We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the royal orchid !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #74 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2006

i loved the royal orchid sheraton it is a really top class hotel. I am also going to stay there again this christmas. i booked with octopustravel.co.uk for this hotel and breakfast was included which was this amazing buffet breakfast. The food is really good and the staff are really friendly and nice. i went with my son and he loved it and he does like his hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 06charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,152 - 3,158 of 4,780 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2006

We stayed for five nights from the 11th Nov. It was just fabulous up in the tower rooms, separate check in, free laundry, internet use, tea & coffee all day and wine / spirits plus canapes between 17.30 and 19.00. They couldn't have done any more for us. We were on the 28th floor and had a fantastic view of the river. There's a free boat shuttle which connects to the sky train so you can get everywhere easily. Two wonderful swimming pools to chill out after a hard days sightseeing. They even stored our cases for us whilst we toured Thailand and Cambodia.
Eat out at the restaurant Sala Dim Ran (part of the oriental - real disappointment) , Cabbages and Condoms was good, and the night market at Lumpini park was really good. Don't buy anything at the market round Patpong everything is 3 times the price of elsewhere. Chatuchak is worth a visit if you're there over the weekend. Grand palace is stunning, and don't forget Wat pho which is just over the road from it.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank Jamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2006

The hotel service was wonderful. However, I couldn't recommend this hotel for a few reasons:

1) The rooms are a little damp. I am sure that this is from the showers.

2) While I selected and booked the room, they refused to take my name. Upon checking in, they put my husband's name on the room. That was a complete slap in the face. They should be welcomed into the 21st century. Women do have jobs and can pay for hotels these days.

On a good note, their breakfasts are excellent. There is a vast array of fresh fruit; the soups with shrimp are wonderful (20 shrimps per bowl!); omlet station; Asian noodles, etc...

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank globalkhakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2006

Based on my travels to Bangkok, I am absolutely convinced that you want to stay on the Chao Phraya river, particularly if you are in Bangkok for tourist reasons and want to spend most of your time doing the typical tourism activities (such as the Grand Palace, Wat Po). This basically limits you to five options: the Sheraton, the Oriental, the Shangra-La, the Pennisula, and the Hilton.

If money were no object, this is not the best of the five. For example, the Sheraton is clearly inferior to the Oriental (but virtually all hotels are inferior to the Oriental). But I had no complaints with the Sheraton -- this is a high-quality, western luxury facilities with excellent facilities and a very helpful staff. The views, in particular, are fantastic. And for starwood members, the hotel requires remarkably few points to get a free room -- it is a real bargain. The hotel also has very good internet access.

One other tip -- as an alternative to the hotel buffet breakfast, there is a French patissiere on the northern side of the hotel -- next to the cross-ferry ferry station. The patissiere is surprisingly good, I've had worse croissants in Paris.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank ObsessedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2006

We had a fantastic experience with this hotel in every way. Stayed 2 nights in the towers with a starwood upgrade. I highly recommend this if you can afford it. It was entirely worth it.

After our taxi driver started driving in circles, we walked the remainder of the way to the hotel. Walked up to the starwood desk, gave my name and without delay was escorted to the 26th floor lounge for cold towels and drinks while they processed my registration. Excellent service from the front desk and concierge, best continental breakfast I have ever had, very good room and good location. The pool was beautiful and a welcome respite from the heat although the food there was predictably overpriced. This was truly an oasis in BKK for my wife and I.

Booked our stay using starwood points for 3000 points + 1500 towers upgrade

Tips for your stay:
-use the water taxi and skytrain if at all possible. far faster and less stressfull than taxis
-free internet is on the 2nd floor
-they have a nice workout facility if you desire, right by the terrace pool
-the garden pool is much nicer than the terrace pool (IMO)
-if you need a taxi to the airport, let the doorman hail it. he will make sure you get a metered one

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank ksose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2006

We stayed at this property for 5 nights and from the brilliant check-in to our departure it was great.
We had a suite which always had flowers and fruit in all the rooms.
Being close to the river it gave the opportunity to explore the river and its surrounds.
Breakfast buffet had everything that one might want
At all times the staff were very professional.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

Fantastic hotel, Great location with lovely views over the river.

Pools were fab and felt tranquil. Hard to believe you were so close to the hustle of Bangkok.

We got around by river bus and there is a stop right next to the hotel down a little alley - really easy to use.

Rooms were nicely decorated, lovely bathrooms and really friendly helpful staff.

Can't praise it too highly and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Spliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#137 of 891 in Bangkok
5,794 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,740 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
lebua at State Tower
lebua at State Tower
#82 of 891 in Bangkok
7,550 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Address: 2, Soi Charoen Krung 30 | Bang Rak, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#46 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#67 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £55 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions. Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms. All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations with a subtle Thai style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing