We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #42 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel his full of advantages.
High class .very reasonable rates .staff professional.food :quality and choice.rooms are clean with a good quality of bed.
Situation :near sukhumvit but quite and close BTS station. We give 5 stars!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hhad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Hhad55,

Many thanks for posting this positive review for Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien. We are very pleased to learn that our hotel facilities, services and location have met your expectation and your 5 star rating for our hotel are truly appreciated. We hope there will be soon an opportunity to welcoming you back again.

I would also like to take this opportunity to wish you a very happy New Year.

Kind regards

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    467
    113
    24
    27
See reviews for
240
479
215
660
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

As in my earlier review of 2 years ago--in my traveling experiences it is the people as much or more so that determines the level of rating and pleasure a hotel or other establishment gives. I found the good morning Mr. Nelson, at 2 am after my flight had arrived another sign that things had not changed very much over the years. I was not on business this time, so specifically came to Bangkok for pleasure, having a number of hotels to choose from, I still came back to the Athenee. I know they have your name in the computer, but it just seem more genuine and the staff truly attempts to take their known professionalism and welcome to that extra level.

Yes, the rooms may be dated (?? I didn't notice as they are large, comfortable, very clean and well supplied with extra's) but I did notice that major renovations are scheduled for 2014. The facility itself was very nicely in tune to the season.

I have tried to tell my co-workers what a great hotel experience this is, and it is close to our Thailand base of operations, but like many of us they are caught up in the "points" system and have to stay at the other places. I have a suggestion-- join the SPG program as i have found it to be very good reward system. It is located outside of the "hot" spots-- but close to shopping and nice experiences around the area.

My first night, I too experienced a little "less service" at the club room, the staff seemed more intent on talking with themselves then servicing the customers-- but that was just one night and we all have off nights. The rest of the week that great pineapple service came back with a smile.

The dining area is nicely decked out in the Christmas Holiday spirit; and the same universal great breakfast is there.

I did not experience some of the late/early check in problems that others experienced-- lucky i just guess because they allowed us a very late checkout because we had an evening flight. I checked in real early also-- but figured that I would just pay for the night as did not expect a room at 2 am.

I would say the only down size-- and i would assume it is the same at all the big hotels-- is the Spa packages. They really are out of many price ranges, comparable to same Spa Package prices in DC. However, the people there were pleasant, and it looked nice; it would be great if the prices were better than even with the 15% discount. However, there are many massage and spa type options within 5-10 min walk of the hotel (try the Touch great local place) and the staff more than happy to help you find your away around the area.

We had the privilege of coming on the Kings Birthday; what a nice treat as we were invited by the Manager to share in the songs, and candle lighting ceremony that evening. A nice turnout and the type of event that is special and makes the guests feel even more part of the hotel and the country. Lots of pictures were taken, would love to have some of them.

Finally got chance to hang out at the pool-- the water is cool but very refreshing. Your first day you are greeted with some chilled fruit and cool towel-- and a warm smile-- another nice touch.

I hope the Athenee continues their great service and touches that so many here have written about. It would be shame if things changed as management changed, economy changed or renovations occurred. Several of the service people were very friendly, enjoyed talking with us and sharing their lives and practicing their English. I really enjoy that part of the traveling experience and would encourage more guests to reach out-- and more service people to engage English speakers for learning on both sides.

So, see you on my next trip..............

Room Tip: Get the breakfast and club room package-- save money in the long run and have a much better experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Thor54,

Thank you for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing a detailed feedback on TripAdvisor.

It brightens my day to have read your review as it brings inspiration to me and all the associates in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel to know that the excellent service we strive to deliver on a daily basis is being appreciated from valued guests such like yourself.

We are indeed planning soft refurbishments of our guestrooms early next year to ensure that all valued guests continue to enjoy the highest standard of amenities as well as services. Thank you for recommending our hotel to your co-workers. The SPG program does reward guests with points whenever they stay or dine in any Starwood hotels. In addition, the points accumulated have many benefits such like exchange for stays in hotels.

I am also delighted to know that you were one of the many guests who celebrated the event we held to commemorate the King’s Birthday. We will definitely be delighted to share the pictures with you. Please contact us at our email: bc.bangkok at lemeridien.com. Thank you for your providing your feedback on your experience at our Le Royal Club Lounge as well as the pricing of our spa. Please be assured that it will be shared and review by the teams.

We would most definitely continue the tradition of providing professional, friendly and only the highest standard of service. Our associates truly enjoy communicating with guests as it allows them to improve their communication skills as well as garner travelling experience.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback, we hope to have the pleasure of sharing life experience with you at
the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Gilles Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is a very good spa. Very good spa. The ambience of the spa was excellent.
The two therapists who took care of us, Ms Maew and Ms May were both very good and attentive.
Service overall was excellent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Foodie234050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Foodie234050,

Thank you for visiting Spa Athénée at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you found the service and ambience provided by associates of Spa Athénée to be of excellence. I will pass-on your kind feedback of Ms Maew and Ms May to them.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope to have the pleasure of providing you another excellence service with us at the Spa Athénée in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gilles Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Generally good hotel. No major complaints, but also missing that something @special@. However tired and in need for renovation. The phone in my room was most probably most ancient one I have seen in years.Good breakfast and efficient reception staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Kasparainens,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you found our hotel to be generally good. For your information, we are planning a soft refurbishment for our hotel early next year.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope that you would consider staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
484 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

As a frequent traveler to Bangkok for several years, we have always stayed at the Plaza Athenee. I have given raving reviews except the last one where we experienced poor service in their Executive level. But in May of this year I booked for December at the Plaza despite my Gold Status with Marriott right up the road closer to the sky train and offering deep discounts like all hotels this December (tourism is down). In the past, when we checked in early morning due to flights we had no issue getting rooms or getting an extension for a Gold Starwood an hour extra. This year, with business down clearly, it’s clear that they have been told to maximize revenues. Gone is their courtesy early check in (despite low occupancy). I received emails about extra room charges arriving early or even staying an hour later. We have 2 rooms as my kids are travelling and other Marriott/Starwood/Hilton properties have all accommodated our request, allowing us to use one room for late check-out or guaranteed early check-in. Be careful if you are coming, make sure you check with them or other hotels first so you are not subjected to this "nickel and diming" which is surprising especially for frequent stay members. At long last, I will probably shift next time to another hotel that values my business. It’s a shame as the Athenee has been a great place to stay before. I see other guests have noticed this change also and noted "bad commercial policy".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank EliteTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guyana1234,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us despite having a Gold membership with JW Marriott. I am truly concern that we your expectations was not met during your recent stay with us. For your information, our regular check in time is 2 p.m and check out time is noon as applied in our Starwood properties and display at our reception.
This early arrival or late checkout fee is to guarantee the room and used by many of our guests to secure their room availability. Complimentary Early check in or Late checkout will always be subject to space and availability upon arrival and if we are running high occupancy, room may not be available at 8 am.

I believe we always do our utmost to accommodate guest upon they arrival as we have done for your room in the past. We offer this extra guarantee option if the guest wishes to select it and when we noticed an early arrival in the hotel. I sincerely hope that you would consider staying with us again at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Rooms, service, bed, food, location: everything is good in this hotel, the club lounge is excellent.
The problem for me was that 2 days before leaving from Italy to Bkk I received an email from the commercial dpt of the hotel asking for details on my flight and arrival time, that I promptly sent. Few hours later I receveid another email with the extracharge for an early check in (almost all flights from Europe arrive in Bkk early in the morning). I was very surprised: after more than 20 trips to Bkk and stays in different hotels, I was never required to pay an extracharge for an early check in... Not only, but in the same hours I received from a qualified Asian web site an offer for the same hotel at a rate more than 30% cheaper than the official lowest rate of the hotel and of the rate I had (unfortunately) prepaid. The full amount of such (cheaper) rate per day was lower than the extracharge the hotel has proposed to me for some hours of early check in! Never more prepaid rates with this hotel! In Bangkok usually it's not a problem to find an hotel also few hours before the arrival and if a commercial policy lake this is applied, I think to change hotel is mandatory!

Room Tip: club rooms with the use of the club lounge are more expensive but very good, with a level of service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salgiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear salgiam,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

I am glad to know that overall you found our hotel to be of standard and our club lounge to be excellent. However please be advised that your feedback of our early check-in policy is of my great concerns, I will look into this matter with my team and find a suitable solution. Please take note that we do guarantee the best available rate of the day and I hope you could contact us with more information of the qualified Asian website.

I sincerely hope that you would not judge us solely on this experience and consider staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Finely connected to different routes the hotel is safely accessible to and from.If the demonstration is on wireless road-you can come and go from behind or side whatever need maybe which was very useful if I was staying in Siam Square area or Rajdamri road.The hotel is very well managd great pool,great food and great ball room facilities(I attended a wedding there),fantastic business facilities and great lobby bar.

Room Tip: You can book a front side room overlooking beautiful gardens of US Embassy residentiaL
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Anthony577,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Our hotel is indeed located in a strategic area with multiple accesses from several roads, such as Wireless Road, Ruamwadee Road and Sukhumvit Road, which provides our guests easy access to the hotel. I am glad that you found our hotel to be well-managed providing great facilities for business and wedding functions. It brings me great delight to also know that our food selection was to your liking.

Thank you once again for your kind remarks, we hope to have the pleasure of your company at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Sivatel Bangkok
#63 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a leafy boulevard in the city centre of Bangkok, the hotel is a short walk (3 minutes) from Ploenchit BTS skytrain station and the new Central Embassy luxury shopping mall and close to the city's other premier malls, including Central World, Siam Paragon and EM District. The hotel is also renowned for warm and attentive service and modern facilities including the sumptuous newly remodelled lagoon-landscaped Swimming Pool + Fitness Athénée. Choose among 374 sumptuously remodelled guestrooms + suites in exquisite contemporary Thai colonial style conceptualised by an award-wining Thai designer with royal heritage elegance and deep-rooted environment awareness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing