We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considering selling our flat and moving here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Considering selling our flat and moving here”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Great to return to the Peninsula again and find standards as high as ever - car sent to the airport for us had faster wireless broadband than my office in Sydney.

A 'Happy Birthday' cake was left in the room for my wife - we hadn't mentioned this but had opened some cards and left them on the side.

Massages were awesome - Thai Inspired on one day and Swedish the next. Pool staff very attentive and breakfast by the river is a Bangkok MUST DO.

See you again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoolianP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,502
    623
    148
    41
    35
See reviews for
811
1,998
234
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I was lucky enough to get a super cheap rate here for the standard room, which was anythin but standard!! huge bed, huge huge bath room with his/hers sinks and tv in bath!!. Amazing view (we had fireworks to watch on first night, so had a nice treat from the room). Floor to ceiling windows. Lovely lovely pool, which shimmers at night and you can watch the boats passing by. They also have their own water taxi which was handy. It seemed in a little bit of an isolated place, ie you couldn't easily walk to many places from there and we had trouble with a taxi literally dumping us once we told him where we were staying as it was "wrong side of town"- very odd. It was a luxurious hotel, not sure i would splash out on normal rates ( i mean u can stay in boutique guesthouse for half the price) but it was certainly a nice treat. Fresh fruit in room etc etc.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HG001London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at the Peninsular in November 2011 during the floods. I was very impressed with how the hotel continued to run to its excellent standard notwithstanding difficulties in accessing staff and supplies. The hotel kept us up to date prior to our arrival with information relating to the flood and the hotel.

The hotel gave us a free upgrade and a free late checkout, which was greatly appreciated when you depart at midnight.

The room was excellent. The service was excellent. The 7 series airport transfer is the only way to go (unless your budget extends to the helicopter).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

It across the river, but just catch the regular ferry and you're good to go. Great room with lots of nice features, and you're out of the hussle and bustle.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

All staff greet you wherever you are. Even the cleaners and maintenance people. They all greet, and stop and let you pass. Excellent! Best service I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesChanSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Beautiful position on the river with it's own boat to take you back & forth. Food good but limited choice while we were ther as one of the restaurants was closed. The staff are charming & the service excellent. Rooms very comfortable & the pool & spa lovely.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onefourall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Just spent six nights with wife and two small kids in a grand deluxe room with an excellent view of the river. For almost a full week they didnt set a foot wrong and all staff went out of their way to accommodate any needs we had (including borrowing us a brand new stroller!).

I just dont understand those that argue that there is something at the Peninsula that is below 5-star service or quality. I have stayed at several 5-star hotels on all continents and in my opinion the Peninsula is second to very very few hotels in the world. And in Bangkok alone above hotels such as Shangri-La and the Sheraton Grand Sukhumvit (both great hotels though)

Furthermore, with regards to a previous comment about the aircon-service. Since they didnt stay at the hotel I cant understand how much of an inconvenience it could have been. We noticed a slight higher room temperature in the morning and all hotels, buildings, car etc need some maintenance from time to time. To give a hotel one star based on that degrades the whole use of Tripadvisor. Ridiculous.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pjotars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 862 in Bangkok
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing