangkok
5,676 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,626 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
lebua at State Tower
lebua at State Tower
#84 of 889 in Bangkok
7,493 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Address: 2, Soi Charoen Krung 30 | Bang Rak, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#45 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#63 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £76 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions. Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms. All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations with a subtle Thai style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing