We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #14 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed one night at this property.

PROS:
1. Buffet wasn't great, but the grilled lobster was the best I've had

CONS:
2. Lobby staff not very attentive -- had a few issues with our reservation and the hotel director did not care to really meet our needs
3. There was a large conference going on, so attention to details and service staff was lacking
4. Got upgraded to a "suite" but it was old, smelled like my grandfather, furniture was falling apart
5. Bed was terrible

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear James L,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are concerned that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Overall customer satisfaction is one of our utmost priorities and I can assure you that such feedback does not represent our normal standards. I do not believe that I had the opportunity to personally meet with you during your stay; however, I would greatly appreciate it if you could take the time to contact me via our hotel website so that I can further understand where we fell short of your expectations.

I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we are in the process of remodeling our guest rooms and suites so that our valued guests continue to experience a highest standard of facilities. We are thrilled that you found the grilled lobster served in The Rain Tree Café to be the best you’ve ever had.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback. We trust that you will not judge us based solely on this experience and would consider staying with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband always chooses to stay at this hotel when on business trips in Bangkok , and I'm so glad he does .
Whilst his stay recently he had a heart attack in the hotel . The hotel Manager Carl and other staff members took control of the situation and called an ambulance . Fortunately for me back home and our 3 kids he survived . The hotel became home for me for 2 weeks until he was fit to fly home . The staff were absolutely amazing and caring. I cannot thank all the staff enough for all their help and quick response . You guys are surely outstanding . It's not that beautiful building , gorgeous rooms, amazing food and great lounge that makes a hotel home . It's the staff that we cannot compare to any in the world .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank mgfg97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear mgfg97,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are all certainly very grateful that your husband is on the road to a speedy recovery. Your kind praise of our team is sincerely appreciated and it is a true testimony to our culture of caring for our guests and ensuring that they have a safe stay with us. I will certainly share your feedback with the team to further reinforce all their efforts. We are also delighted that you appreciated our Royal Club along with the variety of cuisines that we have in the hotel.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back home to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having a few days spare prior to travelling to the UK with my wife, we decided to try the Plaza Athenee. This for the first time. As I travel to Bangkok around 10 times a year, I have stayed in a whole range of 5 star hotels. I have to say that we both thought this was one of the best we had tried and will certainly be returning. Staff were excellent as was the food and ambiance of the whole hotel. well done Plaza Athenee......keep it up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Tim B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such kind feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you feel that you recent stay with us was one of the best experiences you’ve had at a 5 star hotel here in Bangkok, thank you. We do indeed have a wide variety of cuisines available in the hotel and we are thrilled that you appreciated them along with the excellent service of our associates. I will certainly share you kind feedback with the team.

Please allow me to thank you once again for your kind feedback. We are all looking forward to the pleasure of your company in the near future at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I've been staying at this hotel for 7 years and it really is like a home away from home. It's a fantastic property with even more amazing service (not to mention the best breakfast I've found anywhere in Asia). The location is convenient for business, pleasure and transport. Totally recommended for business and holiday travellers alike.

Room Tip: If you are able to indulge a bit, try to go for the executive floor rooms. The executive lounge is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Mark M,

Thank you for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking your precious time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It certainly is rewarding when a valued guest such as yourself offers such positive feedback, it is a true testimony to all the efforts our associates put forth each day, thank you. I will certainly share your feedback with the team. Our hotel does indeed enjoy a central location and we are thrilled that you appreciate it. We endeavor to offer a wide variety of mouthwatering dishes from all over the world on our signature Le Méridien Breakfast buffet in The Rain Tree Café and we are privileged that you find it to be the best breakfast you have found anywhere in Asia.

Thank you once again for your feedback and kind recommendation. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home, the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for many years to come.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our first stay at Plaza Athenee and it won't be our last. Located between Central World and Terminal 21 you couldn't be better located for shopping. Although there are many restaurants in walking distance, you are about a 3-5 min walk from the BTS if you want to venture further. Lumphini park is about a kilometer away but we didn't go because of the protestor camp.
Impressive lobby, nice rooms, comfortable beds all made our stay enjoyable. Staff was friendly and engaging. The pool area was a very nice place to recover from jet lag. Took advantage of the happy hour and were pleasantly surprised to have snacks served with our drinks. Breakfast was very good. Free WIFI in lobby.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wpgoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Wpgoldguy,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking your time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. We do indeed enjoy a central location, only minutes walk from Phloen Chit BTS station and the new luxury shopping mall Central Embassy and we are thrilled that you appreciated it. We would like to let you know that the protestors have now vacated the Lumphini Park and visitors can now go back there. Our associates strive to deliver exceptional customer service and it is pleasing that you found them to be friendly and engaging. Our Happy Hour in The Glaz Bar from 6pm to 8pm offers exceptional value and we are glad that you enjoyed it.

Once again, many thanks for your kind feedback. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wow; what an awesome room; (2419) suite, two toilets one with huge bath and a nice size shower.
Big bedroom; soft bed, good AC, and you need it here at the moment.
Big main TV plus smaller unit in bedroom; plus DVD and quality Bose sound system.
Breakfast included in room rate was very good; service fine and plenty of choice.
Stayed on business for a full week; but location is great in a high end part of town with great BTS connections and plentiful taxi service plus hotel limo etc.
All together recommended; not cheapest but not overly expensive compared to other capital cities with hotels in similar locations.
Also; nearly forgot, great well equipped 24hour gym for residents and a nice pool.

Room Tip: I stayed in suite on 24th floor; really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeHanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear MikeHanlon,

Thank you for taking your time to share such kind feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

It certainly is rewarding when a valued guest such as yourself thoroughly enjoys their stay with us. Our signature Le Méridien Breakfast buffet does indeed showcase a wide variety of mouthwatering cuisines and we are thrilled that you enjoyed it. We are also delighted that you appreciated our 24hr Gym and tropical lagoon styled swimming pool.

Once again thank you for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at the Plaza Athenee some 3 or 4 years back and rated it as "Almost Excellent". My rating remains the same - very comfortable and fully equipped room, incredibly generous breakfast, great conference facilities, friendly and helpful service and a very high standard of cleanliness and hygiene. And if one goes by "location, location, location", then you really couldn't ask for more - the recent coup notwithstanding ! I can only wonder why they insist on charging (heavily) for in-room Internet when most other hotels in Bangkok, even cheaper ones, offer this free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajanNewDelhi_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear RajanNewDelhi_India,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and for staying with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and that our associates provided you with friendly and helpful service. We are indeed centrally located, near the Phloen Chit BTS station as well as several major shopping malls and we are glad that you appreciate it. Please note that we do have a variety of room packages that do include Internet access in the guest room. Several of these packages are available on our special offer page on our website or alternatively you can contact the hotel reservations team directly.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We hope to provide you with another memorable stay during your next visit to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 891 in Bangkok
8,741 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 891 in Bangkok
4,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 61, Witthayu Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £142 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing