We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but little service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #39 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
173 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but little service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

The hotel itself is very good and the service friendly but limited. We stayed in an executive room following the suggestion at the reception for a higher price than booked. The room was very nice, with all commodities, the hotel interior nice and cosy, although the common areas are limited. Here are the drawbacks:
- the breakfast area is too crowded every morning and so we had to wait to be seated and got no special treatment
-The surrounding area is not very nice, but it's close to the subway
- the pool has no area for children
- the concierge was too busy and didn't tip us with problems we might have with the locals so we found ourselves in taxis who took us where they wanted to make bargains with colleagues and not to our destination
- in our executive package we had a complementary "pressing" for 2 items per person per stay. That to our mind meant laundry. When charged to pay for the service at the check out, we were told that it meant only "ironing". At my protest, the person at the desk remained impervious to any arguments, including the dictionary.
Overall, we liked the hotel at this level, and will stay again, but only if we get a good deal.

  • Liked — The quality of amenities
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PallasParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    457
    112
    24
    27
See reviews for
235
468
210
642
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

This hotel out of three others has been my favourite in Bangkok to date and plan on returning to this hotel next time.
The hotels locations is excellent within 5 minute walk to Ploenchit BTS stop which provides you with quick transportation to Siam, MBK, Riverside and Mo Chit where the Weekend Market is.
The hotels buffet breakfast was very good with a huge variety of food - very fresh and tasty. The hotels dinner buffet was also good however was not very impressed with Smooth Curry there Thai restaurant.
The hotels rooms were well decorated and designed. They had all the five-star ammenities as well as being very spacious and larger than the rooms in the other hotels I have stayed in (Marriot, Pathumwan Princess and Shangri-La). The beds are not all the comfortable however they are typical Thai hotel style matresses which is common throughout Thailand in all the top hotels as well.
There are two small reasons as to why I would not say this hotel was excellent:
1. The hotel had a conference and was fully booked at the time we were there and with people constantly moving in the lifts it could take 10 minutes to get a lift.
2. The Club staff were not very friendly or professional only one of the ladies were up to skratch. Also the size of the afternoon tea and cocktails canapes table was very small with very little variety over the four nights and were not as good as other club floors.
Over all compared to my other stays in Bangkok I would say this hotel is very good however not excellent and I would return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Club floor staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
226 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

We usually stay at the hotel in a Club room. Location great for most places and near sky train. Room standards here are as good as ever and the Club room one of the best with afternoon cream teas and nice evening snacks and drinks in a spacious club area with free internet. However, a bit fussy maybe but in the past we sometimes used the groundfloor Rain Tree breakfast area rather than club area because choice was better. Unfortunately, the choice and service in Rain Tree definitely deteriorated maybe because due to out of season? Now paper napkins and not linen, and generally poorer presentation - too much vinegar in water for poached eggs etc. Picky but at 5 star needs to keep up standards. Club room breakfast also has less choice - no hash browns, poorer selection of breads, cereals, unasked for splodge of tomato sauce on eggs (!) and most other things and for the only time during the day the service can be infuratingly hit and miss. All still good enough to keep us coming back but for first time thinking of going elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

We had a fantastic stay here at the start of our honeymoon.
The rooms were fantastic and the staff friendly and very helpful.
The hotel is ideally situated near the BTS Sky Train which gives you easy access around bangkok - far easier than car or tuktuk and far cheaper too.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone staying in bangkok.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2007

The Plaza Athenee Bangkok is simply an oasis of tranquility in the bustling heart of Bangkok. The location might be the most functionally practical of any of the top hotels in Bangkok, right in the heart of Wireless Road, just 100 meters from Sukhumvit Rd. and the Ploenchit BTS station on one side, and the All Seasons place shopping center on the other side. It's got all of the luxury, amenities, and outstanding service one would expect of a top tier 5* establishment in the highly competitive Bangkok market, with large, beautifully appointed rooms. The hotel's restaurants are excellent, but pricey, but several very good but more reasonable options are available in the nearby All Seasons Place and Ploenchit shopping centers. But aside from the excellent location, and the expected luxury and service, the Plaza Athenee's best features are the excellent fitness center and the superb, well located, spacious swimming pool, which is probably the largest pool in any hotel in Bangkok, and which certainly provides an appreciated respite from Bangkok's hot, humid climate. The hotel is located quite near Bangkok's legendarily notorious nightlife, but unlike some other nearby choices like the J.W. Marriott, Sheraton Grande, Landmark, or Westin which are right in the midst of it, the Plaza Athenee is just far enough removed so that one need not see this activity at all if you choose not to, but it is just a moderate walk or short BTS ride away if you are curious about it.

  • Liked — Luxurious, great rooms, great pool, great service
  • Disliked — expensive restaurants
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank D1andonlyDman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THAILAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2007

Great location, fabulous staffs. 1st time to stay in 1st week of April at Plaza Athenee, A Royal Meridien Hotel because was unable to book at my regular hotel as been recommended by my office's colleague. I made the right decision to take my colleague's suggestion and will definitely return my stay at this hotel; not previous hotel anymore because of service standard and the most important is STAFF that made me feel like I am staying at home that I never had this experience in any where/any hotels. Greenary road that I never fine/think there will be having this kind of road in the heart of BKK City.

Will definitely return and congratulation to the management that they have FABULOUS STAFFS.

  • Liked — CLEANLINESS, GREENARY VIEW FROM THE HOTEL WHERE IS LOCATED IN THE HEART OF BKK CITY
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jubiesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2007

This is a very solid business-style hotel about a 5 minute walk from the Skytrain. The rooms are spacious, with comfortable beds and a convenient bedside control panel for the lights and climate control system. The bathroom has separate tub/shower, and the shower was quite good, with good water pressure and lots of space. The toiletries were quite nice as well.

We used the pool early one morning. In many ways, the pool area here was the best urban pool spot we encountered, apart from that of the Oriental. The pool itself is tiled in dark blue tile, which gives the whole pool a very inviting feel. The chairs were quite comfortable and there seemed to be plenty of help.

Though we didn't have time to look at the gym, we did have a look. It's nothing special, though certainly fulfills one's needs.

Overall, the level of service here was high.

When you don't want to stay on the river--and in some ways, staying off of the river gives you a better sense of the actual city--this is a good choice, particularly given its location near the Skytrain.

  • Liked — The beautiful pool area
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Sivatel Bangkok
#65 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#35 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#86 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a leafy boulevard in the city centre of Bangkok, the hotel is a short walk (3 minutes) from Ploenchit BTS skytrain station and the new Central Embassy luxury shopping mall and close to the city's other premier malls, including Central World, Siam Paragon and EM District. The hotel is also renowned for warm and attentive service and modern facilities including the sumptuous newly remodelled lagoon-landscaped Swimming Pool + Fitness Athénée. Choose among 374 sumptuously remodelled guestrooms + suites in exquisite contemporary Thai colonial style conceptualised by an award-wining Thai designer with royal heritage elegance and deep-rooted environment awareness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing