We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“choose this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #21 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“choose this hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Great hotel and a great location.
Fantastic staff, great facilities and a very fair price for this standard of hotel

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philw999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,419
    498
    117
    26
    27
See reviews for
262
512
231
785
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We (2 adults, 3 kids) stayed here for 2 nights in August 2011 in interconnecting rooms. The rooms, while not exciting are spacious and comfortable (with very comfortable beds). The pool area is lovely and good to escape the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. The concierge staff are fantastic as is the breakfast buffet. One of our children needs to eat gluten free - the chef from Le Meridien in Chiang Mai (where we had stayed) emailed the chef at Plaza Athenee to inform him. When we went to breakfast, the staff knew of our gluten free requirement and gluten free bread and cereal had been prepared. In addition on the second morning, the chef made gluten free pancakes for our daughter and sent her some mango that wasn't in the buffet. Outstanding service! While with 3 small children, it is probably more sensible to stay right in the thick of the action, rather than have to always travel, we had such a lovely time here we would stay at Plaza Athenee again. We did get a terrific deal on the room rate and thought the hotel offered great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Location is not exactly very central, but taxi in Bangkok is very cheap to go anywhere. Hotel is in a quiet location and lobby is not always crowded, and check-in is very fast and efficient. Management very friendly towards all guests.
Morning breakfast is very good with many choices, and refill them very fast even till the closing time.
Room not really very modern, but they could easily accommodate 3 persons comfortably. Beds are very comfortable and large for single.
Do not have chance to try the hotel other facilities, as out most of the time shopping.
Got very good room rate buying through travel agent. Would definately stay at this hotel if back to Bangkok for holidays.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Plaza Athenée Bangkok is your typical "big" hotel. It's located in the embassy area within walking distance from the Ploenchit BTS station.

The hotel itself is not "on" Wireless road, but rather the property has built a big car / bus lane which . The hotel security / concierge team seem very efficient and professional.

The gardenlike pool area on the 3rd floor is very nice with a rather big rooftop pool. Relaxing there makes you wonder if you're really in Bangkok and you can't see or feel the traffic.

The room décor varies - the classic rooms feel slightly dated though very well maintained - the Club rooms feel more modern.

PS. If you're looking at Plaza Athenée from a Starwood perspective, Plaza Athenée is very different from LM Bangkok in look&feel and location. LM Bangkok in Silom is very modern and in the hustle&bustle, Plaza Athenee very classical and in a quieter area. Sheraton Grande and the Westin are located one BTS stop away but are, as LM Bangkok, in a hustle&bustle area - having said that though, they're right next to the Asoke BTS station.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hennessyparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I enjoyed staying at Plaza Athenee. The stuff was very friendly and helpful, and the location is good since it's close the the Sky Train station and Shopping. The room was a little bit boring, but nice and large. I especially liked the breakfast. The food was amazing and the breakfast restaurant not as loud and busy as often in other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasen255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our Thailand/Cambodia trip and loved this hotel. Big, comfortable rooms, excellent food (the most amazing breakfast buffet!) and friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

As a SPG member, my family members and I have stayed in several SPG hotels in Bangkok. Beginning this year, we have decided to stay at the Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel. We found the hotel and staff very helpful and hospitable. When we arrive at the hotel, Hotel's high level officers like Mr Mahbobur Rahman and his colleagues, receive us. Since then we stayed 3 times and 24 nights and every time the experience has been marvelous. I have also made a couple of future bookings for this year.

The rooms and the beds are very clean and comfortable. A lot of fresh food items are available in the breakfast and the lounge. The persons in the lounge, like Mono, Sajee and Misa, are always eager to help and provide anything we wanted. Interestingly, they are work so hard and never seem to get tired and are always smiling. Our overall experience in the Plaza Athenee Bangkok has been very pleasant and we look forward to visiting the hotel and meet the people again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0hiuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#20 of 862 in Bangkok
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 862 in Bangkok
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Phloenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, Plaza Athenee Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing