We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #27 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel made us enjoy our time in Bangkok. We were highly welcomed. The breakfast has great variety and is simply delicious! The hotels location is perfect for easy transportation as it is right next to skytrain station! Enjoyed the pool in the middle of the sky rises!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Rana K,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is truly inspiring to know that we were able to make your time in Bangkok enjoyable. We are thrilled that you found our new signature Le Méridien breakfast to be delicious and that you appreciated our central location, only minutes walk from the Phloen Chit BTS station. Our lagoon styled swimming pool does indeed provide a haven for relaxation and we are delighted that you took the time to enjoy it.
Thank you once again for sharing your kind feedback. We are all looking forward to providing you with another memorable stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind Regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    493
    116
    25
    27
See reviews for
252
501
228
754
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Murnau, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

After a short night (Flight from India) i reached Bangkok ynd arrived at the plaza Athenee Bangkok. The welcome was very friendly and uncomplicated, everybody was used to do his best and helped me to feel more than comfortable. The location is perfect, in 3 minutes you can reach the BTS and you will all possibilities to enjoy the city. The Club Lounge is perfect as well as the rooms from the Hotel
All in all I would say. "A peferct place to relax"

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gecko007Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Gecko007Munich,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is an honour to know that you feel that our hotel is “A perfect place to relax” and I am also thrilled that our associates made you feel welcome and comfortable. Our Le Royal Club Lounge provides a haven for relaxation and we are delighted that you appreciated it along with our central location, only minutes walk from the Ploenchit BTS station.

Thank you once again for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Everything about my stay with above-and-beyond. From the unsolicited cake delivered to my room on my birthday, to the assistance from the staff in booking spa treatments (english is not widespread in many establishments, so this was truly a gift) and the superior all-around service: I would not stay elsewhere in Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntiAmbivalence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear AntiAmbivalence,

Firstly, I would like to wish you a belated happy birthday and hope that you have a fantastic year ahead. Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We believe in going the extra step for valued guests such as yourselves and we are thrilled that you appreciate it. Thank you for highlighting the good English communication skills of our associates, I will definitely share it with the team. Spa Athénée does indeed provide some exceptional treatments like our signature blood type therapy and I am delighted that you took the time to treat yourself in the Spa.

It is truly an honor to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to having the opportunity to provide you with another above-and-beyond experience during your next visit to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

After walking into the lobby and having seen the photo of the hotel pool area, I probably have too much expectation for the room. While the room is nice, I have stayed at much nicer rooms in Bangkok area that are less expensive. A nearby Renaissance Ratchaprosong is closer to shopping area( and less expensive with a nicer room ). I also got better upgrade there as Marriott Gold compare to here as a Starwood Platinum. May be, I was spoiled by the stays at royal Orchid Sheraton And Le Meridien immediately before plaza athenee where I was upgrade to spectacular 2 rooms suite at both properties.
The plus side here is the lobby area, the wonderful pool, and the club lounge that look nicer than the other 2 starwoods hotel but you will get a better value and better SPG recognition elsewhere. The location is convenient to Ploenchit BTS station using short cut to the back of the hotel. Next BTS stop is Chitlom where you can walk to Central Word, Siam Paragon via Ratchaprasong skywalk. One of a hotel restaurant, Silk Road has good Dim Sum although I like Feiya at Renaissance Ratchaprasong better which has a really good Peking Duck.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PP2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear PP2603 ,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are delighted that you liked our grand lobby, lagoon-styled swimming pool and our exclusive Le Royal Club Lounge. Please note that this year we are initiating a refurbishment of our guestrooms to ensure that our valued guests continue to receive the highest standard of facilities. Your feedback is of great importance to us as it allows us to continuously monitor and improve our service offerings, thank you once again for sharing this.

We are thrilled that you had the chance to experience our Silk Road restaurant and that you enjoyed the Dim Sum. Please be sure to try Chef Kam’s signature Peking Duck on your next visit, it certainly delights even the most discerning of diners. In addition to this fantastic Cantonese Restaurant on the 3rd floor, we also feature a traditional Thai Restaurant called Smooth Curry; a modern French Restaurant called The Reflexions and a traditional Japanese restaurant called Utage.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

have stayed at this hotel many times and it continues to bring me back. Location is ideal with a 5min walk to sky train(which is key given Bangkok traffic!), excellent facilities in the gym and an oasis of the pool, great breakfast with huge choice.Typically get a club room and the evening drinks and cocktails are provided with great service, with a special to Paul. Staff are very quick and reliable to assist in any questions, recommendations, issues you may have. Overall cannot fault this hotel and given value for money very hard to surpass.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear christor71,

Thank you for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and taking time to share such kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is always encouraging to receive such positive feedback from a loyal guest such as yourself. Thank you for your kind comments on our associates and for highlighting Paul in Le Royal Club, I will be sure to share this with him and the team as it certainly reinforces all their efforts put forth. We are also thrilled that you appreciate so many of the leisure facilities available, such as our lagoon styled tropical swimming pool and our extensive gym. During your next stay with us, please be sure to try some of the new breakfast specialty items that we now have available on our signature Le Méridien breakfast buffet in The Rain Tree Café.

Thank you once again for your positive review, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
374 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A wonderful class hotel. Entrance is large, very spacious and beautiful. The space gives the feeling of breathing in clean air. The outside has lots of greenery and gives a peaceful atmosphere. The rooms are very clean. This time we stayed twice in this hotel, once we were upgraded and given rooms on 25th Royal Club floor and second time on 22nd floor. Both times we got rooms with excellent views of the city and park. The rooms have all basic equipments like Pressing Board and iron, electric cattle, Tea and coffees, safe box, toiletries, hair dryer, dressing gowns, sandals etc. Royal floors had several bottles of water as complimentary everyday. The rooms are spacious, well lit and so are the washrooms. The restaurant offered wide varieties of food during breakfast time. We really enjoyed the tropical fruits and continental, oriental, Thai food for breakfast in the very widely spread out restaurant. The whole ambiance was awesome. Next to the restaurant on the ground floor lobby area was the well decorated bar. We had our complimentary Coffee there.
The hotel is very close BTS station Ploen Chit. Taxis are also readily available. The very well mannered staff are always there to help. We had wonderful sojourn for some days in busy Bangkok city at Plaza Athene.

Room Tip: Top floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaniz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Kachipata,

Thank you for sharing such kind feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are fortunate to be centrally located with such a fantastic setting surrounding the hotel and we are thrilled that you appreciated it along with so many of the facilities that we have available. Our signature Le Méridien breakfast in The Rain Tree Café does indeed provide an extensive selection of mouthwatering cuisine and we are delighted you enjoyed it. We are also happy that you had the chance to experience The Glaz Bar, our chic and cosmopolitan bar which provides an intimate venue for enjoying an illy cup of coffee, creative cocktails, local and international beers, and tantalizing tapas. Thank you for your feedback regarding our associates, I will be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback. We hope that there will be another chance to welcome you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It is a very good hotel with very comfortable bedding.We were very happy with the service and facilities. Great bed, very comfortable.not too far from bts sky train.The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleLee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear NicoleLee55,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien.

It is rewarding to know that you not only felt that our hotel was very good, but that you also highlighted our associates, which you found to be very friendly and helpful. I will be sure to share your praises with the team to further reinforce all their efforts. Our signature Le Méridien Bed does indeed provide an exceptional nights rest and we are thrilled that you appreciated it along with several of our other services and facilities.

Thank you once again for your kind comments. I hope that there will be another chance to welcome you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#16 of 858 in Bangkok
3,115 reviews
Sivatel Bangkok
#64 of 858 in Bangkok
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien is a luxury hotel located in the commercial heart of Bangkok, steps from Phloenchit skytrain station. Offering 28 function spaces, it is favoured by businessmen and Thai society alike, for hosting one-of-a-kind events, meetings and weddings. With sustainability being in the core of the hotel DNA, it became the first in the world to achieve an ISO 20121 certification for Sustainability Event Management System. Not only does the hotel offer 5,600 sqm of creative, flexible function spaces, each of the 374 guestrooms and suites boasts a neo-colonial inspired design which recently won a Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing