We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and grand and simple but:”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
Ranked #60 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Old and grand and simple but:”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have recently stayed here for 6 nights and on the whole the process was extremely enjoyable. I chose to have one of the non renovated rooms as I found the renovated ones not to my liking. The old rooms are spacious with grand old furnishing but also two very positive aspects. One is the walls are thick so one does not experience television sets too loud or the voices of couples in throes of ecstacy flooding into one's dreams. And a great bonus, a lighting system which is easy to understand! One does not need a degree in rocket science to decide how to switch off the light in the hallway when lying in bed and the bedside light is a dream, reachable and adjustable with ease.
The lower lobby entry smells of sewage as do the lifts from that floor up to the reception at 23 level. I think this is a problem of Bangkok rather than the hotel and the odour I fear will never disappear. The main reception is in a gloomy area and I feel sorry for the reception staff sitting there all day - I think I would be driven to suicide if I stayed in that area more than one day. I only used the bar on one occasion and that was the rather attractive bar to the left of reception, with the lovely leather settees and chairs and a rather attractive painting on the wall by the entry. However I fear that the management does not seem to have the same appreciation of the painting as I do as 30% of the painting is covered by a rather over large television set which was not on and apparently does not work anyway. So why bother having the monstrosity there in the first place? The dining room is attractive at breakfast time, with a fairly good spread for breakfast and lovely attentive staff but the problem here is the design of the tables. The middle of the support of the table is that when one sits down there is nowhere to put one's legs, either tucked under your chair causing you to sit some distance from the table edge with a nice gap into which one can drop one's scrambled egg or indeed any of the other delicacies on display in the buffet ,or the alternative of this position is to spread-eagle one's legs on either side of the table support and look like some sort of gangster minus a cigar.
The staff in reception are pleasant and the concierge staff are variable at smiling and opening doors but if I was woking in an atmosphere of sewage stench I too would be variable in my meeting/greeting efforts.
However to sum up, the simplicity of the lighting system wins and I will return, if I'm allowed to!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphSingapore66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park and sharing the experience with us on your recent stay. We most appreciate your constructive feedback and we continue to seek for improvement upon current service and facility. We hope to have another pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Thipthanva Kemasiri (Ms)
Quality and Continuous Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    318
    59
    11
    11
See reviews for
108
308
181
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Totland Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A member of IHG so try and stay with the brand but this was a slight disappointment.
Strange arrangement with reception on the 23rd floor, not always clearly explained to new arrivals with two separate sets of lifts.
Nice room but had to request items not left by housekeeping. A fridge set to maximum but just not functioning.
Breakfast looked incredible with 3 cooking stations but - nothing was as it seemed, the egg station was so disappointing and the chef managed to mess the order up every morning.
Location in Bangkok was ideal near to the night market, bars etc.
Be careful - taxi drivers (always make sure the meter is ON!) have no idea where the hotel is so always take the full address if staying here.

Room Tip: Selecting a 'non-smoking' table for dining or drinking at the bar is immaterial as all the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawrenceSalvoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor and we most appreciate your constructive feedback. It is certainly disappointing that you had encountered the unpleasant experience from your recent stay. We will be sure to take your review on board in ensuring we provide up to standard to our guest. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you back for in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Thipthanva Kemasiri (Ms)
Quality and Continuous Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

It's quite late review of my stay in August 2013. I love this hotel. Great service and great staff - Club Lounge team and night concierge who used to recommend us the best places in Bangkok.

I highly recommend this hotel and looking forward to be there on my next trip.

Cheers

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park as your accommodation. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. We will hope to welcome you for another memorable hotel experience in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Thipthanva Kemasiri (Ms)
Quality and Continuous Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First stays here on arriving and leaving Thailand this trip, 2nights both times. Hotel well up to expected standards for a Crowne Plaza. Hotel occupies the top 10 floors of a 34 story building built in a triangular shape. Reception, Lounge, restaurant staff all very polite, helpful and good. Easier/quicker to walk the 20m to main road and stop a taxi than ask concierge for a taxi. I was a little put out being told to walk to MTS, when I asked concierge for a taxi!

As an IHG platinum elite treated very well here, received room upgrade and lounge access both stays. Once upgraded to Deluxe instead of club floor room, checkin advised deluxe rooms a bit nicer/bigger, and having seen another guests club floor room, that is true. The other time a Junior suite upgrade

Deluxe room :-
Comfortable King bed with nice pillows, sheets, slept very well. Aircon quite quiet and worked fine, large flatscreen TV with good channel choice. Usual work desk+chair, chair+footstool, plenty of storage, the wardrobe acting as a room divider to bathroom, with both bath and a separate shower.

Junior suite : -
A slightly larger room, on the point end of triangle on each floor. as such not rectangular like normal rooms. Split into living room, sofa, table, desk+chair, bureau, 40inch+ tv. Partition separates bedroom area, with usual king bed, and another tv, plus chair/footstool, wardrobe, and similar to deluxe wardrobe partitions bedroom from bathroom. Again separate bath + shower, plus his+hers sinks. Their is also extra toilet/wash basin off living room.

Both room types have usual safe, coffee facilities and minibar, both had a view towards Lumpini Park, and being on high floors, 26-30 , no nearby buildings can see into ones room which with all the high buildings in Bangkok is not always the case.

Pleasant large Lounge, no outside views though, helpful staff, some nice evening nibbles and a good evening drinks alcohol selection. You can also have breakfast here, although less option/choice than having restaurant breakfast. I tried both, and as not a big breakfast eater, both were fine for me, the restaurant has plenty to choose from.

Nearby:-
+ Out of hotel, left 100m, left again, 100m is the famous Patpong night market
+ Out of hotel right, 200m is both MTS (underground) and BTS overground train stops

As a comparison, well worth considering here to some other hotels I have stayed in Bangkok, not quite a 5* like Intercontinental (where I often stay), but rooms definitely 4* plus, and I preferred CP rooms to say Conrad Sukumvit Exec rooms although Conrad Lounge offering is better. I will definitely stay here again, even if just a last night for patpong night market before flights home
(last time I used Holiday Inn Silom for my patpong visit, as I did not know the CP is even nearer)

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are bigger/better than clubrooms on club floor, if possible take Lumpini Park side. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for being our IHG Rewards Club Platinum Member!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and I am pleased to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are very grateful for your recognition towards our effort in providing quality service and facility. This certainly spurs our team to further strive towards achieving excellence. We look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Thipthanva Kemasiri (Ms)
Quality and Continuous Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was on business trip & during initial curfew days needed to stay in Bangkok . This was very nice place stay . Night market was near , lot of food joints near by , wood fire pizza , Mac-d , Local food stall as well as international brand . Rooms are very good . breakfast was one the finest ever. The Vegetables prepared for me by the chef was awesome. Hotel service & staff is too good. Internet speed & connectivity is good.

Room Tip: Rooms away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maneeshved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am most pleased that you have enjoyed our service and facilities during your stayed. It certainly encourages our team to continuously seek for improvement upon current experience. We look forward to welcoming you again for another excellent experience in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Thipthanva Kemasiri (Ms)
Quality and Continuous Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I first came to the Crowne Plaza hotel near Lumpini Park when I inquired about accommodating a large group of study abroad students from the US. I was given a terrific, well-rounded tour of the various areas of the hotel, including a scenic swimming pool, conference rooms, a stylish bar, dining areas, recreational facilities and much more. The rooms themselves are superb; aesthetically pleasing and boasting spectacular views of the city. I was highly impressed with what I saw, and certainly recommend the Crowne Plaza hotel for anyone looking for a wonderful stay in the heart of Bangkok.

I must also give a special thanks to Susanna, the intern who showed me around the hotel. Her friendliness, helpfulness and dedication to her work is praiseworthy, and made for a memorable, informative tour. I wish her the best of luck in all her future endeavors!

Room Tip: Don't let the news of the protests or military personnel stationed in Bangkok worry you. The cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park as your preferred choice and I am most delighted that you have highly rated our customer service attitude. We appreciate your recognition towards our effort especially to our STAR Susanna. It will be certainly our pleasure to have you back for another GREAT hotel experience in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Thipthanva Kemasiri (Ms)
Quality and Continuous Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Last year I stayed about 120-nights in BKK. I have stayed in all the IHG flagged hotels and this hotel offers the best perks for Platinum/Ambassador members. Was given a room upgrade to a suite, lounge access and a welcome gift of a stuffed elephant.

The front desk staff Knot was very polite and checked us in quickly and answered all our questions. He spoke excellent english and also japanese. The location of this hotel is near both BTS and MRT stations. The view from the rooms is nice. The rooms are slightly dated, however they make up for it with incredible service. This was a very pleasant surprise in the middle of Bangkok. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattfs218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for being our IHG Rewards Club Platinum Member!

What a pleasure to learn of your GREAT review here on TripAdvisor! The team at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park joins me in extending our gratitude for your appreciation towards our service, especially towards our Superstar Khun Knot. Taking your positive review on board, we continue to strive towards achieving excellence in service. It will be certainly our pleasure to welcome you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Thipthanva Kemasiri (Ms)
Quality and Continuous Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
3,435 reviews
Silom
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Dusit Thani Bangkok
#105 of 858 in Bangkok
2,930 reviews
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 858 in Bangkok
4,025 reviews
Silom
Amara Bangkok
Amara Bangkok
#49 of 858 in Bangkok
1,032 reviews
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park

Property: Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
Address: 952 Rama IV Road | Suriyawongse, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#49 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#77 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy personalised service at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, in the heart of the city's business and entertainment district.Take the elevator up to the 23rd-floor Lobby at the Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park hotel, where gleaming black-and-white tiles lead the way to our helpful Front Desk with dedicated Japanese-speaking Guest Relations. Staff will check you straight into your room or Suite, where panoramic views of Bangkok's twinkling city skyline await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park Hotel Bangkok
Pan Pacific Bangkok
Bangkok Pan Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing