We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax in luxuary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #19 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

After backpacking for a few weeks we got back to Bangkok and got settled in this hotel. It is amazing! Not just the room and the facilities but most of all the breakfast!
I enjoyed a breakfast that reached the level of brunching with 3 hours of delicious food.
The restaurant is definately worth it's fame!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoriander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,221)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 2,221 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

One week for a seminar taking place in the hotel. Spacious rooms, well equiped, clean, good service. Nothing to complain about. Also well located in bangkok if you have time for leisure and shopping.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's convenient location, proximity for appointments and close to sky train and shopping centres for sightseeing. Stayed here for a week on the Executive Floor, well worth the upgrade! The lounge was an excellent place to review appointments and prepare for next meetings. The staff were very friendly and looked after us attentively. Large choice of restaurants in the hotel made it difficult to decide whether or not to go out for dinner. The location of the hotel also made it a convenient place to meet for drinks and the Glaz bar was an ideal place for this. Anyone visiting Bangkok, I highly recommend this hotel as the place to stay for business and leisure!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Executive Floor, well worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roeland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Bangkok has so many world-class five-star and excellent four-star hotels, backed by a special Thai attentiveness, that one starts to wonder whether exceptions exist anymore. A visit to the Plaza Athenee assured me that the hotel industry had not succumbed to standardization.

Nominally, the Plaza Athenee doesn’t appear that exceptional – it’s not huge, nor are the grounds expansive, nor are the rooms gold-plated palatial, nor does it have staff who trail guests for “personalized” service, nor does it have the biggest spa/pool/gym, nor does it have decades of lore and history behind it. But it’s a very well run, understated, peaceful, “they thought of everything” property in the middle of a very noisy, dusty city. First impressions: the hallway is actually very peaceful. It is wide, well-lit, and with understated décor, with carpet that is firm to walk and roll luggage on. The room is a good size and well outfitted with lots of lights and a huge windows. There is a master switch but no keycard required (a relief). There are plenty of hangars -- quality normal wooden hangars, not the ridiculous fit-in ones. The curtain can be drawn by just pulling with your hands – no buttons needed!

As for the hotel’s other facilities: The pool is long and clean – at least 30 meters if not more, perfect for lazy or energetic laps. The gym has the sturdy basics, although the machines are not brand new.
Guests receive fruits every day plus unlimited bottled water. And the room service menu is quite varied with ample vegetarian and healthy selections. And internet access is painless. Sometimes easier said than done even for five-star joints.

I didn’t have problems with the location – it’s easy to get a taxi, and walking distance from both All Seasons Place for conveniences, and a great massage place on Soi Ruamrudee. The BTS Ploenchit station is a short walk. Granted, once you leave the hotel grounds, you are assaulted by the sights and sounds of the city – but then you can look forward to returning to this sanctuary when the day is done.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamarx200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Plaza Athenee Hotel is located near the sky train and the major shopping centres and from here it is easy to reach almost any locaton in the city.
I was on a 7 day business trip and could get to my appointments easily with a combination of the skytrain and taxi.
The public spaces and the rooms in the hotel are spacious and the service staff is very friendly and helpfull.
The restaurants and bar deliver high quality food and service. The Glaz bar is a nice place to meet up with people for a drink and a snack.
The executive lounge is an oasis of peace in this very busy city, the staff is wonderful and delivers personal service. The view is amazing and it was great to prepare for you next meeting in this atmosphere.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors give you a better view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabianprefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed here recently Feb 26th - March 1st and was really impressed by the quality of everything at the hotel. The service, breakfast, rooms, lobby, and hotel staff were amazing, towels arrived before you hang up the phone. This is a 5 star property very close to most major embassies such as US, and Japan.

Although, this is primarily a business property it served us well on vacation. It has an amazing breakfast that everyone should opt for at this property.

Only negatives was the hotel is fairly unknown to cab drivers around town and although location wasn't terrible the BTS is 1 block away there are better located properties in BKK depending on your objectives.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband and I had the same kind of experience as "DR_APC" mentioned in his review. Even though we had put a request for a king size bed at the time of booking, the front desk staff just gave us an excuse and said the room was unavailable. Not only this took us a long time to check-in, it also gave us a really bad impression on the standard of service for this hotel. I don't think this is the hotel I'll recommend to anyone staying in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MchiMchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooLeng_Goh, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Mchi402003

Thank you for posting your TripAdvisor review following your stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Firstly, may I apologise for the disappointment you have expressed regarding the response from our associate during the check-in. Whilst we do accept room requests, it is not possible to guarantee all room types requests. However, please be assured, every effort is made to accommodate our guests requests. I do apologise for the disappointment on this occasion. You have my assurances that this has been discussed with those concerned to prevent any reoccurrence in the future.

In closing, I do sincerely hope you will accept that your experience is certainly not reflective of our usual standards because we pride ourselves on a prompt and efficient service. Thus we hope for the pleasure of your company again at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 880 in Bangkok
8,410 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 880 in Bangkok
3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Address: 61 Wireless Road | Phloenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £113 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing