We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #14 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

friendly staff, rooms need an update. only a short walk to the skytrain station. elevator sometimes a little delayed. Gym well equiped but small. Nice pool area. Can recomend for all kind of travellers. Very centrally located.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Remo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Remo H,

Thank you very much for your kind recommendation of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

Customer service is one of our main focal points in the hotel and we are delighted that you found our associates to be friendly. We are indeed centrally located in the heart of Bangkok, only 3 minutes walk from the Phloen Chit BTS station and the new luxury shopping mall Central Embassy. We would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we are in the process of remodeling our guestrooms and suites to ensure that our valued guests continue to receive the highest standard of facilities.

Once again, thank you for kind feedback. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 2,292 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Bangkok has always been courteous and kind to its tourists. This hotel went a step ahead with its facilities and its smiling staff. My room overlooked the wonderful skyline of Withayu (Wireless Road) and the US High Commission which was green (and forbidden!) The pool was wonderful and the gym complete in facilities. The buffet was just right - everything for everybody and I loved the spread - never got tired of it in the 4 days I stayed here.
An added advantage was the easy access to the Ploenchit BTS station and the concierge was very helpful as well.
Only one misgiving - they did try to push for some added earnings - were forcing me on email to pay for an early arrival of just few hours. I ignored this email and was greeted courteously enough with a room on arrival. If I had been charged for this, this would have been unlike any other hotel I stay with during my business travel. This time, let's remember the superb service and give them a benefit of doubt, shall we?
Also, there was noise due to renovation but at least they were upfront about it.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a great view especially on the eastern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SourKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear sourav_sil,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Bangkok, the land of thousand smiles is indeed well known for its courteousness and we are delighted that our associates made you feel welcome. We are thrilled that you feel our hotel is one step ahead and that you also appreciated the panoramic views of the city from your room along with our signature Le Méridien Breakfast buffet in The Rain Tree Café. Our lagoon-styled tropical swimming and state-of-the-art gym certainly does provide a great place to exercise and relax and we are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed using our facilities. We are currently undergoing a remodeling project of our guest rooms and suites to ensure our valued guests continue to receive the highest standards of facilities and we have undertaken several measures to ensure any noise disturbance is kept to a minimum. We would like to thank you for your kind understanding and look forward to introducing our fantastic new room product in the coming months.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback. We are all looking forward welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Gyres and safe location (ambassy section of Bangkok, close to bumrungrad hospital), great and huge breakfast. Take the club room, they have amazing free afternoon tea, appetizers and free drinks. Service is excellent, specifically an outstanding job did Goh, Choo Leng (General manager) and Potjanee Darakamas (Director of Revenue Management)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fetscherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear fetscherin,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such kind remarks on TripAdvisor.

We certainly are privileged to have such a central location, in the heart of the city center, close to various embassies and hospitals and we are delighted that you found our location to be safe. Our exclusive Le Royal Club does indeed provide discerning guests a wide variety of additional benefits and facilities and we are thrilled that you appreciated them. I would also like to thank you for your kind praise of the service delivered by our team.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Utage is my favorite japanese restaurant. They serves good meal with good price. Thank you to Khun Nuch and her team for taking good care of me and my guests. I always recommend Utage to my friends as there are wide variety of lunch sets. So delicious, fresh and worth!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangsinee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Rangsinee T,

Many thanks for your kind recommendation of Utage, our Japanese Restaurant in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Every Monday to Friday we showcase a variety of Japanese set lunch options that start from only THB 333 net per person and we are all thrilled that you thoroughly enjoy them. Our Chefs use only the freshest, highest quality ingredients to create truly authentic Japanese cuisine and we are delighted that you can recommend us so highly, thank you. We are also thrilled that you appreciated the service of Khun Nuch and the team, I will be sure to share your feedback with them to further reinforce their efforts.

Thank you once again for your kind remarks, we hope to welcome you and your friends back soon for another memorable meal in Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is really a hotel where you feel "at home" after a day's work! Great spa and pool to relax and a wonderful clublounge with the most amazing staff! Nice spacious rooms, which apparently will be even better after the renovation. And the breakfast buffet in the raintree cafe is the best!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Henri V,

Thank you very much for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a delight to receive such positive feedback from a valued guest such as yourself. We certainly do strive to create a “home away from home” experience for all our guests and we are thrilled that you found staying with us such an experience. Our exclusive Le Royal Club certainly does provide some great benefits and facilities and our associates strive to deliver personalized service which we are all thrilled that you appreciate. Our signature breakfast in the Rain tree Café showcases a wide variety of mouthwatering cuisines and we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoy it. We are indeed currently undergoing a remodeling project of our guestrooms and suites and this will most definitely ensure that our guests continue to receive the highest standard of facilities.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Located across from the American Embassy, the Hotel Athenee was a good base camp for our four nights in Bangkok. The rooms and public areas were in in great shape. The front desk staff was very attentive and helpful. The only negatives were the lack of training in he food and beverage department. We dined one night at Smooth Curry, which was very understaffed and our waiter was not able to answer any of our questions about he menu, level of spiciness, etc. we had drinks and lunch at the pool the next day and it took nearly 20 minutes to mix a cocktail and ankh her 40 minutes for food to arrive. The breakfast buffet has an amazing range that appeared to satisfy almost any ethnic culinary desires.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeAgain8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear cwall,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We certainly are ideally located in the heart of Bangkok, close to the Phloen Chit BTS station and the newly opened Central Embassy luxury shopping mall and we are delighted that you appreciated it. We strive to deliver exceptional customer service and we are thrilled that you found our Front desk associates to be attentive and helpful. We are however concerned with your feedback regarding the service in our venues and I will most definitely look into this matter with the team to ensure that it would not happen again. I trust that you will not judge us based solely on this experience and that you would consider dining with us in our award winning venues in the future. Our signature Le Méridien breakfast buffet in The Rain Tree Café showcases a wide variety of mouthwatering cuisines and we are thrilled that you found it to be amazing.

Thank you once again for sharing this review, such feedback enables us to continuously monitor and improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

good place and comfort ,

utage is japanese resturant delicious and superb menu ,

easy when park and centerpoint in bangkok near BTS and shopping area
5minuites by walk esp. central embassy new luxury departmentstore

excellent i love it






Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Vorakorn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Vorakorn T,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us in Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Our team in Utage strives to deliver truly authentic Japanese cuisine and we are thrilled that you found the menu to be superb and delicious. We are indeed centrally located, only minutes walk from the Phloen Chit BTS station as well as the new luxury shopping mall, Central Embassy and we are pleased that you appreciate it.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback. we are looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable meal in Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 885 in Bangkok
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 885 in Bangkok
3,605 reviews
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#21 of 885 in Bangkok
3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 61, Witthayu Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £123 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing