We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location/Global favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #30 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Location/Global favorite”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have stayed here 6 or 7 times. That says a lot for someone who spent 150 - 200 nights a year in hotels over the past few years. This is one of my favorites!!! The location is a block from the metro station, which is the best way to travel around Bangkok. 1 stop away is the largest concentration of shopping malls and 3 stops away is the Siam Paragon. I have not taken the new airport shuttle, but I hear its easy. This is a quiet street relative to the excitement and action just one metro station away in either direction.
The hotel lobby is grand, restaurant and piano bar are all first class... In Xmas, they have beautiful decorations that will make you forget that this is a Buddhist country. The pool area upstairs is a great place to unwind and at night they have great lounge singers. The club is a must do here. Pay the extra, it is a great investment as their drinks and happy hour are terrific. The staff here is top notch, even by tough Thailand standards of great service...
The breakfast buffet is one of the best in Asia, catering to Thai, European, Asian, US tastes and a fresh noodle bar! Include it! There is a Chinese restaurant here, it serves the best Peking Duck we have ever had in the world.

Room Tip: The rooms are large, bright, luxury bathrooms and typical Asian Luxury. Upper floors are best for vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahoru w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear KAHORU W,

Thank you for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking the time to share such positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is a great honor to receive such high praise from a valued guest who has such a vast experience of staying in so many different hotels. I am truly delighted that you find our facilities and restaurants to be first class and that you appreciate our central location. Our Royal Club does indeed offer some great benefits which I am thrilled you highlighted along with our signature Peking duck which is offered in our Silk Road Chinese Restaurant. I will be sure to share you kind feedback with Chef Kam and the team to further reinforce all their efforts.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,343
    492
    115
    25
    27
See reviews for
251
498
227
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The check in process was smooth. But immediately after check in you are encountered with the first problem.....a long wait for the lift! Just 4 lifts for a 25+ floor hotel.

The room was good, but though the bathroom looked clean when I checked in, there was a leak in the tap near the closet after the first use. This was promptly rectified by housekeeping.

Stayed for 5 days at the hotel. The breakfast spread was good and had lots of interesting options. We had a conference there and the buffet lunch as part of the conference at the hotel was average.

Overall, the hotel had good & clean rooms, comfortable stay....but the long wait for the lift, a constant dampener.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Surmen,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel .

It is inspiring to know that you appreciate the service our Front Office associates provided and that you thoroughly enjoyed our signature Le Méridien breakfast in the Rain Tree Café. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we are planning to initiate a soft refurbishment for our guestrooms early next year so that our valued guests continue to experience a high standard of facilities. Please note that from time to time, our hotel can be quite busy with groups and other events, which may cause some inconvenience and disruption in certain areas of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I visited Bangkok this month. Having a gluten and dairy sensitivities, I searched for an allergy friendly hotel, that also provides excellent accommodation. I am short of words to describe what a wonderful experience we had. The hotel was luxurious, comfortable and pampering, and although it is a large hotel, the staff provided a personal and caring service. The food was another wonderful experience. We ate breakfast daily, and tried also the dinner buffet, and the 'Smooth Curry' restaurant. The food in all the restaurants was outstanding. After letting the manager know about my allergies, all the staff was notified about my needs. In any restaurant, the chefs, the managers, and the staff went out of their way to help and make us feel 'at home'. The breakfast buffet provided gluten free bread, muffins, and granola. In addition, the staff was ready to make any dish that I wished to have (such as yummy pancakes and fried rice). Both my husband (who has no allergies) and I enjoyed the food and the service tremendously. At the 'Smooth Curry' restaurant we had the most amazing Thai dishes. The best was the red curry dish; so tasty, complex, yet perfectly balanced. Do not miss this restaurant; we did not have the same culinary experience in any other hotel or restaurant in Thailand. In conclusion: beyond expectation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgfcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear travelgfcf 5/5,

Thank you for staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such a detailed review on TripAdvisor.
It is an absolute delight to know that our associates provided you both with personalized and caring service, this certainly highlights what we strive to offer all our valued guests. I am thrilled that our culinary team was able to accommodate all of your dietary requirements and that you both thoroughly enjoyed several meals with us. Smooth Curry does indeed feature mouth watering authentic Royal Thai Cuisine and I will be sure to share your praises with Chef Jasvir and her team.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and I hope that we will have the opportunity to exceed your expectations once again upon your return to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kot Daska, Punjab, Pakistan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at royal lemeridian plaza anthenee hotel from 20th to 23rd october 2013 .it was marvellous good neat and clean .v good location .near toall shopping plazas staff v cooperative organized .nice spa swimming pooland all .breakfast was vv good.we at large eenjoyed v much .room washroom v neat.reception syaff vv cooperative and fluent in English.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRehana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear DrRehana,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel .

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for your kind feedback, we are all delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and that our associates provided you with good service. We do enjoy a central location, conveniently located near the Phoen Chit BTS station as well as several major shopping malls.
Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent a week at Plaza Athenee and couldn't fault this hotel. Clean, tidy, excellent customer service, great spa, lovely pool area and its in a great location. We ate at Reflexions, a French restaurant and can honestly say its the best meal I've had. Would definitely recommend this hotel and if we visit Bangkok again we will stay there without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 336Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear 336Zoe,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

It is an absolute delight to know that your stay with us was faultless and that you had the chance to enjoy so many of our facilities. Our award winning Reflexions venue certainly does offer some exceptional French Fine dining and Chef Daniel and his team are thrilled that you feel that it is the best meal you’ve ever had.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and recommendation, we looking forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We checked in at the club floor. The service was excellent. Mr. Arm Natt and his colleagues served us at the club lounge everyday. They always made us feel very welcomed. The room was very comfortable, everyday they provided us fresh fruits, WI-FI worked very well in our room. We hightly recommend to visit their restaurant - Smooth Curry. It was really delicious and of course with excellent service. Definitely we will come back again on my next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angèle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Angèle L,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

It is truly inspiring to know that Mr. Arm, Ms. Natt and the team in Le Royal Club provided you with excellent service that made you feel very welcome. I am also delighted that you had a chance to try our award winning Smooth Curry venue which serves Royal Thai cuisine, I will be sure to share you kind praise with the team to further reinforce all their efforts.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel on your return to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

In October 2013; I spent 5 nights for a business meeting in the Plaza Athenee Hotel. Everything was impeccable during this stay.
room on the 18th floor are spacious and clean. There is a bath tube and a shower in each bathroom. The toileries were generously replaced twice a day... The spa is pricey but woth it. The massages are delicate and the staff very efficient.
The breakfast and lunch buffets were exquisite with a variety of high quality cuisines from Thailand, China, Japan, India, France and even good Italian expresso! It was a pleasure to eat. The thai restaurant at the 3rd floor was good too.
The hotel from le Meridien chain is a very good fusion of Thai high service and French touch...
It is conveniently located at PloenChit sky train station, so it is easy to take the subway to popular shopping malls like MBK, Paragon and Central World!
Everyone was very helpful, efficient and Professional. It was a true pleasant sojourn, I wish to renew next year!
Definitively I recommend the Plaza Athenee for business and leisure trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpicyCinderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear SpicyCinderella,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is indeed a true privilege to receive such positive feedback from you. You certainly have touched on several areas in our hotel where our team strives to provide our valued guests with a memorable experience. Whether it be dinning in The Rain Tree Café and Smooth Curry or having a relaxing massage in our Athénée Spa it is great to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our Thai service with a French touch. I will certainly share your kind compliments with our team.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#17 of 858 in Bangkok
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sivatel Bangkok
#66 of 858 in Bangkok
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien is a luxury hotel located in the commercial heart of Bangkok, steps from Phloenchit skytrain station. Offering 28 function spaces, it is favoured by businessmen and Thai society alike, for hosting one-of-a-kind events, meetings and weddings. With sustainability being in the core of the hotel DNA, it became the first in the world to achieve an ISO 20121 certification for Sustainability Event Management System. Not only does the hotel offer 5,600 sqm of creative, flexible function spaces, each of the 374 guestrooms and suites boasts a neo-colonial inspired design which recently won a Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing