We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #38 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Plaza Athenee last week May 2014 for a business conference for 5 nights. My room was very clean, with a beautiful city view and I enjoyed the swimming pool. The breakfast was also amazing. I walked to the corner outside hotel where I asked for a taxi. The taxi guys are friendly and for 20baht they took me to MBK shopping centre (5-10min) from hotel. For that price we had to stop at his friends material store first for 5 mins. It is a pricy hotel (5000bht per night ) but I felt safe and for business purposes it was wonderful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Teresa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Teresa v,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and for staying with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Our signature Le Méridien Breakfast offers a wide variety of mouthwatering cuisines and we are delighted you enjoyed it. We are also happy that you enjoyed the view from your room and that you took the time to enjoy our lagoon styled swimming pool. Should you be planning a visit again in the near future, please note that we do feature some exceptional special offer and packages on our Special Offers page on our hotel website.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,290
    483
    115
    24
    27
See reviews for
244
491
221
707
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I had the great pleasure of staying with Le Meridien Plaza Anthenee this past week for a conference, and from the moment I checked in, every effort was made by the staff to ensure my very busy stay was well executed and seamless. From the front desk staff and concierge, through to the restaurant staff who remembered my morning preferences after the first day, I could not have asked for better service. The concierge went out of his way to make recommendations that not only helped me personally, but ensured my clients enjoyed their experiences as well.

The Le Meridien Club Lounge had everything I needed, and again the staff were fantastic. The conference facilities were well appointed, with everything working as expected. Being from North America, I also appreciated how well the air conditioning worked, to help counteract the humidity and temperature in Bangkok.

I would highly recommend the property to any traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Steve C,

I would like to thank you for your support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking the time to share such kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

It certainly is a great honor to receive such positive feedback on our associates in so many areas in the hotel, thank you. Our Royal Club Lounge does indeed offer some excellent benefits and facilities and we are thrilled that you appreciated it. We are also delighted that you were happy with our conference facilities and that your clients were also happy with their experience with us.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. The rooms were clean, beds really comfortable, staff very friendly and very helpful in everything we needed. I particularly enjoyed the pool area. It felt like we were not in the city centre. The location is terrific as traffic can be very busy in Bangkok, so we could walk anywhere. Really pleased with all!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Oz45,

Thank you for sharing such kind feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and that you found our associates to be friendly and helpful. We are thrilled that you liked our signature Le Méridien bed and that you found our close proximity to the Ploenchit BTS Station to be a quick alternative to the heavy Bangkok Traffic. Our lagoon styled swimming pool does indeed provide a haven for relaxation within this vibrant city and we are glad that you enjoyed using it.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to providing you with another enjoyable stay during your next visit to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at Plaza Athenee for a conference and it was an absolute pleasure. The staff wait on you hand and foot and simply cannot do enough for you. Each time I called for something i.e. extra hangers I would receive them promptly and then receive a follow up call to make sure I had received them, it is these little things that make your stay very special.

I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Rain Tree cafe, the buffet breakfast is a lovely spread with everything from the local thai food and dim sum, for those wanting to experience the thai flare, continental breakfasts with lovely fresh exotic fruits and the good old english breakfasts made to order to your preference and a very impressive waffle and pancake stand for the kids (or adults).

The A la Carte menu is just as pleasing as it has foods from all over the world, Indian, Thai, Pizza, Pasta, Burgers, Sandwiches and more. I never had a chance to eat in the other restaurants in the hotel.

The service in the Rain Tree is exceptional, I was travelling on my own but found that I was never short of company as each waiter chatted to me and engaged in pleasant conversation which always feels lovely when you are travelling and dining alone. The manager made a point of chatting to me each day and wishing me well on my last night so look out for Thomas Deledalle the manager and my lovely waiter Sarunyoo.

The rain tree has a beautiful setting looking out onto a fountain feature with the authentic buzz of Bangkok traffic in the background (no noise can be heard, but you can watch the traffic whizz by in the distance) You can step outside into that lovely Bangkok heat and enjoy a drink outside by the fountain and then hear the buzz of Bangkok.

The rooms are perfect for business travel, they have large desks where I worked very comfortably most evenings, always a hot shower and lovely linen. They stock the rooms with plenty of complimentary water, about 6 bottles a day which is useful as I don't think drinking water in Thailand is advisable. They also keep them stocked with complimentary fruit and a little treat each evening when you get back to your room.

There is a gorgeous roof top pool in a very tranquil rooftop garden like setting where you can lie by the pool and gaze at the wonder that is the Bangkok skyline. The spa is also beautiful, I had a manicure and was very impressed at the results.

The location is great, a 2 min walk and you are on the sky walk which can take you straight through all of the biggest and best malls in Bangkok, the furthest being 10 minutes walk to MBK, on your way to MBK you pass Central Embassy and Siam to mention a few, so the perfect spot to be close to the best shopping spots.

Also, the exquisite entrance to the hotel must be mentioned, it really is quite breathtaking when you arrive, jet lagged and annoyed to walk into the most beautiful entrance with a lovely staircase leading to the next floor.

All in all a great trip and I will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear tracey s,

Thank you for staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such a detailed review on TripAdvisor.

It is an absolute delight to know that our associates provided you with both personalized and caring service, this certainly highlights what we strive to offer all our valued guests. Spa Athénée certainly does provide exceptional treatments and we are thrilled that you were happy with your manicure. Our Blood Type Massage is a signature treatment of the Spa Athénée which you should definitely not miss on your next visit!

Thank you for highlighting our award winning restaurant, The Rain Tree Café. We endeavor to offer a wide variety of mouthwatering cuisine on our buffet and we are delighted that you enjoyed all your meals there. I will also be sure to recognize Thomas and Sarunyoo for going the extra step, thank you for highlighting them. I would like to take this oppourtunity to let you know that we have recently had a new luxury shopping mall called Central Embassy that has opened and it is located only 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to share such kind feedback on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had a spectacular time at this hotel for vacation in Bangkok! Here are my thoughts:

Pros:
- Service - great service from the concierge and front desk. Excellent SPG quality - they give you their address, the destination address in thai, and get the taxi for you
- Breakfast - WOW. So many choices. Omelettes, soups, dim sum, and more. Outstanding service, food, drinks, and fruits
- Facilities - pretty good gym. On par with normal SPG, and free bottled waters

Cons:
- Location - not far from everything. In traffic, 1 hour (meh) to the grand palace, but without traffic, only 20 minutes or so. Not the optimal tourist spot, but not poor either
- Restaurants - they gave me a 30% off coupon to 5 restaurants. Price was about $72+ for 2 with some wine. Not bad, but definitely on the higher end for Thailand
- Sketchy cab drivers - this is out of control for the hotel, but they allow normal taxis to come by. A lot of taxis were trying to sell us "boom boom" services, which I thought was a bit unprofessional (again out of control for SPG)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertoW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear AlbertoW1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled that you found the service provided by our Front Office Team to be great and that you thoroughly enjoyed our new signature Le Méridien breakfast. We do indeed feature a variety of award winning Restaurants such as The Reflexions serving French cuisine, Silk Road serving Cantonese cuisine, Utage serving Japanese cuisine and Smooth Curry serving Royal Thai cuisine to name a few. In each of these venues we endeavor to use only the freshest highest quality ingredients to ensure that all our valued guests have an exceptional dining experience and I am delighted you enjoyed your meal with us. As traffic can get quite congested within Bangkok, we recommend that guests make use of the BTS Skytrain which can be accessed via the Phloen Chit BTS station which is only a few minutes’ walk from the hotel. We do also have several shopping malls located near the hotel such as Central Embassy, Siam Paragon and CentralWorld for those looking to do a bit of shopping.

Once again, thank you so much for your kind feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel (mid-floor) for 3 nights in end Apr 2014. Generally, the room furnishing/fitting look rather dated/old. In the room that I stayed, the aircon duct producing humming noise all day and for a light sleeper like me, it can be annoying trying to get a good rest at night. For me, I also do not like the air conditional layout. The cold air blows directly onto my face causing running nose when working on my laptop at the study table. At night, the room temperature refused to go any lower even though I adjusted the temperature to the lowest possible. Therefore, I truly believe some make-over and renovations are due for the hotel.

Location wise, the hotel is near to Ploenchit BTS and is some walking distance to Central World/Siam Paragon. Standard buffet breakfast. The staffs generally provide very good and caring services.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM_SGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear KM_SGP,

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we are in the process of remodeling our guestrooms to ensure that our valued guests continue to receive the highest standard of facilities.

Our hotel is indeed centrally located in the heart of Bangkok and we are delighted that you appreciated our location. We do have a new luxury shopping mall called Central Embassy which has recently opened and it is only five minutes’ walk from the hotel. We are also thrilled that you found our associates offered you good service and that you found them to have a caring nature.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback. I trust that you will not judge us solely based on this experience and would consider to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We been staying this hotel for couple of years now.Great Location, fantastic service, great view, all in all a great hotel which offer little space to complain.Hope to be your guest soon. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashak1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Ashak1971,

Thank you for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such kind words on TripAdvisor.

It certainly is rewarding when a valued guest such as yourself finds our hotel to be great, our service to be fantastic and that you appreciate our central location, thank you. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Sivatel Bangkok
#66 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a leafy boulevard in the city centre of Bangkok, the hotel is a short walk (3 minutes) from Ploenchit BTS skytrain station and Central Embassy luxury shopping mall and close to the city's other premier malls, including Central World, Siam Paragon and EM District. The hotel is also renowned for warm and attentive service and modern facilities including the sumptuous newly remodelled lagoon-landscaped Swimming Pool + Fitness Athénée. Choose among 374 sumptuously remodelled guestrooms + suites in exquisite contemporary Thai colonial style conceptualised by an award-wining Thai designer with royal heritage elegance and deep-rooted environment awareness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing