We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, fantastic breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #18 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great staff, fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have a great one night stay enroute from Thailand to Europe, and were very happy. we upgraded to Le Royal Club room which was on 28th floor, and had access to a very good lounge, with afternoon tea, cakes etc and evening canapees with complimentart beer, wine, cocktails. In fact the canapees were so good we had to delay dinner to late evening as we were pretty stuffed.

Lounge staff were terrific, arranged spa treatments, lent us DVD movies (player in our room), advised on destinations and trips in the city. Free wifi and all day soft drinks.

The main attraction really was a fabulous breakfast in the main Rain Cafe. Our lounge access meant breakfast was included. Japanase, Thai, Chinsese breakfast as well as egg chef and a huge spread. Also loved the Jean Gorges taster dishes which were served throughout breakfast. Do try the muesli, I didn't know muesli could taste this good.

After breakfast we had a short spell in the pool, which was a nice retreat in this city hotel.

Skytrain is walking distance (5 mins) but I would not use it with baggage due to a lot of stairs. Skytrain is great in Bangkok rush hour when traffic is at a standstill in this area.

Room Tip: Club rooms are on high floors and offer lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank view2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    501
    117
    26
    28
See reviews for
274
521
233
797
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We had a winter break to Singapore and Bangkok. Our hotels were excellent but the Plaza Athenee was special, and from the minute we walked in we were treated really well. Close to the Skytrain on Sukhumvit, nice swimming pool, good value Thai restaraunt. We had paid extra for the Royal Club rooms on the upper floors which were spacious, well presented and great value. The manager and all staff of the club lounge were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help, with breakfast, soft drinks all day, snacks, and open bar from 6 to 8 pm all included. This is our fifth time in Bangkok but we will be back here next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooLeng_Goh, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Jim B

Thank you for sharing your reviews on TripAdvisor website and for choosing to stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your stay in Bangkok.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our Le Royal Club Lounge along with the club’s benefits. Moreover, it is encouraging to learn that you found our associates delivered excellent services hence I will certainly share your reviews with them as everyone works especially hard to provide a professional service.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your reviews and for your continued support. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great place to be located for work. Kind of near the business district and yet not too far from the entertainment and food in the evening. BTS station was close by. Rooms were huge. Service was decent. Carpets in my room were a little dated and grimy but i guess for an older property, that would be expected. Decent value for the money. i was there for a total of 5 nights.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leong34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooLeng_Goh, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear leong34

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

I am delighted and encouraged to learn that you find the hotels to be well located for business and entertainment. On the other hand, please accept my apologies for any shortfalls you may have encountered on this occasion and I will be looking into your remarks personally.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. I do hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed at the Plaza as the second hotel in Bangkok for consecutive conferences. Advertising itself as a 5-star property, I found that it paled in comparison to the Conrad, the other hotel I stayed at for the exact same price.

Check-in was smooth and efficient. The lobby area is clean and well maintained. The first problem I noticed was the elevator. Although the hotel has almost 30 floors, there were only four elevators and several times during my stay I waited almost five minutes for an elevator to arrive.

My room was only 4-star caliber. The furnishing were a bit worn and the bathroom was plain. The television provided adequate channels but less than at other similar hotels. The bed was comfortable. Wi-fi, included in my room rate, was fair. I frequently lost the connection and would say that speeds would probably not support Netflix viewing. My first couple of nights there was a loud sound when the A/C switched on and off. In addition, my in-room safe was broken.

The breakfast spread was large though in my opinion was not well laid out. Several times there were long lines waiting for the made-to-order eggs. On my first morning I waited so long that the waitstaff gave my table away to others. However, the make-to-order waffles were fantastic and I recommend them to anyone.

The hotel had a nice location near a Sky Train stop but off the main street so it was not crowded. There were several convenience stores close to the hotel in case you want to stock the mini-fridge with beverages at much lower prices.

I found that the hotel's exchange rate (about 27.5 Baht/$1) almost 10% lower than rates nearby and lower than comparable hotels.

In short, for the same money you can stay at an even nicer place. Plaza Athenee was certainly a nice hotel but there are better ones in Bangkok.

Room Tip: 20th Floor Starwood preferred rooms are a step up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooLeng_Goh, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear harvlaw

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent stayed and did not have the true Le Méridien experiences. Please accept my apologies for any shortfalls in facilities and services you may have encountered which are definitely not of our standard.

With regards to the Internet speed and choice of television channels, we will review the issues for a better solution to satisfy every guest need. Our guests are our upmost priority and we strive to ensure that every guest has a very enjoyable time at the Hotel. However, I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I do hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A luxurious 5 star hotel, in a central business area of Bangkok under first class management. Most friendly staff, comfortable rooms and a really excellent Executive Club, with all necessary amenities. Highly recommended for business people and for a very nice short holiday stay in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Corner suits, particularly on the upper floor are marvelous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abraham1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnhout, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

After backpacking for a few weeks we got back to Bangkok and got settled in this hotel. It is amazing! Not just the room and the facilities but most of all the breakfast!
I enjoyed a breakfast that reached the level of brunching with 3 hours of delicious food.
The restaurant is definately worth it's fame!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoriander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

One week for a seminar taking place in the hotel. Spacious rooms, well equiped, clean, good service. Nothing to complain about. Also well located in bangkok if you have time for leisure and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#21 of 866 in Bangkok
3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 866 in Bangkok
1,972 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Phloenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, Plaza Athenee Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing