We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly overrated, terrible service !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #11 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We booked Peninsula from our experience at Peninsula Hong kong but this one really disappointed us. First, the location is on the wrong side of the river and every time we wanted to take a walk , have to take a boat to cross the river, very inconvenient. Front desk people are big snobs, checkin staff tried to explain to me the difference between debit and credit card without believing to what I have to say. Room is nice but nothing compared to Hong kong Pen and doesn't justify the price paid. Only decent meal period is the breakfast which is decent spread otherwise no other restaurant is worth mentioning. Management cannot be seen around and staff is incapable of handling moderately difficult request.
Overall terrible choice when there are other great hotels like Oriental and Shangri-La on the other side.
Avoid this Peninsula !!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Samro0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,898 - 1,904 of 4,568 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Great hotel. The physical hotel is getting a bit tired but it is kept in great condition. Lounge by the pool and watch the boats go by, it is a terrific spot. Food is really good, take the Thai cooking class. We had a terrific time and learned how to make some delicious food. Make sure to get a room with a balcony, it was nice to be able to sit outside. The spa was so amazing we had four treatments.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We first stayed at the Peninsula Bangkok in 2000, soon after it opened. We've enjoyed going back over the years, but this was our first visit since 2005 - just for a short break. The prices have - not surprisingly- risen a lot in the meantime so it's not a budget option. But it's still a really lovely place to stay, and very relaxing. It's stylish and luxurious in an understated way, and with a great location by the Chao Praya river. This time we had balcony rooms, so after relaxing by the pool (where the staff really take care of you) we were able to go back to the rooms and sit outside, enjoying the view of the river and all the things going on there. There's an excellent buffet breakfast (bit crowded at peak hours though). In the evening we took the hotel's boat across the river and tried various restaurants - the hotel concierge can book ahead in advance. Definitely recommended for a treat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Comfort, luxury,location, attentive staff and wonderful dining all in one location! Enjoy the boats on the river, catch the complimentary Peninsula Private water taxi, which can take you to gorgeous shops and other restaurants. At night you can take the water taxi across the river, then walk two blocks to the famous Sky Bar. We were on the 26th floor and had amazing views and the most comfortable suite. I hated to leave!

Room Tip: Higher floors give better views, but don't think there is a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Staying at The Peninsula in Bangkok is always a special treat for me. From my breakfast on the river terrace, a little sunbathing by the pool or jetting around Bangkok beginning with the special boat across the river - it is all just so calm, relaxed and nice. The staff are special - concierge service is excellent. Pricey food and drink, but that's the way it is. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Bangkok now.
I am still thinking about those breakfasts!

Room Tip: Never been in a room I didnt like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I just love this hotel. It's not perfect and some rooms could do with updating but is still my favourite place to stay.
Great views over the river back into the city.
Really cute private shuttle boat across the river to the BTS.
Peace and quiet and unassuming service. A base away from the madness and heat of BKK
Massive breakfast spread

Room Tip: As high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WardyWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I had such a lovely time at the Peninsula Bangkok.
Step onto the small boat that connects the Peninsula with Sathon pier (bts salmon taksin) and be whisked away from the exciting bustling city into an oasis of tranquility.
Check in takes place in your own room which offers nice amenities such as fruit basket and had great views from the upper suit floors.
The Peninsula serves the best breakfast I've ever had in s hotel so don't miss it!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
Thank GutSchlafen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,639 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £150 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing