We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed 1 night in a suite- having been to Bangkok some years ago (Banyan Tree) and also had 1 night @ The Shangri La at the start of our trip we opted to see if the the Peninsula measured up and it really does on all levels (an earlier trip to the Pen in Beijing gave a taster). The staff from check in to check out were all excellent and you feel special and pampered as a guest- exactly what you want at a luxury city hotel. We ate on the riverside terrace at the international restaurant which was very good.Luckily competition at 5 star level in Bangkok is quite steep so rates are quite affordable for the superb standards that you can experience. We splashed out and took the Rolls Royce back to the airport which really was the icing on the cake and well worth the splurge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,425
    610
    144
    41
    35
See reviews for
784
1,963
227
400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel is one of the best in the world. The chinese restaurant is incredible

Room Tip: Make sure you have a river view and go high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I LOVE this hotel. Everything from the entrance off the busy street into an oasis, to the staff and how they check you in, to the rooms, and the setting on the river screams luxury. The atmosphere is subtle and calming. The views are fantastic. The rooms are elegant, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom has a sizable shower and a separate big tub with a TV in it! There is a large dressing room area. The views of the river are spectacular. If you can take the heat there is a great restaurant on the water. The Peninsula's water shuttle is the nicest on the river! Take the hotel 7 series to the airport - worth the extra $$ - STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upintheairtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

I have 1 night of 3 to go and I don't want to leave, this hotel is fantastic. The rooms are elegant and luxurious. They kindly upgraded me to a balcony room with great views of the river. The pictures of the rooms on the website don't do them justice. Whilst they are not sleek and modern they are comfortable and conservative in their styling. There are however modern touches with the Huge Samsung LED TVs, dvd player, iPod dock and USB playback features. The room is very large around 45 square meters, and more like a junior suite with a full size sofa, chair and large desk.The bathroom is huge sporting a tv in the bath, 2 telephones and a separate shower with a seat. You can even make a hands free call from a button in the bath. There is a separate dressing room which even has its own cuboard with shoe shining equipment.
I was worried after reading some bad reviews about the rooms needing updating etc, however I personally was not disappointed in any way. I am very particular and fussy and whilst the rooms are not brand new they are superbly maintained and I am sure 95% of people would be very happy.
The pool is lovely probably the best in Bangkok, and the little pagodas are great, they even have plugs for charging your laptop. The complimentary water, juice, fruit and mini ice creams to cool you down are also a nice touch.
I have so far only eaten dim sum in the Chinese restaurant which was very good.
The service is excellent throughout the hotel and should be an example to other hotels. I stayed at the Royal Orchid Sheraton for one night before this, and the service was terrible in comparison.
Despite having 37 floors this feels like a smaller more boutique hotel than some of the other Bangkok 5 star places. The lobby isn't quite as grand and atmospheric as the Shangri La, and the restaurants are much smaller and quieter.
I am checking out tomorrow 28th April and heading to stay at the Shangri La Hotel Bangkok for a romantic weekend, I will submit a review of this hotel also and let you know how they compare. The Shangri-La has recently refurbished its rooms and suites in the main wing so I am interested to see the improvements.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank topstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Almost all the reviews I see here are accurate. The hotel is lovely and some have considered it in the top 5 in the world. Yes, the hotel is expensive. Yes, it is somewhat dated. An excellent arrangement for business meetings with a dedicated entrance right off the lovely courtyard. I've heard that the King of Thailand and other heads of state have used the meeting area here. The food is fine, although not exceptional. The service is as good as you will find anywhere. Again, if you're attending a business meeting at the hotel, you will love the convenience and splendor here.

If you're just vacationing, I would more suggest you consider a hotel in the Sukhumvit Road area. There are a number of excellent hotels there, and you will find more options for transportation. The Peninsula, like the Oriental, is on the river, and somewhat isolated from shopping and nightlife.

Room Tip: You'll love the suites at the Peninsula, but they are terribly pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scv91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is our favourite locus in Bangkok since several years. It is part of the famous Oriental-Peninsula-Shangri-La triangle.

As with all 1st class hotels, restaurants or flight cabins it also takes 1st class customers to work out. Without them it is not possible. The Oriental exempted, also the Peninsula suffers from this contemporary problem.

The main attraction at the Peninsula for us is the suites. They are by any standard very well planned and decorated and nice to stay in. Both the Oriental and the Shangri-La has a problem in this respect, having some well-planned but also several poorly planed suites.
We do not wish to play roulette on that issue. At the Peninsula you know what you get.

The pool area is more than OK. If you do not like crowds, stay away during peak hours. The pool is open till 23:00. If you like privacy, go there in the evening, or early in the morning. Regardless, where else can you have such a view from a pool? The Oriental and the Shangri-La cannot compete.

Yes, the breakfast can be crowded some days of the week. Still, the hotel offers several places for breakfast in such cases and the breakfast as such is basically 1st class. But do you homework, plan ahead and make a reservation the day before.

On balance the Oriental offers staff with the best skills in English. It also has the best ambiance on the terrace restaurant/bar.

The Thai restaurant: When it comes to serving Thai food, there are intrinsic limitations. You can have it fancy style at 1st class prices but also at a tenth of that price down the road without losing much in taste. The charm of Thai food lies in the simplicity.

The terrace bar at the Peninsula is basically 3-star. To us it is extremely annoying that the staff starts closing the bar an hour ahead of official closing, removing bottles, turning off the fans and tweaking the lights. The bar section is also too small. The long-drinks are really not interesting at all. The drinks menu should be revised. It is mainly based upon (too) sour lemon/ lime recipes. We recommend they copy the drinks menu of the Indigo Pearl hotel in Phuket!

Finally, the 'signature' hamburger is more or less a catastrophe. The hotel has several good chefs and since making a well tasting piece of hamburger with a good texture is no secret within the business the Peninsula should just start over again. Meanwhile, order a Club Sandwich. Albeit not officially on the Terrace menu, it is a superior choice.

Room Tip: Above the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travesl-a-lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed in the duplex suite at the Peninsula this week and the whole experience was amazing !
So what makes it so good ?
The staff are the kindest warmest people that you will have ever met.
The food is stunning and will blow your taste buds away.
The rooms are like palaces and are furnished to 6 star standard.
The setting in the edge of the river is the most peaceful place in Bangkok.

This hotel has just gone into my No 1 slot - it surpassed all my expectations.
Robin Tinto

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinTinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,023 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing