We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel food in the world...and so much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #42 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best hotel food in the world...and so much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I recently completed a second two-week stay at the Plaza Athenee in Bangkok. The staff and service in this hotel are simply world-class. While there are occasional language miscues, there is never a doubt that the entire team at the hotel understands quality and caring customer service. And the land of smiles is always on full display with the entire Thai and international staff. It is a pleasure to be so warmed greeted as a guest.

I also want to comment on the absolutely superb cuisine at the hotel. From evening happy hours w snacks and afternoon high tea in the executive lounge on floor 26 to a breakfast buffet of the highest quality and variety, the Plaza Athenee for me, a very well-traveled guy, has the best hotel cuisine in the world. Smooth Curry, the Thai restaurant on site, is of particular note as is the poolside cafe, The View.

The hotel gym and spa are well-attended and immaculately clean. The entire property is very well-maintained and super centrally located.

The highest of thumbs up for the people of the Plaza Athenee!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear DJTravelBoy,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent experience with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

It certainly is rewarding when a valued guest such as yourself offers such positive feedback, it is a true testimony to all the efforts our associates put forth and I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Our award winning Smooth Curry restaurant does indeed feature world class Thai cuisine and we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed dinning there along with several of our other exceptional venues in the hotel. I am also glad that you appreciated all the benefits and facilities associated with our Le Royal Club and that you also took the opportunity to make use of some of our leisure facilities such as our Gym and Spa.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    467
    113
    24
    27
See reviews for
240
479
215
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Daejeon, South Korea
Level Contributor
82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I recently completed a two night a stay at the Plaza Athenee and stayed in a Deluxe Suite with scenic views of the American Embassy and its surroundings. The suite, while well maintained and kept in immaculate condition, feels somewhat dated to the late 1990's. However, the hotel is supposed to start a 2 year renovation process this summer, so this point will soon be moot.

As part of the room rate, access to the spacious club lounge is included. Evening cocktails (from 6-8 pm) include a decent rotating selection of food and open bar. Service in the lounge was prompt and attentive, with drink orders and special requests being remembered. Also included was the expansive breakfast buffet in the main restaurant, The Rain Tree Cafe. The buffet had high quality selections from Asian, Indian, and Western cuisines.

The hotel is a quick 5 minute walk from the BTS Ploenchit Station and is two stops away from the shopping centres in Siam and the touristy pubs/restaurants of Sukhumvit.

Overall, the Plaza Athenee is a classic, reliable choice in Bangkok. However, in a city with a glut of hotel rooms, the Plaza Athenee lacks a certain 'wow' factor for the traveler faced with a multitude of choices. Regardless, I was very satisfied with my stay and wouldn't hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Keane N,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Our Le Royal Club does offer valued guests a host of excellent benefits and facilities and we are delighted you appreciated them. We are indeed initiating a refurbishment of our guestrooms later this year to ensure that our valued guests continue to receive the highest standard of facilities. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed our signature Le Méridien Breakfast in The Rain Tree Café and that you also appreciated our central location, just moments walk from the BTS.

Thank you once again for your kind remarks, we hope to have the pleasure of your company at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We are return guests to this hotel, we choose the CLUB ROOMS when we stay here, the service, and friendliness are fantastic. The Club facilities are worth the extra, high tea in the afternoons and cocktails in the evenings. The hotel is well situated near the skytrain, Central department store 5 mins walking away. The pool is amazing with incredible views of Bangkok and my gym junkie son was very impressed with the gym facilities. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable, the coffee machine in the room is a bonus. The club rooms also gave us free Wi Fi access both in the lounge and in our room which is a must to stay I touch with family at home
Highly recommended for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Dianne H,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and sharing such a kind review on TripAdvisor.

It is rewarding when valued guests such as yourselves share such positive feedback. I am delighted that you thoroughly appreciate all the benefits and facilities that are included with our Le Royal Club Rooms. I am also thrilled that you enjoy our lagoon style swimming pool and that your son was pleased with our Fitness Center.

Thank you once again for your feedback and your recommendation. The team and I are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Well located, friendly staff and decent size rooms. One of the best Breakfast Buffets. But the "extras" are missing. For example the pool is not very luxurious and spa and salon services are disappointing. Probably better for business travelers than leisure travellers

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StyleSujata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear StyleSujata,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our signature Le Méridien Breakfast Buffet in the Rain Tree Café and that you found our associates to be friendly. Please note that we are currently in the process of refurbishing guestrooms and some of our leisure facilities this year to ensure that our valued guests continue to receive the highest standard of facilities. Thank you for sharing your feedback, it is of great importance to us as it allows us to monitor and improve our service offerings.

May I thank you once again for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.


Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here 5 nights over the New Year. I would love to give it an excellent rating but for me the internal design let it down badly. It was mostly in those dreary American hotel browns and beiges with no wow factor, a corporate business hotel even though it was full of tourists. The outside appearance was entirely different and the pool area splendid.

When we booked several months beforehand, we noticed that because of the free breakfast it was actually cheaper to book a club room. This proved very good value. It gave us a better room on the 21st floor with a great view of Bangkok's towers and also access to our own helpful concierge in the club area on the 26th floor. There was a serious lack of information in the room, nothing at all about Bangkok and how to get around. It was only by clues on the television presentation that we were able to work out where the pool was. There was nothing to tell us that cocktails in the downstairs bar were free to club customers before 8pm or that we got a discount in the restaurants. However the room was near-perfect, with a good bathroom, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and delicious ground coffee for the coffee maker.

The breakfasts were superb. Service throughout the hotel was very good indeed and gay-friendly. It may be no co-incidence that many of those staying were lesbian or gay. I do recommend it, though a little grudgingly.

Room Tip: Choose a club room. You get so much more for little if anything extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sussexrowmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear sussexrowmark,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your experience of the Royal Club Lounge and that our associates provided you with good service. Guests staying in our exclusive Royal Club do indeed receive a host of additional benefits and facilities and I am thrilled that you appreciated them. Please note that we are currently in the process of refurbishing guestrooms this year in order to ensure that our guests continue to receive the high standard of the facilities. Your feedback is of great importance to us as it allows us to continuously monitor and improve our service offerings, thank you once again for sharing this.

We hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Hotel very well located, friendly and professional service.
This hotel could be highly rated IF tbe rooms are refurbished.
The rooms have not been renovated since my stay 10 years ago.carpets old and worn.
This hotel is well located and very convenient to the skytrain.

Room Tip: High floors have nice views of bangkok
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Ronnie S,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Our associates do indeed strive to offer all our guests friendly and professional hospitality and I am thrilled that you appreciated it. We are also glad that you found our hotel to be well located and that you enjoyed the scenic views of Bangkok from your room. Kindly note that we are currently in the process of refurbishing guestrooms this year in order to ensure that our guests continue to receive the high standard of the facilities.

Thank you once again for your kind remarks, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Due to the demonstrations we had to change our plans and this meant a change of hotel.We were originally slap bang in the middle of one of the demos at the Intercontinental but took advice from locals to move to plaza athenee.Its a lovely if slightly dated hotel.Buffet breakfast very good and right next to the BTS at Ploenchit really excellent for getting around and close enough to a lot of the shopping areas to walk if you want.
Only negative was that it was expensive,we were charged 5200 baht +taxes for a double room,seems very expensive particularly in light of the demonstrations,I would have thought closer to 4000 would have been a fairer rate but we had no time to shop around.
A very nice stay in a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PW28603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear PW28603,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you appreciated our central location and that you also enjoyed our signature Le Méridien Breakfast Buffet. Please note that we are currently in the process of refurbishing guestrooms this year in order to ensure that our guests continue to receive the high standard of the facilities. Should you be planning a visit to Bangkok in the near future, kindly do visit our Special Offers page on our website, here we feature a wide variety of special offers and savings that I am sure you will find good value in.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Sivatel Bangkok
#63 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a leafy boulevard in the city centre of Bangkok, the hotel is a short walk (3 minutes) from Ploenchit BTS skytrain station and the new Central Embassy luxury shopping mall and close to the city's other premier malls, including Central World, Siam Paragon and EM District. The hotel is also renowned for warm and attentive service and modern facilities including the sumptuous newly remodelled lagoon-landscaped Swimming Pool + Fitness Athénée. Choose among 374 sumptuously remodelled guestrooms + suites in exquisite contemporary Thai colonial style conceptualised by an award-wining Thai designer with royal heritage elegance and deep-rooted environment awareness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing