We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #73 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Stayed with wife and 3 year old on 15th floor Dec 25 to 28 2009. Room had full glass view of river that was absolutely stunning. Hotel was kind enough to provide extra bed for the child free of cost when we booked about a month earlier. This made the room full but it was still spacious enough. Very clean and comfortable and only slightly noisy at night from passing boats with loud music, but this was hardly an issue. The room did seem renovated and there is some renovation going on but we never even noticed it. Buffet breakfast was included with the rate we took and this was excellent, ample choice and 5 star. Room service was very good, timely as they promise and very reasonably priced for both Thai and western food. Location is great on the river and many sights are close and it is very cheap and convenient to use river 'taxis' with a stop just around the corner. Saw Grand Palace etc. this way. Sheraton shuttle is very elegant and will also take you to nearest sky train. Our son loved the Siam paragon foodcourt and the Aquarium, well worth an outing for the young ones as a break from the cultural sights. We found the reviews to be very accurate and totally recommend the hotel. You can access internet for free one hour per day on first floor, good enough for us as leisure stay. We did not have DVD or CD player in room and did not ask, had a portable for the kid.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M0ntrealers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,936 - 2,942 of 4,781 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

selected the hotel for the location on the river and its pools. As expected, the place offered the perfect combination on city and swimming holiday. Both pool areas are great and having a (nearly empty) garden area surrounding one pool is fantastic. Nice sauna is hidden in the toilets near the terrace pool. Shuttle boat is excellent and very convenient to get to the Skytrain. Hotel manager really nice and hands-on. Certain areas are still being renovated but the place is big enough and you never see/hear/feel this. Breakfast more than enough choice. While the hotel is quite large you never get the feeling of it being crowded. Reception very efficient as is concierge.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Working in travel myself I had heard good reports from The Royal Orchid Sheraton and decided to stay here with my friends for 4 nights in November! Well the good reports I had heard were not wrong and I can honestly say I could not have chosen a better hotel in Bangkok! The location was perfect, giving you the chance to enjoy the fantastic breakfast whilst watching all the activity up and down the river. Having been lucky enough to experience many various 5 star hotels throughout the world, this is up there with the rest. The staff were helpful, friendly and always had a beaming smile. I decided to stay in The Towers Executive Room and the upgrade was definately worth it. Club benefits allowed you to a private check in, free dailly internet use and drinks and snacks at certain times of the day and night. These little extras really made a difference! The pool, gym and facilities were ideal and again excellent service whilst using these. The restaurants and bars gave a perfect selection. Finally the rooms - 10/10 and the views? stunning.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed here for three nights just before Christmas in a Towers Executive Room. It's definitely worth upgrading to one of these rooms, lovely rooms with excellent views and access to the Towers Executive Lounge which includes separate check in and check out in the Towers Lounge. The hotel and staff were wonderful, lovely atmosphere and excellent breakfast! We didn't eat any other meals there, but the restaurants looked lovely and the terrace bar - we called it the chill out zone - is an excellent way to end the evening. However make sure you have plenty of mozzi repellant, I think with it's location on the river it attracts them - they seemed to find me particularly tasteful and a few became infected - we were told that this year is a particularly bad year for bites and I would say this is true as we have been at the same time of year before and I can't remember ever getting bites like the ones I have had this time. Back to the hotel - no complaints at all, two beautiful pool areas and a nice, if small, gym looking over one of the pools. Every member of staff was excellent and polite, especially in the Towers Lounge, it's worth the upgrade even if just for the happy hour each evening where nibbles and drinks (including anything alcoholic) are free.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank btheset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

It was my first time in Bangkok and to catch something of the atmonsphere without feeling lost in the rush of this mega-city, the Royal Orchid is ideal. Its great location at the Chao Praya helps you to enjoy a peaceful and calm stay while you can watch the busy river life that is just unfolding in front of your eyes. Having breakfast or dinner right at the river is just wonderful! The quality and variety of the food was simply excellent!
If you want to explore Bangkok's life, you can just walk down one of the streets or take the free boat to the Sky train.
The only thing I didn't like was the temperature inside the hotel which sometimes made you feel like sitting in a fridge. Having a drink at the bar required you to put on some warm clothes-something stupid in that hot country! You also cannot open a window and depend on the a/c to get some air. Terrible but unfortunately normal in those big hotels.
Nevertheless, I would always choose the Royal Orchid again also because of its extremely helpful staff. When you take a cab they take down the number of the car in case something happens or you forget something there.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Location
The view from our hotel was fantastic. You could just sit and watch the world go by on the river. We chose the hotel for this. We paid for the premium room which was worth the view. Good central location. We use the free ferry to the BTS.

Rooms
Good size for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children). Not many rooms in Thailand allow 4 people in a room.

Breakfast/Resturants
We paid extra as I was not sure how the kids would go with thai food day in day out. Good selection at Breakfast. However, if you stay in a Hotel like this expect to pay western prices. We had the room service for the children one evening as they were exhausted and the childrens menu has some good options.

Extras
Pool was lovely. I just lazed on the sunbeds looking at the activity on the river while the kids swam. Free internet access was very handy (1 hour every day). Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brisvegas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We only stayed 1 night at this hotel before returning to the UK and it was the second hotel in Bangkok (The other being Le Meridian)
The reception area for this hotel was fab with lovely boutique shops. Our room overlooked the river and the view was stunning especially at night with all the boats lit.
The mini bar was ourageously priced as was the breakfast so we didn't bother with either. There is a 7/11 shop just down the road!!!
We took the complimentary boat to the metro which was easy and went to the night market. There is a classy looking shopping mall next door to the hotel called River City but we didn't make it there before it closed at 10pm.
The pool area was very pleasant and we were served with fresh fruit whilst sat there which was very nice.
Overall a pleasant nights stay

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue and Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#137 of 891 in Bangkok
5,796 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 891 in Bangkok
8,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
lebua at State Tower
lebua at State Tower
#82 of 891 in Bangkok
7,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Address: 2, Soi Charoen Krung 30 | Bang Rak, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#46 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#66 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £70 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions. Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms. All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations with a subtle Thai style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing