We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breath of normality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A breath of normality”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Finished to the usual high standard expected of the Peninsula brand. The rooms are well equipped and all have river views. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from on the hotel itself including breakfast down on the river front. Reception was extremely efficient when we arrived, meeting us at the car and taking us direct to the room and closing out the paperwork there. The hotel also runs free cross river shuttle boats to two locations 1 of which being Taksim sky train station.

It's a Peninsula hotel what more can I say.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightmeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Lightmeup,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is good to hear that we are living up to the promise of our brand. From the limousine service to the boats that ferry you to the sky train or even to Asiatique, we try to make getting around a little bit easier and we are glad that you had made the most out of these services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,430
    610
    144
    41
    35
See reviews for
785
1,964
227
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Steyning
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We started our holiday with a few days in Bangkok to break the journey from the UK. Taking advantage of some special offers through Amex, we elected to stay at the Peninsula rather than the larger Shangri La or Grand Hyatt where I've stayed previously on business.

The hotel is situated on the Chao Praya river and we had a 24F suite. The room could not be faulted! View excellent and amenities superb.

The common areas were however quiet and we felt the bar lacked ambience. There was no live music which dissuaded guests. The river side bar and cafe are equally very pleasant.

The Spa was excellent and well worth the 2 hour indulgence each!

From a location perspective, there is a regular ferry across the river which is practical and fun to use. This gives access to the livelier amenities in the opposite hotels - which equally may work to the detriment of the Peninsula.

Temperature wise, we knew April would be hot so were prepared for it. However, if you are sensitive to heat and humidity, consider whether April is the best time to travel to Thailand for you.

Being Thai New Year and with the current political uncertainties, it is clear that hotel occupancy is suffering from reduced traffic. This was also reported in the National Media. We encountered no problems with demonstrations during our 3 day stay - even though we visited the Royal Palaces and there had been a protest earlier in the day. The Skytrain system was also operating normally. There is no need unless the situation deteriorates to defer visiting but do your homework and avoid any areas where problems may arise: ask Concierge.

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Hotel Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear AndrewM,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. As with most parts of the city during the "summer" months, which is from April onwards, and considering the situation in Bangkok, hotels tend to be quieter this time of the year. You mentioned some very valid suggestions to bring a bit more life to The Bar, which I will share with our Food & Beverage team. We hope to welcome you back to The Peninsula Bangkok in the near future.

Best regards,
Mark Choon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

In March we enjoyed our fourth trip to Bangkok and we always stay in a suite at the Peninsula. Everything about it is wonderful; the food, the service, the location, the spa. It's a little slice of heaven in the midst of a bustling city. The staff goes above and beyond to help with even the smallest request.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite. We've stayed in room 1709 every time and love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneMuntzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Hotel Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear SuzanneMuntzing,

We loved hearing your feedback from your fourth and most recent visit to The Peninsula Bangkok. It was very reassuring to hear that you referred to our hotel as a "heaven in the midst of a bustling city." We are glad that you were able to enjoy many aspects of our hotel that makes it memorable—from the food, to our spa and most of all, our staff and their level of service. Please let us know when you will be back in Bangkok. We will forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Mark Choon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Peninsula Hotels have a grand reputation and the Peninsula Bangkok is no exception. Located right off the Chao Praya River it offers the luxurious experience you would expect and so much more. From the multi-cultural cuisine choices; evening entertainment to the convenience of the water taxi to shuttle you across the river to town, The Peninsula Bangkok just excels at outstanding customer service and pamper each person to the degree you are comfortable with, all with a smile & Thai hospitality I can't say enough about. If you're ever in Bangkok, make this your destination resort hotel.

Room Tip: River and city view rooms are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Healthy94920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Hotel Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Healthy94920,

Thank you for your feedback and compliments about your experience at our hotel last March. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to take advantage of some of our hotel’s wonderful offerings, including our dining choices and The Peninsula Bangkok ferry boats. Most of all, it was reassuring to hear about the level of hospitality and service you received as well as the Thai "warmth" you felt from our team. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff.

Best regards,
Mark Choon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
392 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is an amazing hotel, 5-star luxury with a personal touch. The room was large and well designed, with a huge ensuite and all the amenities you can dream of and then some. Great view on the river.

We had an evening meal on the ground floor with a piano player soothing our ears and both were quite good. Breakfast could be improved. Yes there is a wide choice but it is a bit repetitive and the Chinese department is below par.

Fine complimentary boat service across the river. Helpful concierge to plan visits and excursion.

Fantastic massage session, one of the best I ever had, if a bit pricey for Thailand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Assistant Director of Food and Beverage at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear indipendente,

Warmest greetings from The Peninsula Bangkok and thank you for your kind note regarding your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to understand that you have thoroughly enjoyed your leisure time with us. Regarding the breakfast, which you pointed out to be a bit repetitive, I will inform this issue to the culinary team and will take corrective actions to areas that need improvement.

I certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Somchai Pongcharoen
Assistant Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

H and I stayed for 4 nights and as it is usual with most hotels in Bangkok, I have nothing but praises for the staff.

The rooms are well-maintained, the shower and bath tap pressures are fantastic and the room amenities are sufficient. The daily breakfast buffet had such a wide variety of food that although repetitive kept me amused for 3 mornings.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziKiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear ZuJuQ0tU,

In a city with so many hotels, it is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much that you would return. Compliments do not come much higher than this.

Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Quick recap - Unlike the Mandarin Oriental, the Peninsula understands how to properly treat their guests. For example they do not require men to be uncomfortable, wearing long pants when it's 90 degrees with 90% humidity. As long as you are dressed smart, with smart shorts and collared shirt, you can enjoy their wonderful dinner by the river.

At the Oriental, despite the fact you may be paying as much as USD$5000 or more per night for staying at the hotel, they allow women to wear comfortable clothing while insisting that men be uncomfortable in an absurdly sexist and outdated idea that women's legs can be shown but men's legs can not be seen.

Pros -
Large rooms, all with spectacular river views
Incredible bargains for three night stay
Perfect river front location with outstanding riverfront dining
The best pool in Bangkok

Cons -
The gym is small (I'm stretching to find a con)

If you are deciding between the Mandarin or the Peninsula, hands down you will want to choose the Peninsula unless you are a snob who wants to go back in time to the 1950s.

Room Tip: Take a grand deluxe suite. it's not as expensive as it sounds, has a wonderful living room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seaside_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Hotel Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Seaside_65,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us last February. I think that you've touched upon many of the reasons why our guests return to our "urban oasis" in Bangkok—from our guestrooms, which all face the Chao Phraya River, our diverse dining options such as the River Cafe & Terrace and The River Bar, to the magnificent three-tiered pool overlooking the river.

It is interesting that you mentioned the dress policy. The Peninsula Bangkok is a destination for all travellers, families or individuals, who are travelling whether for leisure or business. And while we are striving to deliver a personalised sense of luxury and service, we still do our best to maintain a feeling of approachability.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to The Peninsula Bangkok in the near future.

Best regards,
Mark Choon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,038 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing