We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Peninsula” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #8 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Whyteleafe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our first visit to Thailand and after reading reviews this was the hotel to try and we were not disappointed, pick up was faultless and checking in has never been smooth, none of this waiting in the lobby, whisked to the room and checked there which took about 30 seconds. Hotel was perfect and nothing was to much trouble, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Berman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,328
    589
    140
    38
    34
See reviews for
751
1,907
223
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Great from the moment we arrived after a long trip from the UK. Staff warm and welcoming, greeted us with cold towels and fruit punch while we checked in. Our room, on 20th floor, had superb views over the river below, and was beautifully equipped and furnished. It was a lovely room just to laze about and watch the traffic on the river. The hotel's public areas were stylish and attractive, the pool was excellent, and the terraces over the river had lovely flowery areas to sit. There is a courtsey boat to the other side of the river - we were too tired to go anywhere but we did a trip over the river and back just to try out the boat - the staff were very welcoming and keen to give us a trip!! We had a light dinner which was fine although not special. However, breakfast was superb, with everything you could ask for, cooked to order for you, fabulous ripe mouthwatering fruit, and some of the best pastries I've had in a hotel. Staff throughout were helpful and friendly - altogether nothing more you could ask for!!

Room Tip: As high as possible! Not sure if any do not face the river - but make sure yours does
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

i've always looked on in envy at the Peninsula properties around the world, always longing to have just 1 stay at one of there hotels. Well this time we took the plunge. We arrived by the Peninsula river boat from the Shangri-La Krungthep wing which was a very tough act to follow,

Surprisingly we had to ask 2 or 3 fellow guests the way to the lobby/reception area from the boat pier and no member of staff was waiting to greet us, Check in however was swift, and the young gentleman was only too willing to uprgrade us free of charge to a Grand Balcony Room on the higher floors, 34th to be precise - and wow the view was something to savour - epic breathtaking views of downtown Bangkok right in front of our room - the towers Silom Rd, Sathorn Rd, ChitLom, Siam & Sukhumvit Rd making the skyline look like Manhattan !!! The only downside was our balcony seemed a little closed in unlike the Shangri-La which was wide open 180 degrees.

The room itself - bed was as comfy as i've ever had, spacious with a nice desk and sofa in the living area, the huge bathroom had his n hers sinks complete with the usual quality toilitries on offer which adjoined onto a very spacious closet area.

The breakfast was magnificent, english buffet style, with eggs cooked to order by the chef, dim sum and a huge range of cereals, breads, pastries, fresh fruit, juices and coffee, all hosted on the most beautiful of riverside settings, directly opposite the Mandarin Oriental Hotel. The service was fine, although not what i'd expect here. Pool area was really nice although partially blocked off from the sun.

Being on the other side of the river posed no problems whatsoever - The Peninsula riverboats were frequent enough to drop us off in a matter mins at the central pier and Sathon Taksin skytrain station. Even getting taxi's and tuk tuks back to the hotel at night was easy and straightforward enough - contrary to previous reports.

As a stand alone hotel with room & breakfast there is no other place that will match the Peninsula, with its imposing grandeur both inside and out, yet we found it 'a little cold' and the service 'stuffy' & withdrawn - if only they offered the same free perks as the Krungthep Wing over the water (complimentary afternoon tea and evening canapes & cocktails) - this place would not be beaten.

For us Shangri-La's Krungthep wing edges it with a better location, better service & far better value, but make no mistake, the Peninsula deserves its standing as 1 of bangkoks grandest properties

Room Tip: every room has magnificent views facing the Bangkok city skyline & river, regardless of floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nineinchnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

So, my wife and I are going on a tour of Thailand and Australia and after looking at many hotels in Bangkok we decided that The Peninsula is the one. So our stay is in April and I will write a full review of the hotel then, but I just had to tell anyone that is looking to book at the Peninsula this so far is the place. As soon as I made the reservation you get the standard computer reply for confirmation just as any other hotel goes but that is where the difference ends. We started getting emails from the front desk staff confirming our reservation and spa treatment and airport transfers. These people really know how to make a person feel good. We have gotten emails from the concierge desk, the spa and also the hotel itself.
I am so excited to stay at this hotel and I will post the final review of the hotel once we return home. Stay tuned.....review will follow.

Chris Cain

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugar1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hotel is located in a near perfect position on the river in the centre of BKK. The rooms are extremely well appointed. The staff are well trained and very friendly. Breakfast is great with a wonderful selection of food styles.

The problem? For us, we have been forced due to travel plans, to eat in the hotel (Thiptara Restaurant) on three consecutive nights. We were three people & the first night we were told that the Chile red wine we had ordered was finished (2 bottles) the next night we chose Thai wine, not outstanding but OK. 3rd night after our first bottle of Oz wine we were told they had no more, also no more of the subsequent three choices. OK we were given a complimentary bottle of wine as an attempted recovery, BUT, at these prices to have a 50 choices wine list most of which seems to be a dream of the writer I find shocking.

Why not ten wines that they really have, rather than 50 that are dreams, we're very disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is a lovely property with great rooms. Have to say, love the control panels by the side of the bed! Nice pool area that opens at 6:00 for an enjoyable early morning swim.

We spent a week there during the Chinese New Year. Perhaps not the best time service wise, they were always behind the ball and trying to scramble to get ahead. Breakfast was always a zoo, not very restfuls although the food selections were plentiful, and the bread and pastries were excellent. The best baguette outside of Paris!

In summary, excellent amenities and spa, a tad stuffy, impersonal, and woefully understaffed given the room rates. We might be willing to return for the river view and the early morning swim.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onefootathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Spacious room, a very comfortable bed and great view of the river and the city beyond.

Helpful and efficient staff.

Easy to get around with round the clock (till 12 mid-night) shuttle boat transporting the guest to the sky-train station and the main ferry wharf.

One of the best breakfast buffet we've ever come across in terms of variety and quality of food.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,777 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travelbag and Hotelopia so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing