We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with a great location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #16 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Wandering American
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with a great location...”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This hotel is very elegant and the interior has a beautiful Thai theme. This hotel provided one of the best check-in experiences ever. I was picked up at the airport by a driver affiliated with the hotel and upon my arrival to the entrance I was personally greeted by a very pretty Thai girl who immediately took me up to my room and completed my check-in there.

This hotel has a wonderful business lounge on the 26th floor with full bar service, computers with internet and small conference rooms. The gym was impressive and had treadmills, elliptical machines, stair steppers, cable weight machines and fair selection of free weights. The hotel pool is on the same level as the gym but the pool is outside and there is a wonderful garden you can stroll through as well.

Breakfast was incredible! I have never seen such a diversity in foods for breakfast, there was a little bit of everything from nearly all different cultures. The coffee was amazing and it was served in a nice french press.

The rooms were nice but I did get a sense that they had some miles on them. There were a few signs that this hotel has not undergone a renovation for a while but nothing was unacceptable. The room had an amazing massive king size bed with huge cushy pillows. The minibar was well equipped and room service had an impressive selection with a dedicated 24/7 section on the menu. The TV was nice flat panel but the programming was fairly limited; CNN, BBC, MSNBC and then some culturally targeted channel in German, Japanese, Chinese and Thai.

The only major complaint I had during my stay was the elevators. There were some mornings or evening when it took almost 7 minutes to get an elevator after pushing the button. I'm not sure if they were having technical problems or not but this was very frustrating.

Overall, this was a great hotel and the location was perfect for getting around town since the BTS was right around the corner. I would highly recommend this place for anyone needing a hotel in Bangkok.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morseman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooLeng_Goh, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear morseman 21,

Thank you for staying at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your reviews on TripAdvisor website.
It is encouraging to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found our associates delivered excellent services hence I will certainly share your reviews with them as everyone works especially hard to provide a professional service. I am also glad to learn that you appreciate our food & beverage together with facilities and provided room amenities. I wanted to thank you too for noticing about our food presentation. Cuisine is one of our passion points in Le Méridien and we are pleased to see that you liked it.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.
Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    502
    117
    26
    28
See reviews for
274
521
233
798
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days and we had a good stay in this hotel. From the time we entered, it gave us the five star feeling. The staff were courteous and helpful...and whenever we met them they greeted us showing their Thai tradition. The food here was excellent and room service was classy too. We also liked the room and the entire arrangement in it. The rooms have all gadgets that a 5 star hotel should be having. From Plaza Athenee - it is easy to walk to MRT and Sky train stations - it takes less than five minutes. You could also walk up to some of the biggest malls including Terminal 21 through the Sky Way through the MRT/Skytrain entrance. Close to the hotel is a mini market to get any essentials such as food, fruits, biscuits, choclates, shampoo etc.

Room Tip: We were on the 23rd floor - get a room with an odd number ending with 3, 5, 7 etc, for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChanColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Fabulous staff at this hotel make your stay more enjoyable. Good food. Rooms could do with an update but that is very minor. Cannot recommend this hotel more highly . Smiling faces everywhere and they remembered our preferences after the first day. This was our second trip to this hotel and will definitely be returning, family can't stop talking about it.

Room Tip: Royal club floors offer best value for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PerthShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

An advantage of choosing a hotel chain is that you know what you get and the Plaze Athenee is no exception, it is a solid 5 star hotel with almost everything that you would wish for in a hotel room. It is more «classic» than «Le Méridien» at Surawong Road, the experience being that the staff are much more attentive reflecting the «Royal Méridien» brand.

It is relatively close to the Skytrain station, which is probably the only way to get around to avoid the traffic jam; but lately the Skytrain has got rather packed. It is also not so easy to get a taxi from the hotel and there is usually a long wait when several guests of the hotel are before you in the taxi queue. For some reason some taxi-drivers seem unwilling to pick up passengers at the hotel, so I have learnt to walk the 50 metres to the street itself and there is no problem at all to wave down a taxi.

The check in was friendly and efficient. Some problems with the plan booked for were quickly sorted out. The check-out was also speedy. It came to my mind that they have stopped the 1 USD automatic surcharge for some charity. I think this is the right thing to do; it is wrong more or less to impose this on guests (although one could refuse), even though it is so little money and it is for charity.

The room was comfortable and the AC worked very well. You did not need to insert the keycard into a socket to turn on the electricity, so it was nice to be able to leave the AC on at low when leaving, and to come back to a cool room. Plenty of free water for Starwood Preferred Guests. It is a signature of the Méridien that the coffee-making facility was also good with real coffee and not powders in sachets, although no real fresh milk at the Plaza Athenee. The drinks are also in a realistic size rather than in ridiculous miniature bottles in many other hotels. There was a fruit plate, but no chocolate. The amenities were very adequate and there was an iron and ironing board. The turn-down service did not come with chocolate.

The breakfast was good with some changes from day to day. As this stay was my own few days after a week on business in South East Asia, it was really nice to enjoy a long breakfast. I only wish that they don’t describe it as the «new» signature breakfast; it has been the same set-up for at least the past three years.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strakur74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We went to Plaza Athenee after a disastrous reservation at another hotel. We were very happy because we got a good room at the last minute and had nothing to complain. Our son just complained that the only children´s channel was Disney, but he got animal baloons at check in. When a our son felt sick they cleaned the room very fast. Excellent service, facilities and ammenities. Breakfast is delicious and with plenty of options for any taste. The bed is wonderful as well as the pillows... I wish our bed at home was that good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHJAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband stayed here for a week both for business and pleasure trip and we are very pleased with Plaza Athenee Hotel. Service is always great. Hotel staff are courteous and hospitable from the front desk to housekeeping.

Our room, its bed and pillows are really comfortable and very relaxing. The bathroom have complete toiletries and have separate shower area and bath tub.

Wifi access is already included in our room package which is a plus point although connection is slow at night. They have a nice pool area, gym and jogging path to those who want to stay fit during their stay. Their cable channels are somewhat limited but they have a dvd player if you want to watch movies in your room.

Breakfast is good and has plenty of choices and although they serve almost the same dishes each day, they have plenty of choices for everyone so you can just change your breakfast each day according to your liking.

Food and coffee in this hotel is always good, plus they always give their guests free bottled water in the room and you can also request for plastic bottled water when you go out for tours.

Location-wise, this hotel I think, is in one of the best location in BKK. It is located in the business district so you will feel safe unlike if you stay in other areas there. It is also very near the BTS Ploenchit station, around 5-minute walk from the hotel, if you want to go to the malls which are about 1 to 2 stops from the Ploenchit station.

We are very happy with our stay in this hotel and we'll definitely stay here again when we go back to Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoshTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel was partly chosen for relative nearness to our office. I found the room pleasant, and perhaps one of the best beds of the hotel rooms I've stayed in. I was only able to go to breakfast once in the week, but found it efficient. Vegetarian selection on the in-room dining menu is decent and quite tasty, dishes containing pork is labelled on the menu. For one of the group lunches that was catered by our host for our meeting, the Chinese restaurant was able to cater halal chicken and the wait staff pointed out each halal dish to the two Muslims in our group.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daengkirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooLeng_Goh, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Daengkirana

Thank you very much for staying at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien during your business trip and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor website.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our associates’ services excellent, which I am thankful for your recommendation as well. I will certainly share your reviews with them as everyone works especially hard to provide a professional service. I also wanted to thank you for noticing about our food presentation. Cuisine is one of our passion points in Le Méridien and we are pleased to see that you liked it.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#21 of 866 in Bangkok
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 866 in Bangkok
1,976 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Phloenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, Plaza Athenee Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing