We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel to stay in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #14 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was our first time in Bangkok. We loved the hotel. The rooms are nice, very friendly and helpful staff. The facilities are nice and a nice, cozy pool. just 2 min walk away from train stations.Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwinhage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear edwinhage,

Many thanks for staying with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

It certainly is rewarding when valued guests such as yourselves thoroughly enjoys their stay with us. Our lagoon styled swimming pool does indeed provide a haven for relaxation and we are delighted that you appreciated it along with our central location, only minutes walk from the Phloen Chit BTS station. Thank you for your feedback regarding our associates, I will be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 2,298 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was not my first stay here but even more comfortable than previous ones, wonderful Spa service and the hotel staff is so helpful. Great service at rain tree café, particularly Mrs. Pranee showed incredible kindness and customer care focus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 923Alessandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear 923Alessandra,

Thank you for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

Customer care is undoubtedly one of our key focus areas within the hotel and it is rewarding to know that you appreciated our efforts along with the extra kindness and care that Pranee showed. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team to further reinforce their efforts. I am also delighted that you took the chance to make use of some of our leisure facilities such as the Spa Athénée. During your next visit please be sure to try our signature Spa treatment, namely the Immunetra Blood Type massage which makes use of the exclusive range of Spa products by Anne Sémonin.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We all look forward to providing you with another memorable stay during your next visit to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I was there for a conference, also held at the hotel, and the experience was great from beginning to end. The room had all the elements that matter most to me (lots of electrical sockets, big bed, big window, bathrobe/slippers, tea/coffee supplies, good light), the service was top notch, and the food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner (although only tried one restaurant). And it's beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Ann S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel on TripAdvisor.

It certainly is rewarding when we receive such kind feedback from a valued guest such as yourself, thank you. We are thrilled that you not only found the service of our associates to be top notch, but that you also appreciated several of our facilities. Our culinary team strives to deliver memorable meals and we are delighted that you enjoying dining with us.

Thank you once again for your recommendation. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed for five nights for a conference and everything was perfect. Check in was swift and courteous; room was large with high quality fittings and amenities; breakfast choice and quality was excellent. I have a Starwood preferred guest membership and I would recommend everyone to apply for membership before staying. It's free and can be done on their website and at this hotel they have a few floors for SPG members. I'm not sure how much better these floors are than the standard ones, but my room was terrific. Especially liked that the room had 6-7 large bottles of complimentary water refreshed every day. The pool area was really pleasant and the staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scottzbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Scottzbj,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are delighted that your recent stay with us met your expectations. Your positive feedback regarding our service, facilities, guestrooms and variety on our signature breakfast is highly appreciated. We are thrilled that you appreciate your Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) membership, it certainly does give members a host of additional benefits such as 15% savings when you dine in any of our restaurants. Enrolling in SPG is quick and easy and can be done manually in our hotel or via our website.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another flawless stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were at the hotel for one night. From the check in to the check out, the services were superb. Because we visited the hotel the firs time, we were given a very special Thai welcome "bouquet". We were then told to hurry up to go to the lounge before the food would be taken away at 8pm. Great tip. The food in the lounge was plentiful and excellent. We were poured two glasses of wine (free) to go with our food. Because we would leave the hotel at 5:30am to catch the next flight, there were two "breakfast boxes" waiting for us at check out. The box did not contain anything special. But it was the thought and gesture that counted.

In Bangkok, I stayed in the St Regis before. St Regis may be one minor step higher. But considering the price and the services, as aforementioned, I will come back to Plaza Athenee first next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ray820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Ray820,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel on TripAdvisor.

Our team in Le Royal Club strive to go the extra step for all our valued guests and I am delighted that you appreciated their efforts. I hope that on your return to Bangkok you will be able to stay longer so that you may experience some more of the fantastic benefits and facilities that we have available in the hotel, such as our award winning venues located on the 03 floor.

Once again, many thanks for your kind feedback and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Plaza Athenee last Friday and Saturday night. Our first trip to Thailand and this Hotel was simply wonderful. Staff we're lovely and very generous with their conversations. Our suite on the 19th floor was huge, the bed and pillows were very sumptuous. We ate at the hotel restaurants both nights and were not disappointed. The buffet breakfasts were stunning. We are due to return next week and we can't wait, seriously recommend this hotel for a special treat.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Buccasaint,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We truly appreciate your kind remarks regarding our associates and the service they offered you and your wife. Our suites do provide a haven for relaxation and we are delighted that they met your expectations. We endeavor to offer a wide variety of outstanding cuisine in our award winning restaurants and I am thrilled that our culinary team was able to leave you with such a positive impression.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and recommendation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back this week for another enjoyable stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I have come to Bkk for business numerous times over the years. I find the Club level service simply the best. In addition the pool is one of its finest features. So whether it is for business or holiday you will never disappoint with the five star service of Plaza Athenee.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Ted Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Ted Lee F,

Many thanks for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien and for taking your time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

It is always rewarding when a valued guests such as yourself shares such positive feedback, I will definitely share this with the team. We are delighted that you thoroughly appreciate the service of our Le Royal Club associates and that you enjoy our lagoon styled swimming pool.

Once again, many thanks for your kind feedback. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 885 in Bangkok
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 885 in Bangkok
3,608 reviews
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#21 of 885 in Bangkok
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 61, Witthayu Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £94 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing