We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, bad commercial policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Rooms, service, bed, food, location: everything is good in this hotel, the club lounge is excellent.
The problem for me was that 2 days before leaving from Italy to Bkk I received an email from the commercial dpt of the hotel asking for details on my flight and arrival time, that I promptly sent. Few hours later I receveid another email with the extracharge for an early check in (almost all flights from Europe arrive in Bkk early in the morning). I was very surprised: after more than 20 trips to Bkk and stays in different hotels, I was never required to pay an extracharge for an early check in... Not only, but in the same hours I received from a qualified Asian web site an offer for the same hotel at a rate more than 30% cheaper than the official lowest rate of the hotel and of the rate I had (unfortunately) prepaid. The full amount of such (cheaper) rate per day was lower than the extracharge the hotel has proposed to me for some hours of early check in! Never more prepaid rates with this hotel! In Bangkok usually it's not a problem to find an hotel also few hours before the arrival and if a commercial policy lake this is applied, I think to change hotel is mandatory!

Room Tip: club rooms with the use of the club lounge are more expensive but very good, with a level of service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salgiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear salgiam,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

I am glad to know that overall you found our hotel to be of standard and our club lounge to be excellent. However please be advised that your feedback of our early check-in policy is of my great concerns, I will look into this matter with my team and find a suitable solution. Please take note that we do guarantee the best available rate of the day and I hope you could contact us with more information of the qualified Asian website.

I sincerely hope that you would not judge us solely on this experience and consider staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,400 - 1,406 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Finely connected to different routes the hotel is safely accessible to and from.If the demonstration is on wireless road-you can come and go from behind or side whatever need maybe which was very useful if I was staying in Siam Square area or Rajdamri road.The hotel is very well managd great pool,great food and great ball room facilities(I attended a wedding there),fantastic business facilities and great lobby bar.

Room Tip: You can book a front side room overlooking beautiful gardens of US Embassy residentiaL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Anthony577,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Our hotel is indeed located in a strategic area with multiple accesses from several roads, such as Wireless Road, Ruamwadee Road and Sukhumvit Road, which provides our guests easy access to the hotel. I am glad that you found our hotel to be well-managed providing great facilities for business and wedding functions. It brings me great delight to also know that our food selection was to your liking.

Thank you once again for your kind remarks, we hope to have the pleasure of your company at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is probably my eighth or ninth stay over the years at the Plaza Athenee in Bangkok, Thailand. Things that I really like about Starwood property are its great customer service, including the staff (particularly Khun Nat) of the Royal Club Lounge. Its location close to the BTS Ploenchit Station, wonderful breakfast buffet, the spaciousness of the rooms, and great spa and pool facilities make for a winning combination.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NICHOLAS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear NICHOLAS K,

Thank you for taking your time to share your kind feedback on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you found the service provided by our associates to be outstanding and that you thoroughly enjoyed our signature Le Méridien breakfast We do indeed enjoy a central location, near Bangkok’s popular shopping mall such like Siam Paragon, Central World, Platinum Mall to name a few.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Although there are many good business hotels in Bangkok, this is my favorite hotel for my business trips to Bangkok. The service is good and it is worthwhile to upgrade to the club floor/rooms where the service is excellent. The hotel is walking distance to the MRT and several embassies and office buildings.

Room Tip: You should try to upgrade to club room and floor. It is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerkwijk1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Kerkwijk1972,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is certainly brightens my day to know that we are your favorite hotel for your business trips to Bangkok. I am also delighted that you chose to experience our Royal Club which does offer some exceptional benefits such as afternoon tea, evening cocktails, which includes an open bar with a selection of drinks and hors d'oeuves to name a few. We are indeed centrally located in the heart of Bangkok and I am glad that you find it convenient.

Thank you once again for your kind remarks, we hope to welcome you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We spent three nights in late Nov 13 and I must say I wished it was longer. We stayed in a Royal Club Room which was perfect for our needs and the Club Lounge access was fantastic. Even by Thai standards the service and attention in the Club Lounge was sensational. Extra special mention must go to Ep who was so friendly and charming and made our stay there really special. Also Nat and Marisa who were great. The location is very close to Ploenchit Station which gives access within a few stops to all the major shopping malls, there is a cut through the adjacent office which gives escalator access to the station if you have trouble with stairs. The hotel is situated about a ten minute walk from Lumpini Park so if you are a keen walker or jogger it is an ideal route to take. Can't say how much we enjoyed this hotel, take the Club Lounge option and relax in comfort after the buzz of Bangkok. Most highly recommended

Room Tip: Royal Club room was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Robert A,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is certainly rewarding when valued guests such as yourselves appreciates the personalized service of several of our associates in the Royal Club, I will be sure to share your kind feedback with them to further reinforce all their efforts. We do indeed enjoy a central location, minutes’ walk from the Ploen chit BTS station as well as the Lumpini Park and several shopping centers, I am delighted that you found it convenient.

Thank you once again for your kind remarks, we hope to have the pleasure of your company at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here again as this luxury hotel has all that one could want. Great restaurants, convenient location, professional and friendly staff, as well as comfort and class at every turn. We enjoy the Royal Club lounge benefits and use it as a base for mid-day and pre-dinner drinks and snacks. The breakfast buffet is top notch with the customary great service we've come to expect and enjoy. Smooth Curry stands heads above all other "Thai original" restaurants either in a hotel or elsewhere in BKK. Concierge service is exceptional and I would hightly recommend this hotel to anyone for any visit to the City of Angels. Perfection is hard to come by but Plaza Athenee approaches that standard.

Room Tip: Royal Club lounge is a great addition but all rooms are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Critical1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Critical1,

Thank you for staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support, we are privileged to have a loyal guests such as yourselves. Our Royal Club does indeed offer some fantastic benefits and I am delighted that you appreciate them. I will also be sure to share your kind feedback with Chef Jasvir and her team in our award-winning Smooth Curry Royal Thai restaurant. I am also glad that our Concierge team was able to assist you during your stay.

Thank you once again for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

As hotels go Athenee was really perfect.

Location is right in the middle of everything so it wasnt far too go to temples or shopping or restaurants or anything. and public transport links from here are good so didnt need to get stuck in traffic much.

The service staff at front office were really professional but at the same time personal touch and nice. Also met one housekeeper who was VERY nice and sweet.

The room was absolutely amazing with a really good view. The bathroom and bedroom were both done with expensive high quality everything. and every amenity was there. Spot on.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Moonwalker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Moonwalker78,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

Being described as a perfect hotel certainly is one of the greatest compliments we can receive from a valued guest such as yourself. I am glad that you appreciate our central location only minutes from the BTS as well as several major shopping malls and attractions. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our associates, I will be sure to share them with the team.

Thank you once again for your kind review, we hope to have the pleasure of your company at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 894 in Bangkok
8,861 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 894 in Bangkok
4,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 61, Witthayu Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £133 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing