We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love the hotel”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed 1 night in May. Our room was really big, overlooking the river. We requested airport pickup service, once we arrived at the hotel, we got taken straight to the room and did check-in in the room. It was a pity that our flight was at 8am the next day, we didn't have a chance to try the buffet breakfast.

The pool was great, right next to the river, people there were very friendly.

Wish we stayed longer......

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,501
    623
    148
    41
    35
See reviews for
810
1,998
234
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Stayed there for two nights in June and were looking for a treat.
The hotel is definitely a 5* property, check-in was efficient but included some up-sell talk (suite for this and that) which I don't particularly like in a deluxe environment. Were escorted to our rooms but not given a tour. The Grand Deluxe room on the 23rd floor was nice and spacious but had a bit of a early 2000 feeling to it, with very small old TV set. Bed was very comfortable, AC control easy but also a bit dated with no individual temp control.
Bathroom and amenities very nice, had both a shower and bathtub, 2 sinks and a semi-separate toilet room.

The remainders of the property are very well maintained, service is absolutely impeccable in all areas of the hotel.
Had dinner at the River Terrace Cafe which was delicious, same goes for breakfast which probably features the best bread I have had in a long time.
The SPA is first class, probably one of the best around, very personal service and relaxing. Pool area also perfect.

The place comes at a hefty price, not sure if it's worth it for the rooms, but definitely for the service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Booked this hotel for my boyfriend's birthday and we loved it. I emailed the hotel requesting for a small chocolate cake for my boyfriend's birthday upon arrival and they were happy to do it free of charge. They kept sending us desserts the whole weekend! Couldn't really get much better than the Pen anywhere in the world from the rooms to the service and food. Not exactly cheap, but when you can get a good deal, grab it. I didn't check out the Spa as I am loyal to the Mandarin Oriental's spa but I think I will when we return next.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwimBikeRunGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford-upon-avon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

First class hotel in the heart of Bangkok. Choose a Balcony room with stunning views over the Chao Praya river to the beautiful city below.

Room Tip: Choose a high balcony room for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chri5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, in, National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

the rooms as expected were huge.. the bathrooms were very nice and the mood lighting is a real treat for those who enjoy spending some time in the tub. the pool side cafe served up some real nice food.
the hotel as usual provides a ferry to the other side of the river all in all a more than satisfying experience.

Room Tip: 06 and 07 rooms on every floor come with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAdapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The Peninsula is one of the most expensive hotels in Bangkok but one of the best as well.
My wife and I stayed there in July 2010 while they had some special promotions and the experience was - as expected - just perfect. The room was spacious and had everything you need. Th efirst time that I had 4 telephones in my hotel room. As the hotel in locate don the Thonburi site of the river all the rooms have a beautiful river view.
The service was very warm and friendly and absolute professional. The only downside was in the restaurant during dinner. In the special package was a set dinner included and we choose the Thai set. We wanted to eat this set dinner all together (as usual with Thai food)and not curse by course but the head waiter told us in this restauarant they serve it course by course! This was impolite and not much guest service oriented. But overall the experience was very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

A gorgeous hotel right by the royal river. With some 29 stories (the higher you go the better the view) it gives great views of the city.
The hotel is a proper 5* with a lovely large lobby, good resturants (although expensive by Bangkoj standrads but not by English city standards), fab pool overlooking the river and lovely rooms with remote control everything (even the curtains) and the comfiest bed ....ever!
The hotel operates a free shuttle boat (mock junk but with armchairs!) across the river to the main river pier where you can pick up the tourist river boat or the cehaper river bus up the river to the grand palace (20 mins). Right next to this pier, opposite the hotel is a skytrain station which iver thier equivalent of our Doclands Light Railway but with air conditioned carriages - bliss! Very easy to use and will get you to all the main shopping centres and more 'colourful' areas of the city.

The grand palace is amazing and well worth a visit but clsoes quite early (normally about 3.30) so go here first. It's only a straighforward 10 min walk from the pier - once on the main road - turn left, it's on your right 400yrds. after the palace head back the way you cam but go another 50 yrds past the turnign to the pier and you'll come across the temple of the reclinning buddha - also worth a visit. there's also a local cafe/ restuarant across from the road from the entrance that does lovely, cheap, local food - yum!

Back to the pier and take the very inexpensive (about 30p) shuttle boat across the river to the temple of dawn. Well worth an hour of anyone''s time with some amazing views from the top (be warned, soem very steep steps to get to the top so if you suffer from vertigo, it's not for you!).

As we were only in Bangkok for a day we hired a local guide (Orora) who was lovely and very much helped us get the the most out of our day (the hotel can sort this for you and expect to pay 1,400 baht). We learned some simple Thai from her, got in via the backs doors to some attractions (no queing) and she knew where to eat - fab! We're were all enjoying ourselves so much she was happy to stay wirth us into ther night to show us around but we sent her home to her family and explored Bangkok by night on our own including a ladyboy show - a must see!

Room Tip: 2106 was our room. Lovely balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 862 in Bangkok
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing