We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for a short stay with babies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Have stayed there for a short trip but what a trip!
Welcoming staff at night like at daytime. The quality of service is excellent.
The room features are excellent and babies amenities, very good.
Been upgraded so we could enjoyed the amazing view of Bangkok !

Room Tip: The higher the better
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilo1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Lilo1207,

Travelling with babies can always be exciting, especially if you are not sure how your chosen hotel is going to be able to help. We have a great range of things to help parents look after their kids, and we are glad to hear that you have experienced this. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,433)
There are newer reviews for The Peninsula Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,467 - 1,473 of 4,433 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in April to start off a 3 week Asian vacation. This was my second stay at the hotel, after my initial visit 7 years ago. Upon check in we were offered an upgrade to a beautiful corner suite on a high floor overlooking the river. We thought it a steal for an extra $70 per night and we grabbed it. The person from reception who showed us the room explained that their business had been impacted by the recent political problems in the city, hence the offer. We loved the room and never regretted our decision. Even though we were influenced by the room, we also have very good things to stay about the rest of the hotel. The service remains excellent, the facilities are topnotch (especially the pool), and they have an excellent breakfast buffet. We also enjoyed getting massaged in their excellent spa. All in all, they give you quite a lot for the price, even in Bangkok (assuming that you are ready to play in this league). This is especially true when compared to the Pen's main competitor, The Oriental, across the river, which was significantly more expensive (at least when we made the booking). We have not stayed there, but we did visit. The lobby and public areas are lovely and historic, but we were very happy to return to our suite at the Peninsula at the end of the day knowing that we had saved enough for an entire day's activities and dinner at a nice restaurant. The only real advantage that I can see for the Oriental is that it occupies a slightly better location on the other side of the river. However, the Pen runs their ferry service to the skytrain fairly continuously, making access very easy. We felt that the Pen is a winner, and when next we are in Bangkok I'm sure that we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river is a must, on a high floor if you can manage it
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Medtraveler2013,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The Corner Suite that you have opted for is a very popular room amongst our guests, not only because of its space and layout but also because of the stunning river and skyline views. Moreover, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed many of our exclusive offerings at The Peninsula Bangkok—from our unique breakfast buffet served right on the shores of the Chao Phraya River to our wonderful 88-metre, three-tiered swimming pool.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Rolf Buehlmann
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the end of our honeymoon. We were slightly underwhelmed on arrival not to be greeted or even then directed to reception at the hotel entrance. Not what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. Then we were told our room was not available and there was a 20 minute wait for an alternative to be found but the receptionist then very kindly offered to upgrade us to a suite. The suite is classic design, luxurious with a colonial style décor throughout. Very comfortable furnishing and stunning views over the river and Bangkok. We loved the pools and resting in the cabanas watching the boats go past on the river was bliss in a city that it is difficult to get any peace and quiet in.

In general, we could find little to fault with the hotel or the staff although the breakfast buffet was not as good as other hotels of a similar class I have stayed in throughout Asia and some of the staff were not as friendly or welcoming as we found in other hotels in our travels in Asia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear dawsonc,

We are sorry to hear that your stay got off on a rocky start but it is pleasing to hear that our team upgraded you for the trouble.

The hotel is certainly an oasis amongst the hustle and bustle, an ideal place to enjoy your honeymoon. Thank you for your kind comments. We wish you many happy years together, and perhaps, we can welcome you back for your anniversary.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I am very pleasantly surprised when we stepped into this hotel. We were expecting something very corporate, especially after just enjoying a tropical holiday organised by andaman advenures. In fact this very fitting as the last stop before we head home and thanks to these guys, they picked the perfect spot in Bangkok to stay. Amid all the chaos, this hotel stands proud and charming in its own way. You do feel relaxed and not at all under pressure from being in such a busy city

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Mr Aaron S.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Peninsula Bangkok. We are happy to hear that you have recognised, like so many other guests, the characteristics that made The Peninsula Bangkok a unique property—a conveniently situated urban resort. The proximity and access to the city via our Peninsula Boats and the BTS SkyTrain Station while being situated on the shores of the Chao Phraya River with stunning views over Bangkok’s skyline offer the best of both worlds.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Rolf Buehlmann
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great hotel. Service as you'd expect, immaculate. Rooms a good size and the views amazing. I did find the furnishings a little 'business' - the decor doesn't really have much character and whilst you are provided for marvellously, the place doesn't have that much soul. Breakfasts marvellous - if would class buffet breakfasts are your thing then look no further. Restaurants great - we ate in the Chinese one night though and were one of only 3 tables - that soulless thing again? Riverside bar and restaurant great - immaculate food and service. The pool is also great and the hotels location cant be beaten - the ferry shuttle can take you back and forth in minutes. An indication of the level of service is that our daughter had burnet quite badly in the sun one day and I asked at the Spa whether they had anything to help? Within 5 minutes the uniformed nurse arrived poolside and left us with anti burn cream, dressings and an antiseptic wash, all free of charge. That's impressive. There are probably funkier places to stay but in terms of the sheer quality of the service - it could probably only be beaten by the Oriental. Excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearsontour_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Assistant Director of Food and Beverage at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear bearsontour_10,

Warmest greetings from The Peninsula Bangkok and a million thanks for your kind note regarding your recent stay with us.

It is with great pleasure to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your leisure time on and by The River of Kings and have tried our restaurants and outdoor pool facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Somchai Pongcharoen
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a wonderful hotel, clean room and beautiful view. I visited the Peninsula Bkk quite often and every time I was satisfied. What I liked the most in this hotel is "Service". I felt warm right from the time we arrived like home, every staffs are ready for helping. Spa is amazingly good, even I am Thais, I am truly in love Thai massage thing. Their food and beverage are great, no doubt, I had tried all restaurants and bars and I love them all. Lastly, to be honest for me everything in this hotel is excellent but the price is too high. Well.. maybe because I am Thai, meaning that price is too expensive to pay... :))

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thanawat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Thanawat W,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. To make someone from Thailand feel at home at our hotel is one of the highest compliments that we can ever have. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the treatments at The Spa. There are many places to get a massage in Bangkok but none of them offer the same experience.

Again, we really value your comments, especially because you have tried all the areas in our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My family and I had a great time at the Peninsula in Bangkok in April. Staff couldn't have been more helpful! The beautiful river location was also convenient, as we motored back and forth in Peninsula boats to the other side of the river to see the sites. Loved the river setting of breakfast and lunch, and truly enjoyed the view of the river from our room. The comings and goings along the riverfront make this a beautiful and elegant choice while in Bangkok.

Room Tip: A view of the river is the nicest.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaliforniakathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Kaliforniakathy,

Thank you very much for the kind comments. We are very pleased that you feel that The Peninsula is an elegant choice in Bangkok. Riding our bespoke boats across the river certainly sets a feeling of refinement. We look forward to having you with us again.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 880 in Bangkok
8,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £144 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing