We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #67 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great choice in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Stayed at this hotel at the start and end of our holiday in Cambodia and Thailand. The location is excellent overlooking the river. Transport both across the river and along it is very easy. Ferries stop outside the hotel , and the hotel provides a free boat across the river. The two swimming pools are superb, a very welcome attraction after arriving at the hotel after a long flight. Breakfasts are excellent with great variety. Our room on the two occasions we stayed there were very good. Well equipped, spotlessly clean with very comfy bed and pillows. We found two very good eateries near the hotel. Harmoniqes. To find this turn right out of the hotel, turn right again, walk for abought 10 minutes, then walk through the Chinese temple arch. Fantastic Thai food. The second place," Be My Guest." Cross the river on the public ferry, on getting off turn left along the path by the river. You eat great Thai food in A beer garden! Stay at The Sheraton Orchid. It has much to offer. We will return next time we are in Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrewsburyBoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,339
    1,421
    315
    78
    39
See reviews for
809
1,893
270
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

There’s no doubt that the Sheraton was once a jewel in Bangkok’s hotel scene; probably circa 1977 I’d say. Now, some thirty-odd years later, things have changed and the sheen is quite dull.

We booked this hotel because the SPG website listed it as “Newly refurbished” and we got a fairly reasonable “Launch” rate. We expected a shiny and newly-renovated place, all modern and lovely. What we found was very different.

The Sheraton, like many of the river-side hotels, isn’t in a particularly smart area. As you drive along the neighbourhood street, there’s little more than wholesale jewellery shops which a look a bit dusty, grey and dull. There’s little excitement or ‘colour’ which one would normally associate with Thailand’s capital. It’s like somebody closed up shop and moved to the smarter side of town. Don’t expect an array of eateries or tourist-friendly shops either. That’s not the vibe in this neighbourhood. Still, for little more than £4 you can be whisked off in a taxi to somewhere more hip.

So, after arriving at the hotel’s lobby, it’s clear that it has absolutely not seen a major refurbishment – or certainly the common areas haven’t. But not to worry, the room may be a different story. It’s quite ‘old skool’ hotel and many of the (used-to-be-very-posh) shops off the lobby have long since closed down. The good old days have been and gone.

Check in completed, we are shown to our room. The corridors of our floor (28th) are utilitarian and feel like a 1960s government office. They’ve tried to jazz it up with a ‘fashionable’ carpet that seems more ‘home makeover’ than five-star hotel. Needless to say, it doesn’t work. The room is dark, gloomy and on the small side; there’s a stencil on the wall as you walk in, again, more reminiscent of ‘Changing Rooms’ than anything else. It’s clear that these rooms have seen more of a redecoration than refurbishment, and those two things are very different. On the plus side, the bathroom does have a separate shower with good pressure. But it does feel a bit “jazzed up”. Are you getting the picture?

The furniture in the room has seen better days and, somewhat oddly, the safe is located in a drawer which you pull out to expose. The room lacks a feel of luxury and is more 3/4 star than 5. ON the plus side, the bed/bedding was good and very comfortable.
As expected in Thailand, the staff were friendly and the service was very good. We had access to the Executive Lounge and the guys in there were very chatty and happy to help. However, as is custom these days, there looks to have been cut-backs and there were only two people running the (large) area. The ‘Happy Hour’ in the Exec Lounge was a welcome benefit and drinks were offered freely and often, including wine (which is quite expensive in Thailand). Nibbles were OK but nothing to shout about. Asia Exec Lounges normally excel at these sort of details but not at the Sheraton. That said, it’s always a bonus to have Exec lounge access.

There’s a sea-water pool and a chlorine one too – not particularly big and I can imagine there would be a scrum if the hotel was busy. Nice waterfront setting though. We did have lunch poolside one day and was surprised by how expensive a plate of (arguably good) noodles were – but then that’s how hotels make their money right?

In conclusion, I wouldn’t stay at this hotel again and would be hard-pressed to recommend it. It’s had it’s day and that was a long, long time ago. But is the price suits you...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZippyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina_Liu, Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear ZippyLondon,

We are delighted that you returned to stay at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers after many years since opening back in 1983.

The hotel did indeed recently complete a 2-year refurbishment project with a spend of over Baht 1.1 billion (approx. $35 million) covering all Guestrooms and Bathrooms, The Terrace Pool, Towers Lounge, Sambal Restaurant, Link@Sheraton and the Building Facade. It is correct that we did not do the entire hotel otherwise and we are sorry to learn that the designs did not suit your preferences.

As a riverside hotel, the surrounding area offers a different local charm and environment than the city center locations. Moreover, we are situated on the city's oldest road in Bangkok where many historical buildings are located and the Grand Palace, only 5km or a short boat ride away. The hotel also offers complimentary shuttle boat service to the skytrain station and hopefully, you had the opportunity to try this during your stay.

It is good to know however, that our services met with your expectations and that our staff took good care of you.

Should you return to Bangkok in the near future, we certainly hope that you will re-consider our resort style property with riverside location depending on the purpose of your stay. All of us here at the Royal Orchid Sheraton will do our best to ensure an enjoyable stay!

Sincerely,
Tina Liu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

I agree with real_nemo this property is not up to Sheraton standard.

I was on 5D 4N trip with my friends in Bangkok. Since we been to Bangkok couple of time we though this time we gonna stay in nicer hotel so we book 4D 3N at Courtyard Bangkok and spend the last day (2D 1N) at Royal Orchid Sheraton (just to enjoy the magnificent view of Chao Phraya River) and I regret the decision to choose this hotel.

everything about the room is great except the cleanliness to my surprise when I saw the coffee maker is filthy and dusty looks like its haven't been clean in ages. Since we still wanna enjoy the coffee I took clean it up myself using almost 1/4 of the tissue.

I send an email to the hotel together with the picture and they reply after 16hrs at 3.30PM and asking if I could provide my room no though I clearly end the email with my name.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertoCairel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina_Liu, Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear RobertoCairel,

We regret to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers.

Upon receipt of your email late night, we attempted to look in to the details with relevant department heads concerend by morning. Unfortunately, no one was aware of this incident and we were not able to locate your name nor room number from the email which was not signed. Moreover, the name in your email address was not the same as the registered name on booking.

However, our main concern was to get in touch with you for more information in order to take corrective action and to apologize for any inconveniences caused. While it is our practice to clean, replace or re-set any equipment used, this matter has been highlighted with our housekeeping team for better attention.

We thank you for your feedback and would like to assure you that with strict compliance policies and practices, safety and hygiene standards are taken very seriously by the hotel and by Starwood Hotels and Resorts in general.

Sincerely,
Tina Liu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Royal Orchid Sheraton for five nights during the Chinese New Year holidays.

I wouldn't have thought that having a river view in a crowded city like Bangkok would be anything to look forward to, but sitting on the armchair looking out at the Chao Phraya river was a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

The room was tastefully decorated, with wonderful reading lamps that are actually useful -- wall-mounted ones that can be adjusted to point anywhere. The bed was soft and comfortable, but the extra-large pillows were a little too high to sleep on comfortably, so you may have to request smaller ones. The curtains were well-designed, very good at shutting off outside light -- a little too good in fact, because we easily overslept until we decided to use an alarm to wake up in the mornings!

Service was impressively prompt. Every time we made a call with a request, someone would be at our door in 5 minutes. In-room dining was excellent as well. The samosas were the best we have ever had. The massaman curry was also good. However, the satay was not very warm when it arrived, so not everything was perfect. We received bottles of water with each order of in-room dining, which was very much appreciated.

The breakfast spread was comprehensive, thoughtfully satisfying Asian and Western palates, as far as I can tell. There were many seats in the alfresco area, and it was quite pleasant having breakfast in the sunshine by the river. Despite all the boat traffic, the Chao Phraya river is surprisingly alive with fish, and you can see some jumping about. Quite lovely!

We greatly enjoyed our time at the hotel and would really love to stay here again.

Here are some quibbles I have:
1) The sliding door for the bathroom was not secured to the floor properly, so the door swung sideways when we closed it. That caused unnecessary noise and disturbance when used it in the middle of the night.

2) The pillows that came with the room were too big. When we requested smaller ones, we asked for non-allergenic pillows as my boyfriend was suffering from a cough. However, they were extremely dusty (we could tell because the reading lamp highlighted the floating dust!) and caused my boyfriend's cough to worsen. However, we told the staff about it the next day and the replacements were clean.

3) We asked about a floating market tour at the boat service counter of the hotel. We were told it took about 2 hours and 15 minutes. The floating market turned out to consist of a few boats and a bigger on-ground market. When we returned, we learned that this was the "floating market" in Bangkok. There was another one requiring a half-day trip which would have been bigger, but we were not told of that option. The journey was enjoyable, so it wasn't a total loss, but be warned that the boat service staff may not explain things clearly. We gave them this feedback so we hope things will improve.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herbsandspices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina_Liu, Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Dear herbsandspices,

We are pleased to learn that you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel's riverside location and activity. When taking the time to absorb the sights and sounds as you did, it is hard not to appreciate life by the river!

In regards to the boat counter, this service is operated by a third party for transfers along the Chao Phyaya river where we are located. "Taling Chan" where you were taken is known as Bangkok's floating market and is popular for it's floating restaurants/stalls, frequented by both locals and tourists alike. It is correct that they do not have as many boat markets as found in "Damnoen Saduak" which operates mainly for tourists and is located approximately 100km outside of Bangkok, requiring about a 2-hour drive. We have already reminded the boat attendants to clarify with guests in future, which floating market they would like to visit so that there is no misundertstanding.

Your other comments about the room have also been shared with the team. Please rest assured that we will make the needed improvements and apologize for any inconveniences caused.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and look forward to your next return visit to Bangkok and to the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers!

Sincerely,

Tina Liu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Stayed at the Sheraton for 4 nights. A great central place to stay for sightseeing, you can get anywhere on the river boats which is right next door to the hotel. Fantastic breakfast, what a variety. Must mention the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in. Lovely clean Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueboogaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
real_nemo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

The location is excellent: close to the public piers, view on the river, central location ... indeed it was a perfect starting point of all our trips. However, it remained unclear to us, why Sheraton jeopardizes their good reputation for the service provided:
- we had booked a junior suite, which is really nice and has an excellent river view
- upon arrival we found nail clippings in the bathtub - disgusting! it remains unclear, why housekeeping is not crosschecked (another day they forgot to remove dirty towels from the bathtub and on a third occasion a cleaning cloth was forgotten on the night stand)
- air conditioning in the room is noisy (squeaks)
- at breakfast, which does not open before 6:30, service is limited to the inside until 7:00. Staff in the restaurant is not motivated. Coffee is of low quality and served very slowly.
- we travelled with our 3 & 6 year old children, never got offered childrens cups or high chairs. They actually served hot milk in a huge cup which is impossible for children to control
- we finally found out that childrens cups and plates and high chairs are available and regularly requested them
- a high chair was delivered to us, directly from one table without cleaning, all greassy on the parts that are being touched with the hands and on the seat.
- service in general is slow in all restaurants

All this is acceptable for a country like Thailand, but it is not acceptable in a 5 star Sheraton. It is a pity that the good location is spoiled by bad service and maintenance. If the GM reacts to this, (s)he will probably ask why I did not mention all this during the stay. Because I want to enjoy my stay and I do not want to spend my time trying to get my moneys worth.

Bankok is beautiful and we will definitely return, but next time we will try one of the other 5 star hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank real_nemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina_Liu, Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Dear real_nemo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers.

We are most concerned to learn about your negative experience and would agree that the points raised are clearly unacceptable. Please rest assured however, that this is not indicative of our level of service and that your comments have been raised with the relevant teams for corrective action. We apologize to you and your family for the obvious inconveniences caused and regret that they were not addressed before your departure.

Moreover, we hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our services on a future occasion and urge you to contact us directly. All of us here at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers are committed to ensuring a most enjoyable stay!

Sincerely,

Tina Liu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Had an amazing time at the orchid towers. Service exceptional as seems to be case in all Thai hotels . Variety of eateries fantastic. Recreational and relaxing spots just perfect. I don't usually like large hotels but was at a convention and put up there.
Cannot find a negative comment!
Thank you team .

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spenceroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#119 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Property: Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Address: 2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#43 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#60 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions.Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our six restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms.All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations, featuring subtle Thai style and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Holiday Gems and Agoda so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing