We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions and we would always return when in Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #40 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions and we would always return when in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

From the moment you arrive at the Plaza Athenee the service is friendly and attentive with typical Thai courtesy and kindness. Check in is very smooth and whenever we have stayed here we have always been given a beautiful room, immaculately clean and with a large, comfortable bed with beautiful crisp and fresh linen. For business purposes the hotel is very well located on Wireless road but there are also fine shopping centres and amenities nearby and the hotel is very happy to organise river trips and visits to the palaces and temples. There is an excellent buffet breakfast and themed buffets in the evenings. On an upper floor there are a number of restaurants. I think the hotel could advertise these more as they are often very quiet but we had a first class Chinese meal in one of them only a week ago. The pool area is very pleasant and serviced by a poolside restaurant. There are a wide range of spa treatments on offer. The hotel itself is lovely but what makes it special is the pleasantness and courtesy of all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    458
    112
    24
    27
See reviews for
235
468
211
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

This Five star property of Royal Meridiam Hotel at Wreless Road, Bangkok is a beautiful property. It is almost 60 kilometeres from the Swarnabhumi airport but at centre of Bangkok's commercial hub.

Designed by Dr. Jumsai Sumet, one of Thailand’s most famed architects, the hotel was the original site of Kandhamas, the residence of Her Royal Highness Princess Valaya Alongkorn, a daughter of King Chulalongkorn (Rama V) and the Aunt of His Majesty King Bhumipol Adulyadej, Thailand’s present King. True to its royal heritage, this storied hotel seamlessly blends sumptuous surroundings with unparalleled service


It is very easily accessible from all corners of Bangkok


the quality of rooms is superb The restaurant, overall hotel- its interiors , exteriors is good, cosy and beautiful.

The sleep quality is very good- Beds are of good order and it makes a pleasurable experience.


the quality of room service is quite good and efficient.

The staff is quite hospitable and very near from business centre.
Just steps from our grand lobby, the Ploenchit sky train station on the BTS Sukhumvit line connects you to popular attractions like Chao Phraya River, Chatuchak Weekend Market, Siam Paragon and more. Also within easy walking distance is the Muay Thai Boxing Stadium at Lumpini Park and numerous shopping malls including Chidlom and Central World

It is worth a experience

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikhilbaijal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Good Food & Excellent Service. Impress for long stay. Feeling Like Home. Tons of Seafood on Sunday Brunch with Free Flow Wine and other Beverage.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel in June 2011 and couldn't have been more pleased. The service was outstanding, the food delicious and the location great. Everyone seemed to have my enjoyment their top priority and it worked. The room was extremely clean, had a great view and met all my needs. If I ever return to Bangkok (which I hope to do) I will stay at the Plaza Athenee again.

Room Tip: Pay extra to have access to the 26th floor lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

I have been staying at this hotel for a number of years when travelling to Bangkok. Although the hotel has been open for over 10 years, the grand Thai royal ambience has been maintained well. I would recommend that visitors pay a bit extra and stay at the Club Floor to enjoy the impeccable service and great snacks at the lounge. It comes with free access to Wifi at the lounge, coffee/tea and non-alcoholic drinks whole day, aftertea snacks and the most enjoyable happy hours with free flow of alcoholic drinks and tasteful Hors d'œuvre. At times I skipped dinner altogether after the happy hour. The staff here are always friendly and attentive. I tried the Thai and Japanese restaurant, buffet breakfast at coffee shop and also ordered room service very frequently, which were all good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKK_traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

I stayed in the Plaza Athenee on two occasions, both on business trips. Since then I have never looked back and have always looked forward to staying there again whenever I am in Bangkok. The hotel building is simple and yet elegant with its unexplained charms. You get a sense of welcome and respect the moment you step into the reception area. The staff are friendly, polite and ever willing to go all out to provide travellers with tips and directions to places nearby. The location is simply ideal; near to the main skytrain stations which are just minutes' walk away. If you prefer you can take a slow stroll up the main street (Wireless Street) to main shopping areas.

The standard rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable, the beds large even for three persons of average size. The decor is simple but you will feel at home. There's a large flat-screen TV with many channels to choose from. But this can be improved as most of them are in Thai. The bathroom is also spacious with shower and bathtub for you to soak yourself in and relief your aching legs and body after a days' walk. It is well stocked with the usual amenities. While the rooms may not have a view of the sea, this is compensated by the fact that you can be assured of a quiet, good night's sleep and getting up fresh the next morning. The minibar has a range of the usual stuff. But if you prefer there are convenience shops further up the street. Most open up till very late into the night. Breakfast is buffet style, with a wide range of choices to choose from - local fares as well as western and continental. You will never feel bored with the spread of foods available. And they are aplenty. Since I was on business trip meetings are held in the business floors and dinners are usually held outside (organised by company) I did not have the opportunity to savour the cuisine in the hotel restaurants. If you need a workout, there is the gymn equiped with the usual exercise equipment and the spacious swimming pool. Safety was never an issue. The main street may be crowded at certain times but you could walk with a peaceful mind knowing that nobody will bother you. The Plaza Athenee is THE hotel of choice for me because I am always made to feel welcome and important by its friendly staff to make my stay memorable. I will keep coming back to stay in this hotel again and again ..... This hotel truly lives up to its reputation of the Le Meridien group.

Room Tip: All standard rooms are spacious, clean and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinMan0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Returned back to this hotel because of my first great experience.
Pool is great - quiet, never crowded
Fitness is great - the fitness staff are really friendly, helpful, speak good english
Nice steam and sauna
breakfast was great - lots of selection
Club floor check in was easy, fast, comfortable.
Afternoon tea has a number of beautiful snacks. Free internet in the club floor.
Staff at club floor are extremely friendly and remember your name.
Loved everything about this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Club Floor- worth the price-
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonogard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Sivatel Bangkok
#64 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#86 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a leafy boulevard in the city centre of Bangkok, the hotel is a short walk (3 minutes) from Ploenchit BTS skytrain station and the new Central Embassy luxury shopping mall and close to the city's other premier malls, including Central World, Siam Paragon and EM District. The hotel is also renowned for warm and attentive service and modern facilities including the sumptuous newly remodelled lagoon-landscaped Swimming Pool + Fitness Athénée. Choose among 374 sumptuously remodelled guestrooms + suites in exquisite contemporary Thai colonial style conceptualised by an award-wining Thai designer with royal heritage elegance and deep-rooted environment awareness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing