We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“River, views and pools make this hotel a good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #68 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“River, views and pools make this hotel a good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

I returned to The Royal Orchid Sheraton after approximately 18 years to find it was still a very impressive hotel. Located on the banks of the bustling Chao Phraya River in the heart of Bangkok it offers a stylish, well-located option with good pools and greenery.
The approach to the hotel is via some interesting small streets. For a better impression, arrive by boat on the river. Attentive doormen and porters staff the entrance driveway. The lobby is suitably impressive and still looks modern, if not cutting edge, despite its age. Our late night check in was handled efficiently once our ears became tuned to the Thai English pronunciation.
Our room was a Junior Suite on the 21st floor. The best feature was the scenic view along the river. A range of boats including Longboats, hotel shuttles, dinner cruisers, barges and ferries kept the view interesting day and night. We could see other hotels dotted along the river including the Millennium Hilton, Mandarin Oriental, Shangri La and The Peninsula. The room had a separate main bedroom and enough space in the lounge area for a child’s bed with room to move. A large flat screen panel in each room provided the usual range of entertainment options. A good-sized safe with a power point to recharge a laptop while stored securely was provided.
The bathroom was a comfortable size, but the glass shower had a gap in the door, which let water out onto the floor. The frustrating absence of any drawers or shelves to place personal items was a problem in the bathroom, we had noticed in many hotels and would like someone to explain why hotel bathrooms seem designed this way.
There were two pools, the first was rectangular, approximately 25m long and 2m deep at one end. This was quite suitable for morning lap swimming. The second pool was a lagoon style family friendly 50m plus pool with wet bar and spa pool. Umbrellas and palm trees provided good shade around the lagoon pool. The nice thing about the greenery around the pool was that it gave the feeling of escaping the busy bustle of Bangkok, it could not however dull the roar of longboats and ferries close by on the river.

The breakfast area was vast and had indoor and outdoor seating. The restaurant was well staffed and the food was fresh, inviting and plentiful. I did not dine in the other hotel restaurants but the usual range of casual to expensive was represented.

The concierge provided accurate information but often seemed to need to search extensively to find basic information, such as a map of the Chatachuk Markets (a request they must assist with many times each weekend).
The hotel was within short taxi rides of most attractions in Bangkok. Take the pink-metered taxis, as the drivers seem happier to use the meter. Other taxis will ask for 200% of the metered fee and can be bargained down quickly to 100 – 150% of the metered fee. Once a fee is established the incentive is to reach he destination promptly and directly, so may reduce the risk of the run around to wind the meter up. Beware getting caught in the Bangkok traffic if you use a taxi.
The most efficient and enjoyable mode of transport is by the regular shuttle boats which ferry hotel guests to and from the sky train terminal 8 minutes down river. The sky train or ‘BTS’ is a modern raised railway, which reaches the main shopping and business districts for a 40 baht ticket. Try going next door to the hotel where the River City shopping complex also offers a shuttle boat with a similar route.

If you want to go hotel hopping by the river I suggest floating across the river to the Millennium Hilton, a new tower with a UFO-esque bar perched atop it. The 360 bar offers great views and great cocktails. Try the Mandarin Oriental for high tea in the Author’s Wing for a traditional Colonial style hotel experience.

The Royal Orchid Sheraton is still a good hotel after all these years. It is well located in a main international hotel area and has the benefits of the river for transport and views.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,337
    1,421
    315
    78
    39
See reviews for
809
1,891
270
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

Nice hotel, in a great location. The food and service was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great base for visiting the sights of Bangkok

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Home-In-The-Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

Stayed with wife and 3 year old on 15th floor Dec 25 to 28 2009. Room had full glass view of river that was absolutely stunning. Hotel was kind enough to provide extra bed for the child free of cost when we booked about a month earlier. This made the room full but it was still spacious enough. Very clean and comfortable and only slightly noisy at night from passing boats with loud music, but this was hardly an issue. The room did seem renovated and there is some renovation going on but we never even noticed it. Buffet breakfast was included with the rate we took and this was excellent, ample choice and 5 star. Room service was very good, timely as they promise and very reasonably priced for both Thai and western food. Location is great on the river and many sights are close and it is very cheap and convenient to use river 'taxis' with a stop just around the corner. Saw Grand Palace etc. this way. Sheraton shuttle is very elegant and will also take you to nearest sky train. Our son loved the Siam paragon foodcourt and the Aquarium, well worth an outing for the young ones as a break from the cultural sights. We found the reviews to be very accurate and totally recommend the hotel. You can access internet for free one hour per day on first floor, good enough for us as leisure stay. We did not have DVD or CD player in room and did not ask, had a portable for the kid.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M0ntrealers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

selected the hotel for the location on the river and its pools. As expected, the place offered the perfect combination on city and swimming holiday. Both pool areas are great and having a (nearly empty) garden area surrounding one pool is fantastic. Nice sauna is hidden in the toilets near the terrace pool. Shuttle boat is excellent and very convenient to get to the Skytrain. Hotel manager really nice and hands-on. Certain areas are still being renovated but the place is big enough and you never see/hear/feel this. Breakfast more than enough choice. While the hotel is quite large you never get the feeling of it being crowded. Reception very efficient as is concierge.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

Working in travel myself I had heard good reports from The Royal Orchid Sheraton and decided to stay here with my friends for 4 nights in November! Well the good reports I had heard were not wrong and I can honestly say I could not have chosen a better hotel in Bangkok! The location was perfect, giving you the chance to enjoy the fantastic breakfast whilst watching all the activity up and down the river. Having been lucky enough to experience many various 5 star hotels throughout the world, this is up there with the rest. The staff were helpful, friendly and always had a beaming smile. I decided to stay in The Towers Executive Room and the upgrade was definately worth it. Club benefits allowed you to a private check in, free dailly internet use and drinks and snacks at certain times of the day and night. These little extras really made a difference! The pool, gym and facilities were ideal and again excellent service whilst using these. The restaurants and bars gave a perfect selection. Finally the rooms - 10/10 and the views? stunning.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed here for three nights just before Christmas in a Towers Executive Room. It's definitely worth upgrading to one of these rooms, lovely rooms with excellent views and access to the Towers Executive Lounge which includes separate check in and check out in the Towers Lounge. The hotel and staff were wonderful, lovely atmosphere and excellent breakfast! We didn't eat any other meals there, but the restaurants looked lovely and the terrace bar - we called it the chill out zone - is an excellent way to end the evening. However make sure you have plenty of mozzi repellant, I think with it's location on the river it attracts them - they seemed to find me particularly tasteful and a few became infected - we were told that this year is a particularly bad year for bites and I would say this is true as we have been at the same time of year before and I can't remember ever getting bites like the ones I have had this time. Back to the hotel - no complaints at all, two beautiful pool areas and a nice, if small, gym looking over one of the pools. Every member of staff was excellent and polite, especially in the Towers Lounge, it's worth the upgrade even if just for the happy hour each evening where nibbles and drinks (including anything alcoholic) are free.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank btheset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

It was my first time in Bangkok and to catch something of the atmonsphere without feeling lost in the rush of this mega-city, the Royal Orchid is ideal. Its great location at the Chao Praya helps you to enjoy a peaceful and calm stay while you can watch the busy river life that is just unfolding in front of your eyes. Having breakfast or dinner right at the river is just wonderful! The quality and variety of the food was simply excellent!
If you want to explore Bangkok's life, you can just walk down one of the streets or take the free boat to the Sky train.
The only thing I didn't like was the temperature inside the hotel which sometimes made you feel like sitting in a fridge. Having a drink at the bar required you to put on some warm clothes-something stupid in that hot country! You also cannot open a window and depend on the a/c to get some air. Terrible but unfortunately normal in those big hotels.
Nevertheless, I would always choose the Royal Orchid again also because of its extremely helpful staff. When you take a cab they take down the number of the car in case something happens or you forget something there.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#119 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,960 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,127 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Property: Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Address: 2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#61 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions.Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our six restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms.All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations, featuring subtle Thai style and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing