We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical high level Peninsula service! Would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #10 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The service provided by the staff at The Peninsula Bangkok is outstanding, starting with pick-up at Suvarnabhumi Airport, to check-in the lobby, ESPA Spa and boat service across the Chao Phraya river. As this was my third stay at a Peninsula property within Asia (prior stays in Tokyo and Hong Kong) there where no 'surprises' in the service that I expected based on my previous stays.

As my traveling party was 4 people, the hotel was able to provide round trip transportation for THB 6,000 net in a private, luxury Volkswagen Van, as the BMW 730Ld/Rolls Royce can accompanied up to 3 passengers only. After collecting our luggage, we proceeded to Gate B, Exit 5 and a representative of The Peninsula was there to direct us to the waiting car. Please note that all hotel transportation meets at this area in Suvarnabhumi Airport. I personally believe that this is the way to travel to the hotel, because upon our arrival at the property we were greeted by at least 3 staff members who took our luggage, and personally escorted us to the lobby for the check-in process.

Our rooms were booked through the American Express Fine Hotel and Resorts program, so a room upgrade was provided, late 4pm check-out, daily breakfast, and after-noon high tea for 2 people per room. The rooms were classic in decor, and most of the rooms I believe provide a view of the Chao Phraya river since the hotel is built with a 'W" layout. Interesting that there is still a fax machine in the room within the desk, but this is used by the concierge to confirm reservations that the hotel guests request. Like all Peninsula hotel bathrooms, there is a 'free' standing shower, dual vanity sinks, and bathtub with TV. There was a daily sweet snack delivered to our room which was a nice touch. As others had pointed out, the rooms are 'older' styling in the 1980's, but your main reason for staying at a Peninsula brand hotel should be for the outstanding guest service experience.

The included breakfast had an outstanding selection with a choice of either eating inside or outside at River Cafe and Terrance. Other restaurants that we ate at was Mei Jiang for dim sum lunch, Thiptara for diner and Peninsula high tea in the lobby. Service at all the restaurants was outstanding and reasonably priced. I personally believe that there is better value at the Asian Peninsulas' compared to the United States properties.

Finally, if you have the time, your stay is not complete without a ESPA Spa experience. I had a treatment at both the Mandarin Oriental and Peninsula ESPA Spa, as these are the two 'high-end' luxury hotel competing spa's in Bangkok, and personally would recommend The Peninsula ESPA Spa experience. There was some miscommunication between the Spa and myself, but the manager went out of his way to make sure things were done right. A job well done!

Room Tip: American Express Fine Hotel and Resorts program for room upgrade, late check-out and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephfmessinaDOTcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,481 - 2,487 of 4,684 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

This eligent hotel overlooks the river in the heart of Bangkok. The rooms are designed with comfort and privacy in mind, with automated shades and everything at your findgertips.
The rooms have a fabuless view of the city. The only drawback is it is on the far side of the river, but a shuttle boat will carry you to the far side at no charge. The breakfast buffet is one of the best we have ever encountered...and should last you until nightime. The pool is alonside the river and is quite nice. Hope you enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olddog1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a great hotel! And def. one of the best in Bangkok. Which says a lot!

As others have pointed out the rooms and the decor in general is a little old school and not really up to the 21st century...

I stayed in the smallest suite they have, which is quite big in it self. Big bath, 2 toilets (one seperate from the bathroom), Big living area that included a office space and a large bedroom.

As some other reviews has stated the rooms though are a little old, but I must say in prestine condition!

The breakfast buffet was good but compared to other 5 star bangkok hotels it wasnt amazing.

The main reason why I wanted to write this review and why I gave the hotel 5 TA-stars is SERVICE!

The service was truly S.E. Asian 5 star+!! One example of this is; I was at the gym one morning but didn't have any proper trainers/shoes for the occasion. One of the gym staff noticed this and asked me for my shoe size! A minute later he gave a new pair of trainers in my size I could use while training!

The service throughout is at this level and I was impressed. This being said this is not my favourite hotel in Bangkok (Oriental) but it is def. worth 5 stars here on TA and in real life!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieOreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The hotel staff treat you like royalty and I've never seen a more beautiful buffet of food! The rooms are designed to met your every need... From the remote controlled blinds and lights to the plush towels and high end bath amenities. The spa is an experience you can't miss out on and I highly recommend sitting by the pool and enjoying a cocktail. The service you receive at the Peninsula Bangkok is one of a kind and it's location couldn't be better. We would often take the water taxi across the river to explore and get a bit to eat. They also offer a sunset cocktail cruise down the river which is a wonderful experience for couples and groups who like to see the culture and take in the architecture.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

If you like nostalgia - this is the place for you - a time warp of the 80s when the buttons in the room would have been state of the art - today they are just a relic of the past . The hotel and rooms are wonderfully maintained so no problem there-- its just a step into the past including the old TV stuck into the wall at the bathtub to the lack of outlets at the desk for your computer (you have to unplug the phone) to the music in the lobby at tea- yes we might be aging but that doesn't mean we have stepped up to our parents ages -- Peninsula you need to look at your demographic we are not 90 year old.

When did you last see stair master? Just check out the gym - this truly is a blast to the past.

Breakfast buffet very good. Low hotel volume so the the Thai restaurant closed - could order the same from the river restaurant but just felt like they were skimping -- not the best of Thai but after being tired from a day of traipsing through the buddhas - good to have one place to sit and watch the water swirl by.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be river view which is great as city is nothing to adore -- wrong side of the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAI_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This is a 5* Property where you can stay and enjoy at the most. The location of the Hotel is very very good. The rooms are the best. The services they provide is very good. You can use swimming pool and fitnees centre for refreshment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaibhav30390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stopped in this hotel many times (since 2006), basically together with the wife, once with the daughter and never this hotel has disappointed us. Besides, it became some kind of the quality standard of service for us. Our holiday in southeast asia never does without a stop in this hotel. Very wonderful suites, with a view on the river, on week-end it is very probable fireworks. Transportation on nice boat on station Sky train through the river is very convenient. The breakfast on quay, the rivers is very good, and the buffet in general is matchless in the evening. In general, it is magnificent hotel which has transformed change in Bangkok on other plane, into a considerable part of our holiday. We with impatience wait for our following meeting in January.
I wish to cope with consequences of flooding with the least damage. I trust in it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igorivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 894 in Bangkok
8,865 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333, Charoen Nakhon Road | Khlong Ton Sai, Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £158 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing