We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

A gorgeous hotel right by the royal river. With some 29 stories (the higher you go the better the view) it gives great views of the city.
The hotel is a proper 5* with a lovely large lobby, good resturants (although expensive by Bangkoj standrads but not by English city standards), fab pool overlooking the river and lovely rooms with remote control everything (even the curtains) and the comfiest bed ....ever!
The hotel operates a free shuttle boat (mock junk but with armchairs!) across the river to the main river pier where you can pick up the tourist river boat or the cehaper river bus up the river to the grand palace (20 mins). Right next to this pier, opposite the hotel is a skytrain station which iver thier equivalent of our Doclands Light Railway but with air conditioned carriages - bliss! Very easy to use and will get you to all the main shopping centres and more 'colourful' areas of the city.

The grand palace is amazing and well worth a visit but clsoes quite early (normally about 3.30) so go here first. It's only a straighforward 10 min walk from the pier - once on the main road - turn left, it's on your right 400yrds. after the palace head back the way you cam but go another 50 yrds past the turnign to the pier and you'll come across the temple of the reclinning buddha - also worth a visit. there's also a local cafe/ restuarant across from the road from the entrance that does lovely, cheap, local food - yum!

Back to the pier and take the very inexpensive (about 30p) shuttle boat across the river to the temple of dawn. Well worth an hour of anyone''s time with some amazing views from the top (be warned, soem very steep steps to get to the top so if you suffer from vertigo, it's not for you!).

As we were only in Bangkok for a day we hired a local guide (Orora) who was lovely and very much helped us get the the most out of our day (the hotel can sort this for you and expect to pay 1,400 baht). We learned some simple Thai from her, got in via the backs doors to some attractions (no queing) and she knew where to eat - fab! We're were all enjoying ourselves so much she was happy to stay wirth us into ther night to show us around but we sent her home to her family and explored Bangkok by night on our own including a ladyboy show - a must see!

Room Tip: 2106 was our room. Lovely balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,539
    631
    150
    42
    35
See reviews for
834
2,011
235
411
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lipis, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This was actually my second time staying in Peninsula Bangkok, having stayed here once 8 years ago on business purpose. It was my first time that prompted me to stay here again for the second time, as I was very impressed by the level of service shown by this hotel. The level of service has not dropped but further improved to my delight!
I have written to the hotel (through the agent) that I would be celebrating my 5th anniversary with my wife this time, and we were delighted with the little surprise when we checked into our balcony room which overlooks the Chao Phraya river. Having said that, my wife was very happy & we had a wonderful time in this hotel. The food at Thiptara was exceptionally good and even though we didn't make any reservation that day, the staff let us to sit at the table directly next to the river since we were quite early (the next reservation was at 8pm). May I say that the breakfast at the Riverside Restaurant was equally good? I have yet to find another hotel that make Egg Benedict on the spot!
Location-wise it is located on the other side of the river but they make up with what I called the "Peninsula Experience". Boat service is provided to take you to the other side of river where BTS train station is located. Having stayed in city centre (another hotel) a few days earlier for shopping purpose, we decided to enjoy our last day in Bangkok being pampered by Peninsula Bangkok and definitely not disappointed!

Room Tip: Balcony room that overlooks Chao Phraya River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BL_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Our hotel experience began with their very well organized airport pickup - very comfortable BMW 7 series and finished two days later with our complementary breakfast box for our 7am flight. The entire property is amazing- from the tennis courts, large gym, one of the best Spas I have ever enjoyed, meals on the river and, of course, to some of the best designed hotel rooms. We just did not want to leave. This is an amazing hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocean88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Loved it. Amazing rooms, incredible view, great service, fabulous breakfast. Wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elloydn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I have stayed with my girlfirend one night in a Duplex Suite. Located on the last floor of the hotel, the Suite is almost 400 sqm. The room features a Dolby Sourround entertainment system, 2 Jacuzzi bathtub with view over the city and two sundeck terraces (one of them with a Jacuzzi). We also received a complementary late check out until 6pm. The Suite includes a champagne bottle and a two-ways Rolls Royce transfer from/to the airport.
The service, including a fully devoted butler, was flawless. For the proposal, they prepared the Jacuzzi terrace with hundred of rose petals on the floor and some music. Under the stars and with the view over the Bangkok skyline, she said YES.
I also forgot my glasses in the plane and the hotel made best efforts to retrieve them and deliver them to my room.
If you want more info regarding this Suite, do hesitate to contact me through my Tripadvisor account. Do note that I have stayed at the Pensinsula more times and I also discovered the Grand Deluxe room and the Deluxe Suite. Thanks.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the river so not bad surprise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

A very efficient 5 star hotel on the bank of the river. While this is the other side of the river to most city centre hotels there is a free hotel ferry that takes you to the sky train station or the river cruise landing. All the facilities are as you would expect for the price and rating of the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the Thai restaurant in its traditional house setting in the riverside grounds.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerrobert98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed here with my wife, 2 yr old daughter in a suite in april for 2 nights. The last time we were in B'kok, we stayed at the Oriental and enjoyed that experience and I had heard that the Peninsula is equally good or better. Its difficult to compare these 2 great properties but a couple of small differences i experienced -
- luxury is a bit better at peninsula - gadgets in room are fabulous
- we felt the service is a tad bit better at the oriental - the oriental doorman/valet were expecting us and welcomed us by our last name the minute we arrived at 6 am in the morning and our rooms were ready and we were promptly upgraded to a suite. At peninsula, we had to go to the front desk, say our names and it took about 7 -10 mins for the check in procedure.
- the food is fabulous at both the properties.
- the pool is better at peninsula - they have 2 long pools and a kiddie pool in between connecting the 2. Also a hot water whirlpool at the corner of the pool which is great.
both these properties are i feel one of the best in asia and they pamper you no end. The breakfast at peninsula is great - you can sit out next to the river or sit inside next to the lobby in an air conditioned area.
They have a bot service that takes you to the sky train stop on the opp. side of the river. The views are great, i felt better than the oriental.
Its a tough choice to make, but i would stay at the peninsula again when i go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miteshgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 867 in Bangkok
8,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing